Contribute
Register

Asus X299 - Support

Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The project bundles can live on local and external drives, just not SMB (unless as the document states, its' on a macOS server share or something). Really stupid on Apples part.

Anyway I don't understand FCPX and don't plan to use it. :thumbup:

Agreed, if Apple hasn’t fixed that, it’s just total stupidity although I know some bigger YouTubers who claim they all collectively edit off a server. But I’m unaware of their workflow.

I completely respect your view on FCPX.. I was on 7 and when I transitioned I wanted punch babies on the daily until I got used to it. One of my collaborators hopes they’ll release some kind of version of 7 that’ll support multi core and new OSes to which I tell him to keep dreaming on that one.

Everyone has their favourite workflow- I’m sure if I got into Premiere I’d probably enjoy it- but I’m locked in now by work and it’s working for me. Mind you I swear by Adobe Audition and couldn’t stand other DAWs but I’m starting to get used to working in Ableton for different project workflows and it’s definitely opening my eyes to more and more.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,010
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
II make actually some research about the T2 chip which is missing on our systems.

in the past, we have added devices with SSDT, such as AppleBusController EC or AppleIntelPCHPMC PMC.

In fact, I do not know yet if we can handle that for the T2 controller.

So, let’s go to the IOReg from iMacPro and IOKit dumps from macOS 10.13.6.
(you can easily recognize the 10.13.6 dumps next to the 10.14.6 dumps because the result name of some devices in properties is not the same).

We can find:

The T2 Bridge controller

OACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/RP01@1c0000/IOBC@1

<"pci106b,1801", "pciclass,000000", "IOBC">

Device 106b:1801

Name: T2 Bridge Controller

Capture d’écran 2019-11-06 à 14.45.22.png



The T2 Processor

IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/RP01@1c0000/SEPM@2

<"pci106b,1802", "pciclass,000000", "SEPM">

Device 106b:1802

Name: T2 Secure Enclave Processor

Capture d’écran 2019-11-06 à 14.54.57.png


Now, we can see on iMacPro SSDT what it looks like:

For IOBC :

Capture d’écran 2019-11-06 à 15.03.07.png


For SEPM :

Capture d’écran 2019-11-06 à 15.04.21.png


But for the moment, the interest of building an SSDT is only for the controller because if I can have a PCi input for that, it will not be possible for the SEPM because we do not have one. Maybe we can spoof it out later.

The resulting SSDT ( I share here) may be:

Capture d’écran 2019-11-06 à 15.23.01.png


That's all for the moment , to be continued :confused: :beachball:
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-X299-T2-CHIP1.zip
    973 bytes · Views: 25
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
II make actually some research about the T2 chip which is missing on our systems.

in the past, we have added devices with SSDT, such as AppleBusController EC or AppleIntelPCHPMC PMC.

In fact, I do not know yet if we can handle that for the T2 controller.

So, let’s go to the IOReg from iMacPro and IOKit dumps from macOS 10.13.6.

We can find:

The T2 Bridge controller

OACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/RP01@1c0000/IOBC@1

<"pci106b,1801", "pciclass,000000", "IOBC">

Device 106b:1801

Name: T2 Bridge Controller

View attachment 434690


The T2 Processor

IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/RP01@1c0000/SEPM@2

<"pci106b,1802", "pciclass,000000", "SEPM">

Device 106b:1802

Name: T2 Secure Enclave Processor

View attachment 434691

Now, we can see on iMacPro SSDT what it looks like:

For IOBC :

View attachment 434692

For SEPM :

View attachment 434693

But for the moment, the interest of building an SSDT is only for the controller because if I can have a PCi input for that, it will not be possible for the SEPM because we do not have one. Maybe we can spoof it out later.

The resulting SSDT ( I share here) may be:

View attachment 434694

That's all for the moment , to be continued :confused: :beachball:

Makes you wonder if TB3 direct device to device networking support could be opened up through this research. Interesting. Time will tell!

In the meantime I’ll stick with the on-board 10GBE on the sage when it arrives ...... like a peasant :lol:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,010
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Makes you wonder if TB3 networking support could be opened up through this research. Interesting. Time will tell!

In the meantime I’ll stick with the on-board 10GBE on the sage when it arrives ...... like a peasant :lol:

Do not worry, the GC Titan Ridge (or even the TBEX3) should work: KGP has conducted intensive research (can be termed excavation ... :D ) and some people here use it daily.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do not worry, the GC Titan Ridge (or even the TBEX3) should work: KGP has conducted intensive research (can be termed excavation ... :D ) and some people here use it daily.

Oh that I know, but networking directly between 2 Thunderbolt 3 devices (I.E., Hackintosh to MacBookPro 2016 or newer) doesn’t work yet.

I just edited the post you responded to, to clarify what I meant.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,010
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Oh that I know, but networking directly between 2 Thunderbolt 3 devices (I.E., Hackintosh to MacBookPro 2016 or newer) doesn’t work yet.

I just edited the post you responded to, to clarify what I meant.

Really networking between 2 Thunderbolt 3 devices will be interesting even if it may not work but why not just give it a try : the GB-Titan Ridge ( but I have not it for now Santa Klaus if you may here me...) was a real improvement because it allows you to work on MacO without drivers on Windows unlike TBEX3.
So KGP stopped the development of the SSDT when it arrived.
But before, on Summer 2018 I spended a longtime with KGP and @nmano to adapt the SSDT 9 from real iMacPro to work on our platform because we wanted to load all the chain on IOReg ( see it on picture ).
Unfortunately, we did not accomplish it before the coming of Titan Ridge and nobody did...but I may be curious if...
So I share you the untouched SSDT 9 adapted for your future ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G : the SSDT should load but because of the _INI method it fails, we made some change and we loaded it when replaced _INI by _PINI. ( but no success for the full chain on IOREg like actual SSDT repo)
So lets go for you : It can be interesting

Capture d’écran 2019-11-06 à 20.05.29.png






Capture d’écran 2019-11-06 à 20.11.49.png
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-9 UNTOUCHED NHI0.zip
    6.6 KB · Views: 20
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Really networking between 2 Thunderbolt 3 devices will be interesting even if it may not work but why not just give it a try : the GB-Titan Ridge ( but I have not it for now Santa Klaus if you may here me...) was a real improvement because it allows you to work on MacO without drivers on Windows unlike TBEX3.
So KGP stopped the development of the SSDT when it arrived.
But before, on Summer 2018 I spended a longtime with KGP and @nmano to adapt the SSDT 9 from real iMacPro to work on our platform because we wanted to load all the chain on IOReg ( see it on picture ).
Unfortunately, we did not accomplish it before the coming of Titan Ridge and nobody did...but I may be curious if...
So I share you the untouched SSDT 9 adapted for your future ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G : the SSDT should load but because of the _INI method it fails, we made some change and we loaded it when replaced _INI by _PINI. ( but no success for the full chain on IOREg like actual SSDT repo)
So lets go for you : It can be interesting

View attachment 434729





View attachment 434731

oooooo interesting..

My Titan Ridge is sitting in my community mailbox lol- just delivered and my Corsair H150i Pro is sitting in my back seat (just left the store).

Motherboard should arrive tomorrow and I’m purchasing a 9900X on Friday (I’m allowed to return without restocking in 15 days). Will probably do the build and the first run of installation on Sunday or Monday.

Worst case, I eBay this chip when the 10980XE comes out. Glad I got it, I can flash the bios to support the new chip while I have it. I only paid $799 CAD (~$607 USD). So even if I sell it for a couple of bucks less I’m happy.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
461
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Really networking between 2 Thunderbolt 3 devices will be interesting even if it may not work but why not just give it a try : the GB-Titan Ridge ( but I have not it for now Santa Klaus if you may here me...) was a real improvement because it allows you to work on MacO without drivers on Windows unlike TBEX3.
So KGP stopped the development of the SSDT when it arrived.
But before, on Summer 2018 I spended a longtime with KGP and @nmano to adapt the SSDT 9 from real iMacPro to work on our platform because we wanted to load all the chain on IOReg ( see it on picture ).
Unfortunately, we did not accomplish it before the coming of Titan Ridge and nobody did...but I may be curious if...
So I share you the untouched SSDT 9 adapted for your future ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G : the SSDT should load but because of the _INI method it fails, we made some change and we loaded it when replaced _INI by _PINI. ( but no success for the full chain on IOREg like actual SSDT repo)
So lets go for you : It can be interesting

