Contribute
Register

Asus X299 - Support

Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Messages
15
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage
CPU
10940x
Graphics
vega64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm using it with Mojave and Clover (thunderbolt working). so far so good. No particular changes.
The board arrived yesterday and started up without any problems.
However, some of the USB ports don't work, so change kext.
We're also trying to launch Big Sur as Mojave will be out of support later this year. I can't do it well.
Thank you.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2013
Messages
98
Motherboard
Asus WS SAGE (non 10g)
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Asus RX VEGA 64 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
The board arrived yesterday and started up without any problems.
However, some of the USB ports don't work, so change kext.
We're also trying to launch Big Sur as Mojave will be out of support later this year. I can't do it well.
Thank you.
I don't use Big Sur but it works fine with Catalina and Clover.
 

Attachments

  • EG-iMacPro-Asus-WSSG-XHCI-15portv2.kext.zip
    3.3 KB · Views: 27
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Messages
15
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage
CPU
10940x
Graphics
vega64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't use Big Sur but it works fine with Catalina and Clover.
I put kext, but I can't use some of it without any change.
The settings seem to be wrong, but I didn't understand.
I will continue to challenge.
Thank you.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2013
Messages
98
Motherboard
Asus WS SAGE (non 10g)
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Asus RX VEGA 64 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I put kext, but I can't use some of it without any change.
The settings seem to be wrong, but I didn't understand.
I will continue to challenge.
Thank you.
An alternative (workaround) to this is Clover limit port patch plus USBInjectall KEXT...
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys, been a while!

So my Sage/10G w/ a 10980XE setup has been great! Flawless during operation, but there's a few things I want to sort out and maybe someone can help here. I never mapped all my USB ports (as I never needed to), and I never did the dual 10GbE flash as time hasn't been on my side. As it stands right now, I'm using a flashed Gigabyte Thunderbolt 3 card and it works fantastic (minus the need to replug it on reboot, but hotplug does work).

The only REAL issues I'm having, when I reboot or cold boot it, sometimes it Kernel Panics and I have to reboot once or twice to get it up and running. I've reset SMC via Clover and it doesn't make a difference. Also, I get that Can't Allocate Runtime error sometimes on boot and again, have to reboot. Once it's booted, it's fine, but it's something I'd love to fix.

The last time it happened (a few days ago)- I got the 'System was restarted because of a problem' dialog and was able to copy/paste the KP log to a text file (this doesn't normally happen, so I got lucky).

Also, once in a blue moon, I leave my machine on when I go out (sometimes need to remote in for work purposes), and it will crash to a black screen. On reboot, I'll go into terminal to check the last shutdown code (using the -24hr flag) and it always spits out a '5' which is a normal shutdown. In the last week, I installed some Tripp-Lite filtered power bars and it hasn't happened since (while it also seemed to eliminate a LOT of noise coming through my speakers with these things- so I'll see if it happens again).

If anybody is interested in helping, can I paste the KP log I copy/pasted from the other day to begin troubleshooting this?

Thanks again if you can help, and to this community that literally helped me save thousands of hours in troubleshooting and has helped me be insanely productive with this machine!
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,245
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys, been a while!

So my Sage/10G w/ a 10980XE setup has been great! Flawless during operation, but there's a few things I want to sort out and maybe someone can help here. I never mapped all my USB ports (as I never needed to), and I never did the dual 10GbE flash as time hasn't been on my side. As it stands right now, I'm using a flashed Gigabyte Thunderbolt 3 card and it works fantastic (minus the need to replug it on reboot, but hotplug does work).

The only REAL issues I'm having, when I reboot or cold boot it, sometimes it Kernel Panics and I have to reboot once or twice to get it up and running. I've reset SMC via Clover and it doesn't make a difference. Also, I get that Can't Allocate Runtime error sometimes on boot and again, have to reboot. Once it's booted, it's fine, but it's something I'd love to fix.

The last time it happened (a few days ago)- I got the 'System was restarted because of a problem' dialog and was able to copy/paste the KP log to a text file (this doesn't normally happen, so I got lucky).

Also, once in a blue moon, I leave my machine on when I go out (sometimes need to remote in for work purposes), and it will crash to a black screen. On reboot, I'll go into terminal to check the last shutdown code (using the -24hr flag) and it always spits out a '5' which is a normal shutdown. In the last week, I installed some Tripp-Lite filtered power bars and it hasn't happened since (while it also seemed to eliminate a LOT of noise coming through my speakers with these things- so I'll see if it happens again).

If anybody is interested in helping, can I paste the KP log I copy/pasted from the other day to begin troubleshooting this?

Thanks again if you can help, and to this community that literally helped me save thousands of hours in troubleshooting and has helped me be insanely productive with this machine!
I had something similar on my build on Big Sur.

Big Sur tries to connect my ASMEDIA USB ports to the wrong driver. So basically I'd get one good boot, a failed restart, then a failed boot.

Feel free to try this kext and let me know.
 

Attachments

  • ASMedia.kext.zip
    2.2 KB · Views: 9
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had something similar on my build on Big Sur.

Big Sur tries to connect my ASMEDIA USB ports to the wrong driver. So basically I'd get one good boot, a failed restart, then a failed boot.

Feel free to try this kext and let me know.
So I’m running Mojave as alas, I still need one pesky 32 bit app ‍:banghead:

I’m assuming that kext will work with this OS?
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,245
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I’m running Mojave as alas, I still need one pesky 32 bit app ‍:banghead:

I’m assuming that kext will work with this OS?

Hm, not an issue with Mojave though. Have you considered moving to Opencore?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hm, not an issue with Mojave though. Have you considered moving to Opencore?
To be completely honest, the machine has been bulletproof when I’m using it for over 6 months and don’t want to risk it. If I build another Hackintosh I’ll definitely explore OpenCore then….. or if I get a vacation (yeah, right :lol: ) then maybe I’ll do another CCC of this install and attempt it then.
 
Top