Contribute
Register

ASUS ThunderboltEX II PCIe Expansion Card - Testing Thread

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,497
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Core i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
P_setting_fff_1_90_end_500.jpg
Tested the ASUS ThunderboltEX II PCIe Expansion Card on the ASUS Z97-A Test Build - had to install the Windows Thunderbolt Drivers, but then showed up in the BIOS with full settings.

140630211828.jpg


Tested with my Goflex SATA adapter, Apple ethernet adapter, and Apple firewire adapter. I would guess the main difference is the device ids- Gigabyte's are 156C and 156D, while ASUS's are 156A and 156B- likely the difference between the dual and single Thunderbolt spec. Looks to be working just like the built in Thunderbolt 2 in the Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH, here are screenshots.
Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 3.14.28 PM.png
Z97-A with ASUS ThunderboltEX II:
Devices: 8086 156A, 8086 156B

Screen Shot 2014-07-01 at 12.38.00 PM.png

For comparison,
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH:
Devices: 8086 156C, 8086 156D
Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 5.37.45 PM.png
This device is only compatible with ASUS motherboards that have a TB_header pin input. The short list of supported ASUS devices is as follows

MAXIMUS VI EXTREME
SABERTOOTH Z87
Z87-PRO
Z87-PRO(V EDITION)
Z87-PLUS
Z87-PLUS(VivoMouse EDITION)
Z87-A
Z87-A(NFC EXPRESS EDITION)
SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK 1
SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK 2
GRYPHON Z97
Z97-PRO
Z97-PRO (Wi-Fi ac)
Z97-A

ASUS ThunderboltEX II:
http://www.amazon.com/Asus-ThunderboltEX-II-ASUS-Components/dp/B00ISKS45M/
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813995027


Related:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/user-builds/136796-tonymacx86s-asus-test-build-z97-i3-4340-hd4600-thunderbolt-ex-ii.html
http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-hardware-discussion/120690-gigabyte-ga-z87x-ud7-th-thunderbolt-2-0-testing.html
http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-hardware-discussion/116190-thunderbolts-last-stand-thunderbolt-ready-motherboards-pcie-cards-available-soon.html
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ThunderboltEX_II/
 
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
238
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
Graphics
Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
238
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
Graphics
Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
238
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
Graphics
Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
238
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
Graphics
Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
31
I use a ThunderboltEX II DUAL with my Z97 Gryphon and it works good
but aint without a bit of a hassle.

The thing is that if you update your mainboards bios thunderbolt stops
working in OS X and you need to reinstall the card under Windows to get it working again.

(card won't even work in Windows if you don't reinstall it after a bios update)
 
Top