Asus X556UA Issues

Discussion in 'Sierra Laptop Support' started by Lumikor, Apr 13, 2017.

  1. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 16, 2017 at 12:53 PM #21
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Patched AppleHDA is covered in the FAQ.
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.html
     
  2. Lumikor

    Lumikor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    Asus X556UA
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor 2.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 620
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Apr 16, 2017 at 4:22 PM #22
    Lumikor

    Lumikor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    Asus X556UA
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor 2.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 620
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    The only result I got was HDMI Video, but still no audio, at all. Not from the computer and not from the Scarlett.

    Using AppleHDA Patcher I applied the patch for ALC255, also applied system_IRQ.txt it created using MaciASL, I can also see the changes in the config.plist and got CodecCommander.kext (which is required as far as I can understand the codec_dump.txt) . But yet, no sound from both devices.

    Attaching new reports + codec_dump.txt
     

    Attached Files:

  3. feartech

    feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,598
    Mobo:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 16, 2017 at 4:39 PM #23
    feartech

    feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,598
    Mobo:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    your kexts/other folder should only have essential kexts, Fakesmc, VoodooPS2Controller and ethernet kext

    all others should be installed to System/Library/Extensions

    you also have AppleALC in other - delete that

    .dsl files don't belong in in Pactched folder - delete that

    you may need to boot without caches and then rebuild caches after
     
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 16, 2017 at 4:49 PM #24
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Your kextcache shows AppleHDADisabler.kext installed.
    Why do you expect AppleHDA to work if you're disabling it with a disabler kext?
     
  5. Lumikor

    Lumikor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    Asus X556UA
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor 2.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 620
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Apr 16, 2017 at 5:24 PM #25
    Lumikor

    Lumikor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    Asus X556UA
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor 2.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 620
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    The kext are for my usb boot, I will only copy them to the proper place once I solve all the critical problems.

    That was surprising to find, no idea where it came from AppleHDADisabler.kext, deleted it. Rebuilt cache.
    also deleted AppleALC.kext

    Now I can finally see something in system report, but still no audio. Video still works.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 16, 2017 at 5:37 PM #26
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Your kextcache shows patched AppleHDA.kext installed.
    Yet you have a bunch of patches for AppleHDA in your config.plist as if you actually planned to use an AppleHDA injector.
    You cannot "mix" methods like that.

    And if you're referring to HDMI-audio, you have not met the basic requirements.
    See guide:
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...o-sandy-ivy-haswell-broadwell-skylake.189495/

    Note: AFAIK, no examples of working HDMI-audio on KabyLake yet.
     
  7. Lumikor

    Lumikor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    Asus X556UA
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor 2.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 620
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Apr 16, 2017 at 5:53 PM #27
    Lumikor

    Lumikor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    Asus X556UA
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor 2.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 620
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    I mean audio at all, without VoodooHDA I don't have audio, not internal and not HDMI.
    Also, still nothing from the Scarlett.

    I deleted the entries from the config.plist, all least I hope so. I'm not giving up yet! But I'm not sure what I'm missing and you can see.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 16, 2017 at 5:55 PM #28
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Did you verify your patched AppleHDA is for ALC255 and that it actually uses layout-id 3?
    BTW, Clover/kexts/Other is a complete mess.
    You should have only "essential" kexts there.
    All kexts you need should be installed to the system volume. Clover kext injection is only for the installer and recovery partition.

    Note also that the AppleHDA.kext you have in kexts/Other is not valid. It shouldn't be there anyway, but if that's what you installed to /S/L/E, don't expect it to work. It looks more like an AppleHDA injector, which of course, should not be called AppleHDA.kext.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017
  9. Lumikor

    Lumikor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    Asus X556UA
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor 2.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 620
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Apr 17, 2017 at 7:31 AM #29
    Lumikor

    Lumikor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    Asus X556UA
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor 2.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 620
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Both problems are now solved, I have both laptop audio and Scarlett interface, these are the steps I've taken:

    Reverted changes made yesterday, cleared efi/clover/kext/others/

    Installed kexts using Kext Utility + vanilla AppleHda.kext
    Restarted -v -f
    Using AppleHDA Patcher
    Selected Realtek ALC 255
    Dragged my config.plist -> Patch AppleHDA
    Copied new config.plist to efi/efi/clover
    Using KU installed aDummyHDA.kext
    Restart without cache
    Rebuild cache
    Restart

    Now, I think, and I'm pretty sure, my system is now fully operational to my satisfaction. Still, attaching files for other users and/or comments on improvements you might suggest.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 17, 2017 at 2:05 PM #30
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    152,697
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Other tasks you still have pending:
    - IGPU PM (GFX0->IGPU rename)
    - correct USB implementation (custom SSDT for USBInjectAll.kext)
    - HDMI audio? (unless you have only DP)
    - correct CPU PM (remove NullCPUPowerManagement.kext)
    - install kexts correctly
    - use Clover trim patch instead of trimforce
    - remove GeneruicUSBXHCI.kext (it has no application to your hardware)
    - use native AirportAtheros40.kext (use toledaARPT.kext or ProBoookAtheros.kext instead)
     

Share This Page