Contribute
Register

Asus X299 - Support

Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
737
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9960X
Graphics
RX 580
So I did the firmware flash of the Titan Ridge under Windows and it was successful. Did all the BIOS settings (triple checked).

In System Report -> Thunderbolt, I still get: "Thunderbolt: No drivers are loaded."

When I connect my Caldigit dock, it lights up and the hard drive attached to it lights up, but nothing is showing up. Am I missing something here? I'm in PCIE Slot 2 on the X299 SAGE 10G board.

HELP! LOL
Thunderbolt devices won’t show up under system report -> Thunderbolt since we’re doing a workaround. Make sure you have the Thunderbolt SSDT adjusted for the Sage (should be on the GitHub repo) in your EFI. You can verify using IOReg and address PCI0.RP05
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
166
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9 9900X
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thunderbolt devices won’t show up under system report -> thunderbolt since we’re doing a workaround. Make sure you have the thunderbolt ssdt adjusted for the Sage (should be on the GitHub repo) in your EFI. You can verify using IOReg and address PCI0.RP05
Ok I have the aml file ... how am I installing this? I haven't done many AML files as of yet ... got so swamped with work I've been slowly working on this machine. Had other hardware issues I had to iron out before I could continue.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
737
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9960X
Graphics
RX 580
Ok I have the aml file ... how am I installing this? I haven't done many AML files as of yet ... got so swamped with work I've been slowly working on this machine. Had other hardware issues I had to iron out before I could continue.
Copy these files to EFI->Clover->ACPI->Patched
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
82
Motherboard
GA X99 SOC Champion
CPU
i7 6900K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android
Guys, get a look on my EFI folder. I can't finish install:

i9-9940X
Asus X299 Prime A
Gigabyte Radeon Vega 64
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
82
Motherboard
GA X99 SOC Champion
CPU
i7 6900K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android
Do not OC or anything until you have macOS set up and running. You're jumping the gun here.
I don' worry about OC, I make this everyday on PC gamers for my clients. Only think is X299 hackintosh install. Can you look for my EFI folder? I can't finish install

i9-9940X
Asus X299 Prime A
Gigabyte Radeon Vega 64
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
166
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9 9900X
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
From KGP's guide ...

Screenshot 2018-10-03 at 08.18.00.png


From my machine:

Screen Shot 2019-12-03 at 7.02.50 PM.png


I wonder why my card won't load.... TB3 header is connected, firmware is flashed and the BIOS settings on the board are exactly what he said.... and I'm in slot 2
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,225
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370
CPU
i9-9980
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
From KGP's guide ...

View attachment 438658

From my machine:

View attachment 438659,

I wonder why my card won't load.... TB3 header is connected, firmware is flashed and the BIOS settings on the board are exactly what he said.... and I'm in slot 2
So I'm hoping you have a drive or some kind of TB device to test with. If you do, try it first in Windows, and make sure you set the permissions there in Windows to all (everyone, every thing). See if you can then access the drive. Don't proceed to the Mac side until you can reliably access the drive. You should be able to unload it, then re-plug it in, and reload it, per normal behaviour for a TB device.

If you have any trouble, double check your settings in the BIOS. Get it to work normally in Windows, then move to the Mac. Check the drivers, the TB utility (in Windows), etc. You should be able to start the utility and then you should see your drive/device attached to one of the two TB ports. Until this works, there's no point in moving to the Mac. Once it works here, in Windows, you've got a good shot of it working on the Mac side.

At first, on the Mac side, connect the device (s) before starting up. Then look on the Mac side to see if your drive/device is there. If it is, you can try to eject it and reload it, but don't be surprised if it doesn't work. Doesn't for me, while others claim it does for them. Not sure why, but that's the way it works for some sometimes. Could be my TB1 drive, not sure about that. But try it this way, and see if you can at least get a drive to show up on the Mac side.

Good luck!

EDIT: And, you should keep in mind that you might have a bad card....doesn't occur very often, but it happens....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
166
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9 9900X
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
S0 I'm hoping you have a drive or some kind of TB device to test with. If you do, try it first in Windows, and make sure you set the permissions there in Windows to all (everyone, every thing). See if you can then access the drive. Don't proceed to the Mac side until you can reliably access the drive. You should be able to unload it, then re-plug it in, and reload it, per normal behaviour for a TB device.

If you have any trouble, double check your settings in the BIOS. Get it to work normally in Windows, then move to the Mac. Check the drivers, the TB utility (in Windows), etc. You should be able to start the utility and then you should see your drive/device attached to one of the two TB ports. Until this works, there's no point in moving to the Mac. Once it works here, in Windows, you've got a good shot of it working on the Mac side.

At first, on the Mac side, connect the device (s) before starting up. Then look on the Mac side to see if your drive/device is there. If it is, you can try to eject it and reload it, but don't be surprised if it doesn't work. Doesn't for me, while others claim it does for them. Not sure why, but that's the way it works for some sometimes. Could be my TB1 drive, not sure about that. But try it this way, and see if you can at least get a drive to show up on the Mac side.

Good luck!

EDIT: And, you should keep in mind that you might have a bad card....doesn't occur very often, but it happens....
I have a Caldigit Thunderbolt 3 dock I use currently with my 2017 MBP which I'm going to eventually use with this new machine. Funny thing, if I plug a USB-C drive into the Titan Ridge, it comes up (full speed too) but that isn't overly surprising.

Looks like I'm re-installing Windows 10 on an external to try again. Weird thing, I had a LOT of issues getting the firmware to install (the installer just wasn't having it) but it did confirm the firmware update eventually (had to deep dive in Device Manager to get the driver installed for some strange reason).
 
Top