View attachment 434729





View attachment 434731
@Loloflatsix and @djbuddha
As someone who don't need TB3 at all (at this moment), I'm simply curious...
Please tell me, what is "advantage" to use TB3 networking instead 10G cards like ASUS with AQC 107 or any different card?
I can imagine a fact, that you don't need additional "docks" etc - for some MacBooks etc for 10G network,
but if we take a case of "2 iMac's Pro" or "2 hackintosh iMac's Pro" ... there is any advantage when you use TB3
instead 10G LAN cards? ;)
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Loloflatsix and @djbuddha
As someone who don't need TB3 at all (at this moment), I'm simply curious...
Please tell me, what is "advantage" to use TB3 networking instead 10G cards like ASUS with AQC 107 or any different card?
I can imagine a fact, that you don't need additional "docks" etc - for some MacBooks etc for 10G network,
but if we take a case of "2 iMac's Pro" or "2 hackintosh iMac's Pro" ... there is any advantage when you use TB3
instead 10G LAN cards? ;)

Well I tend to work with some large source video material that sometimes I need to move around once I make my Final Cut Bundle project files. Some of these get in the 150-200 gig range (and as we evolve our workflow to support 8k+, higher bandwidth makes all the difference in the world in terms of productivity).

So a use case for me for example could be (using 2 identical machines- optimally 2 machines running the 9980xe or 10980xe) when I make my final H264 encodes for my clients (DJs) ... I would copy all my ProRes exports from one machine to the other via Thunderbolt 3, and let them both process the encoding. It gets hectic when you’re doing 4 versions of the same project and have 10 projects that need to be up in a super timely fashion.

So going from 10 gbit to a theoretical 40 gbit would be massive in my workflow.

This “need” clearly isn’t for everyone so I do understand why solving this hasn’t been a super priority. It’s just one piece of the Mac puzzle that would be nice to have in the Hackintosh world that’s actually insanely powerful for some of us. :)
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,010
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Loloflatsix and @djbuddha
As someone who don't need TB3 at all (at this moment), I'm simply curious...
Please tell me, what is "advantage" to use TB3 networking instead 10G cards like ASUS with AQC 107 or any different card?
I can imagine a fact, that you don't need additional "docks" etc - for some MacBooks etc for 10G network,
but if we take a case of "2 iMac's Pro" or "2 hackintosh iMac's Pro" ... there is any advantage when you use TB3
instead 10G LAN cards? ;)
Well I tend to work with some large source video material that sometimes I need to move around once I make my Final Cut Bundle project files. Some of these get in the 150-200 gig range (and as we evolve our workflow to support 8k+, higher bandwidth makes all the difference in the world in terms of productivity).

So a use case for me for example could be (using 2 identical machines- optimally 2 machines running the 9980xe or 10980xe) when I make my final H264 encodes for my clients (DJs) ... I would copy all my ProRes exports from one machine to the other via Thunderbolt 3, and let them both process the encoding. It gets hectic when you’re doing 4 versions of the same project and have 10 projects that need to be up in a super timely fashion.

So going from 10 gbit to a theoretical 40 gbit would be massive in my workflow.

This “need” clearly isn’t for everyone so I do understand why solving this hasn’t been a super priority. It’s just one piece of the Mac puzzle that would be nice to have in the Hackintosh world that’s actually insanely powerful for some of us. :)

Yes just +1 with @djbuddha : the speed will be in theoretical X4.

But in my case the 10G lan will be more interressting for cloud-computing : 3D models on BIM architecture projects have become heavier and to change it on the fly we need powerful desktops and more speed.
 
Top