Contribute
Register

Asus X299 - Support

Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
131
Motherboard
Asus WS x299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So a short anecdote.

Received the 10980XE and it had worse performance (especially with overclocking) than the 9980XE due to meltdown security patches from Intel.

So went back to 9980XE.

I am also finding out lately that 2 for AVX and 6 for AVX512 is a really solid number. I beat the Mac Pro 28core scores in Cinebench easily.

Should i change KPG recommended AVX and AVX512 settings to 2 and 6 respectively in my bios?

Captura de pantalla 2020-11-05 a las 17.21.46.png

Also i finally switched to Opencore 0.6.3 and Big Sur beta 11.0.1 and everything seems to go really good! Any advice on removing/adding something from my OC folder to improve/clean it? (Attach config.plist with PlatformInfo removed).

I have Asus X299 WS Sage 10G (Bios 3203), i9-9980XE and AMD Radeon VII

Captura de pantalla 2020-11-05 a las 17.26.56.png
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    28 KB · Views: 24
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
359
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Sapphire Toxic Radeon 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Congratulations, @djbuddha !!!

Don't you mind sharing your EFI folder?
I'm stuck with hotplug on exactly the same motherboard and TB3 card both with custom and v43 GC-Titan Ridge (rev. 1) firmwares on 10.15.7.

Everything worked almost seamlessly (except few graphic glitches) on 10.15.6, but I was stupid enough not to backup the system SSD before the upgrade.
Even worse, my custom SSDT doesn't work now, I have to use USBInjectAll.kext to boot into the macOS.

Could you also specify your BIOS version, please?
Hey!

Quick question, are you using the TB3 header cable or jumping the pins on the card? All my difficulties went away when I ditched the TB3 header cable and just jumped a wire between the 2 pins on the card.

If you’re using the TB3 header cable, remove it and see if it makes any difference on your end. I noticed mine did absolutely nothing for me.

Try that first before you go crazy tweaking something that may actually be working.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5 (rev. 1.0)
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Asus GeForce GTX 650Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey!

Quick question, are you using the TB3 header cable or jumping the pins on the card? All my difficulties went away when I ditched the TB3 header cable and just jumped a wire between the 2 pins on the card.

If you’re using the TB3 header cable, remove it and see if it makes any difference on your end. I noticed mine did absolutely nothing for me.

Try that first before you go crazy tweaking something that may actually be working.

Thanks for the advice!

Unfortunately, no luck. I've tried the jumper, header cable and no cable at all.
TB3 devices work only in warm boot with jumper and header cable, no hotplug.
Without any cable TB3 doesn't work at all.

I've checked and double checked it.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
359
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Sapphire Toxic Radeon 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately, no luck. I've tried the jumper, header cable and no cable at all.
TB3 devices work only in warm boot with jumper and header cable, no hotplug.
Without any cable TB3 doesn't work at all.

I've checked and double checked it.
Hey @CaseySJ any way you can chime in? I feel like if I contribute anything it’s going to set @barsqiue back by a year LOL
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5 (rev. 1.0)
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Asus GeForce GTX 650Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey @CaseySJ any way you can chime in? I feel like if I contribute anything it’s going to set @barsqiue back by a year LOL
At this point my colleague to whom I'm helping with the build, decided to get personal help from one of the commercial builders.

I'm very grateful to @CaseySJ and you, @djbuddha, because your discussion helped us a lot in a past months.

Of course, amount of Casey's work is just insane and I would like not to bother him with the problem, solution to which is about to arrive.



But I got a question for you. Do both ports on your GC-Titan Ridge got fully functioning hotplug? I mean, even if the first port is occupied, the second one still hotplugs normally, right?

And did you manage to fix your TB cold boot problem eventually?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
359
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Sapphire Toxic Radeon 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
At this point my colleague to whom I'm helping with the build, decided to get personal help from one of the commercial builders.

I'm very grateful to @CaseySJ and you, @djbuddha, because your discussion helped us a lot in a past months.

Of course, amount of Casey's work is just insane and I would like not to bother him with the problem, solution to which is about to arrive.



But I got a question for you. Do both ports on your GC-Titan Ridge got fully functioning hotplug? I mean, even if the first port is occupied, the second one still hotplugs normally, right?

And did you manage to fix your TB cold boot problem eventually?
Both ports work at the same time on my end! I’ll try the hot plug and get back to you ASAP.

I can’t get the cold boot to work, which is really odd. It may be a BIOS setting but I can’t seem to figure it out. I just settle for unplugging before cold booting then plugging in about 5 seconds after the computer is powered. I get no display output until MacOS is booted though.

Did you try the aml files @CaseySJ sent me earlier in the thread?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,917
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@barsqiue @djbuddha

We know that Thunderbolt behavior various considerably from board to board, card to card, firmware to firmware, and with different connected devices.

A flashed Thunderbolt controller may not detect connected devices on a cold boot, or it might not initialize them properly on a cold boot. Hence a warm boot is often needed.

The built-in Titan Ridge controller on (a) Z390 Designare, (b) Z490 Vision D, and (c) B550 Vision D do not have this problem.

The lesson we have learned after examining a multitude of motherboards and add-in-cards is the following:

For the best Thunderbolt experience possible on a Hackintosh, we must choose a motherboard with a Titan Ridge controller built in. All other alternatives are afflicted with too many compromises.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
359
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Sapphire Toxic Radeon 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@barsqiue @djbuddha

We know that Thunderbolt behavior various considerably from board to board, card to card, firmware to firmware, and with different connected devices.

A flashed Thunderbolt controller may not detect connected devices on a cold boot, or it might not initialize them properly on a cold boot. Hence a warm boot is often needed.

The built-in Titan Ridge controller on (a) Z390 Designare, (b) Z490 Vision D, and (c) B550 Vision D do not have this problem.

The lesson we have learned after examining a multitude of motherboards and add-in-cards is the following:

For the best Thunderbolt experience possible on a Hackintosh, we must choose a motherboard with a Titan Ridge controller built in. All other alternatives are afflicted with too many compromises.
I’m cool with accepting mine the way it is. It doesn’t even power the Caldigit dock on boot, but I BELIEVE when my MacBook Pro is plugged into the Titan ridge, it powers immediately. On the MacBook Pro, it powers the dock at cold boot. Either way it’s fine.

@barsqiue I’m running Mojave btw, not sure if I can be of any assistance
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
62
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
I'm having issues... I read and followed a very wrong post about updating to 10.15.6, and my Hackintosh got totally screwed, and wouldn't even boot. This was the exact EFI folder I used to install 10.15.5, but now I can't even seem to reinstall 10.15.5. What am I doing wrong? What changes do I make to my folder to install 10.15.7 now? Thank you very much for your help!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus Rog Rampage VI Extreme Omega X299
CPU
i9-10920X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Hi guys, I'm completely new to OC. Already on Catalina ( Clover ). Trying to install Big Sur.
NO luck
any help is much appreciated.
 

Attachments

  • opencore-2020-11-15-105335.txt
    256 KB · Views: 17
  • config.plist
    21.8 KB · Views: 21
Top