ASUS ThunderboltEX II PCIe Expansion Card - Testing Thread

Discussion in 'General Hardware Discussion' started by tonymacx86, Jul 14, 2014.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,428
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 14, 2014 at 3:12 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,428
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    P_setting_fff_1_90_end_500.jpg
    Tested the ASUS ThunderboltEX II PCIe Expansion Card on the ASUS Z97-A Test Build - had to install the Windows Thunderbolt Drivers, but then showed up in the BIOS with full settings.

    140630211828.jpg


    Tested with my Goflex SATA adapter, Apple ethernet adapter, and Apple firewire adapter. I would guess the main difference is the device ids- Gigabyte's are 156C and 156D, while ASUS's are 156A and 156B- likely the difference between the dual and single Thunderbolt spec. Looks to be working just like the built in Thunderbolt 2 in the Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH, here are screenshots.
    Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 3.14.28 PM.png
    Z97-A with ASUS ThunderboltEX II:
    Devices: 8086 156A, 8086 156B

    Screen Shot 2014-07-01 at 12.38.00 PM.png

    For comparison,
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH:
    Devices: 8086 156C, 8086 156D
    Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 5.37.45 PM.png
    This device is only compatible with ASUS motherboards that have a TB_header pin input. The short list of supported ASUS devices is as follows

    MAXIMUS VI EXTREME
    SABERTOOTH Z87
    Z87-PRO
    Z87-PRO(V EDITION)
    Z87-PLUS
    Z87-PLUS(VivoMouse EDITION)
    Z87-A
    Z87-A(NFC EXPRESS EDITION)
    SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK 1
    SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK 2
    GRYPHON Z97
    Z97-PRO
    Z97-PRO (Wi-Fi ac)
    Z97-A

    ASUS ThunderboltEX II:
    http://www.amazon.com/Asus-ThunderboltEX-II-ASUS-Components/dp/B00ISKS45M/
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813995027


    Related:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/user-buil...ild-z97-i3-4340-hd4600-thunderbolt-ex-ii.html
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-h...e-ga-z87x-ud7-th-thunderbolt-2-0-testing.html
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-h...y-motherboards-pcie-cards-available-soon.html
    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ThunderboltEX_II/
     
  2. spmcveigh

    spmcveigh

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Motherboard:
    Z97 Sabertooth Mark 2
    CPU:
    Core i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 980Ti ACX2.0+ SLI
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 15, 2014 at 4:56 AM #2
    spmcveigh

    spmcveigh

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Motherboard:
    Z97 Sabertooth Mark 2
    CPU:
    Core i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 980Ti ACX2.0+ SLI
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Z97 Deluxe and Z97 WS are thunderbolt compatible, according to asus website. Add to list?
     
  3. atlantis852

    atlantis852

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Jul 15, 2014 at 9:31 AM #3
    atlantis852

    atlantis852

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    This is a exactly what I am looking for to make my Hack Pro complete! :thumbup:
     
  4. atlantis852

    atlantis852

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Jul 15, 2014 at 10:18 AM #4
    atlantis852

    atlantis852

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Seems to be out of stock everywhere.
     
  5. hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 15, 2014 at 8:19 PM #5
    hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Where are u based so I can look elsewhere for u ?
     
  6. atlantis852

    atlantis852

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Jul 15, 2014 at 8:21 PM #6
    atlantis852

    atlantis852

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Hong Kong :thumbup:
     
  7. hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 15, 2014 at 8:24 PM #7
    hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  8. atlantis852

    atlantis852

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Jul 15, 2014 at 8:27 PM #8
    atlantis852

    atlantis852

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 4 x WD 3TB HDs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K (Quad Core; Haswell)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Windforce 3 GTX 780 3GB (Not Overclocked)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
  9. hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 15, 2014 at 8:30 PM #9
    hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    No sweat. That's what a community does. Help others. ;) :thumbup:
     
  10. Allsop

    Allsop

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Jul 22, 2014 at 11:31 PM #10
    Allsop

    Allsop

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    I use a ThunderboltEX II DUAL with my Z97 Gryphon and it works good
    but aint without a bit of a hassle.

    The thing is that if you update your mainboards bios thunderbolt stops
    working in OS X and you need to reinstall the card under Windows to get it working again.

    (card won't even work in Windows if you don't reinstall it after a bios update)
     
    Cubbie036 likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice