Contribute
Register

Asus X299 - Support

Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
50
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@yapan4 I will upload a video later, it's difficult to put into a screenshot.

But basically it's just the following: I load a preset which contains 2GB of sounds. They are automatically loaded into the RAM. On the Hack OSX this takes me about 1:30 minutes. On Windows it takes less than 10 seconds, on my MacBook Pro as well.

According to AJA System Test, the drive that these samples are getting loaded from works fine on my Hackintosh (3000MB/s read).

So I'm just assuming that it must be either 1) RAM not working with the correct speed, however it displays 2933MHz on System Report; or 2) the software not using RAM correctly, which neither makes sense for me because it's the exact same version I'm running on my MacBook Pro without issues.

How about the AptioMemoryFix I've seen on many guides, could that solve my problem? I haven't used it in my OC configuration.
 

Attachments

  • MemorySystemReport.png
    MemorySystemReport.png
    189.3 KB · Views: 17
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
57
Motherboard
ASUS WS C422 Pro/SE
CPU
Xeon W-2123
Graphics
FirePro W7100
@curry36
Hmmm, an interesting problem... and I don't know how to solve it.

First at all - forget about AptioMemoryFix in Open Core's World. It's out of date, no longer updated, unsupported, and probably doesn't work at all with the latest releases. But AptioMemoryFix.efi still successfully used in Clover's World, so you can make Clover EFI(r5119, do not use r5120 because it's in beta state) for your hack and try as alternative and for comparison.

Then make sure this issue is not macOS version related, if you have Mojave and Catalina - please compare behaviour in both.

Then you can do full memory verification, use soft from links or similar one for make sure CPU - Memory subsystem work ok


I hope this will help in some way...
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
50
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@yapan4 Thanks a lot. You helped me indeed. I was about to ask for some software to test my RAM on OSX because I couldn't find any. Will also try out Clover and Catalina and report back. :)
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,136
Hi.

It's been a while since I booted on 10.15 ; took a while to upgrade everything so it would boot again following a botched 10.15.5 upgrade.

I upgraded all the kext in my clover partition, however i now get a regular hang after about 10 minutes uptime. Total freeze.
I have the following kext installed.
ACPISensors.kext
LPCSensors.kext
AGPMEnabler.kext
Lilu.kext
FakeSMC.kext
SmallTree-Intel-211-AT-PCIe-GBE.kext
IntelMausiEthernet.kext
TSCAdjustReset.kext
AppleALC.kext
JYA-iMacPro-ASRock-X299PGXE-XHCI-15port.kext
CPUSensors.kext
VegaGraphicsFixup.kext
GPUSensors.kext


I haven't kept up to date with the requirements of the day, and didn't look into going into OpenCore. Not keen on climbing that steep route either.

I read that FakeSMC is now obsolete? However last I tried with VirtualSMC instead I had a black screen with my AMD 5700XT

Is there an up-to-date guide of what I could be missing?

Is there any known issue with a regular hang occurring with a particular version over another?

I had stability issues on windows and I had to reduce the speed of my RAM to 2800MHz ; but since doing so it has been rock-solid. The mac will hang even with the UEFI BIOS defaults. no OC nothing.

Thanks
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
188
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Is anyone successfully using an LG 5K UltraFine display via a firmware patched Titan Ridge Thunderbolt 3 card on their X299 setup?

I tried flashing my Titan Ridge today, and it wouldn't power on the UltraFine display while I had the firmware flashed. TB header was hooked up properly, and it all works OK when the card is not flashed.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
552
Motherboard
Prime X299-A
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hey guys! I just noticed my DRM doesn't work and shikigva=128 don't do the trick, anyone solved this?

should DRMs work with MacPro7,1 + Radeon VII + WEG?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,437
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys! I just noticed my DRM doesn't work and shikigva=128 don't do the trick, anyone solved this?

should DRMs work with MacPro7,1 + Radeon VII + WEG?

What browser?

DRM works ok on my end in Safari (Amazon Prime)....in Chrome it doesn't work though.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
552
Motherboard
Prime X299-A
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS

djlild7hina

Retired
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
913
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD RX 580
Hi.

It's been a while since I booted on 10.15 ; took a while to upgrade everything so it would boot again following a botched 10.15.5 upgrade.

I upgraded all the kext in my clover partition, however i now get a regular hang after about 10 minutes uptime. Total freeze.
I have the following kext installed.
ACPISensors.kext
LPCSensors.kext
AGPMEnabler.kext
Lilu.kext
FakeSMC.kext
SmallTree-Intel-211-AT-PCIe-GBE.kext
IntelMausiEthernet.kext
TSCAdjustReset.kext
AppleALC.kext
JYA-iMacPro-ASRock-X299PGXE-XHCI-15port.kext
CPUSensors.kext
VegaGraphicsFixup.kext
GPUSensors.kext


I haven't kept up to date with the requirements of the day, and didn't look into going into OpenCore. Not keen on climbing that steep route either.

I read that FakeSMC is now obsolete? However last I tried with VirtualSMC instead I had a black screen with my AMD 5700XT

Is there an up-to-date guide of what I could be missing?

Is there any known issue with a regular hang occurring with a particular version over another?

I had stability issues on windows and I had to reduce the speed of my RAM to 2800MHz ; but since doing so it has been rock-solid. The mac will hang even with the UEFI BIOS defaults. no OC nothing.

Thanks

Think with OpenCore VirtualSMC is the way to go but FakeSMC with Clover is fine. I'm not up to date with Clover but I believe Clover uses OpenCore quirks now. You'll need boot-flag "agdpmod=pikera" to fix the black screen issue with the 5700 XT.

Hope someone else still on Clover can chime in.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
73
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3006
CPU
i9-10980xe
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, a new Bios version has been released for Asus Prime Deluxe I, 3105, does anyone know if the MSR is unlocked?
 
Top