Contribute
Register

Asus PRIME Z490-P Catalina 10.5.5

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,801
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
UHD 630:

As for the UHD630, unfortunately, the "IGPU Multi Monitor" parameter is missing from the BIOS Menu, and therefore in my opinion it does not activate when I use the AMD 560.
I tried with (HDMI), but as we know with Catalina 10.5.5, HDMI doesn't work.
In the next few days I try with a DP monitor.
(I'm not very happy with this ASUS choice ...).
In the attached image an example of how it should be. (for example in my ASUS X99 Prime-A, that parameter is there)

However, apart from the VDA Decoder that doesn't work, the graphics part works well.
If you have already installed Windows or plan to do so, it might be interesting to see what happens there. With AMD GPU connected during boot, plug a second video cable into the rear IO panel and see if the iGPU can drive a second monitor. If it cannot do this, it means iGPU is also disabled in Windows. In this case you would have a legitimate complaint to raise against Asus -- perhaps by opening a Support Ticket.
 

adamsmasher

Data Destroyer
Staff member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
6,685
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-P
CPU
i5 10400
Graphics
AMD 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have the same board and CPU (not using a graphics card, though) as you @FormerUser-594785, but I got a kernel panic and reboot during boot. I gave it a go as the system boots and works but I don't have IGPU graphics acceleration.
 
F

FormerUser-594785

Guest
I have the same board and CPU (not using a graphics card, though) as you @FormerUser-594785, but I got a kernel panic and reboot during boot. I gave it a go as the system boots and works but I don't have IGPU graphics acceleration.

Hi Adam...
Have you installed last BIOS? (0806)
Have you installed last System? (10.5.5).

IGPU over HDMI don't work.
Try with DP out.
 
F

FormerUser-594785

Guest
USB: (17-06-2020)

New USB Map.
For the Fenvi 1200, it's ok USB port 11-12?
 

Attachments

  • max’s iMac Comet Lake USB MAP 17-06-2020.ioreg
    6.8 MB · Views: 93
  • USB MAP.png
    USB MAP.png
    83.5 KB · Views: 148
Last edited by a moderator:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,801
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
USB: (17-06-2020)

New USB Map.
For the Fenvi 1200, it's ok USB port 11-12?
The USB map looks good now and has a total of 15 ports. For the Fenvi, the answer depends on:
  • Whether USB 2 header on motherboard is mapped to HS13 (same as Aura LED controller)
  • Or whether USB 2 header is mapped to HS11 / HS12
 

adamsmasher

Data Destroyer
Staff member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
6,685
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-P
CPU
i5 10400
Graphics
AMD 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Adam...
Have you installed last BIOS? (0806)
Have you installed last System? (10.5.5).

IGPU over HDMI don't work.
Try with DP out.

The BIOS should be updated to whatever was newest as of a week or two ago (I'm working so I can't check at the moment, but I'm pretty sure it's that version). I wasn't aware that HDMI doesn't work because 630 was working with HDMI on my 3xx system. I ordered a DP cable from Amazon so I can try that tomorrow, though. Thanks for the heads up!

Btw, is the EFI folder in your first post updated with any further changes you made? Just checking before I drop it in and replace the current EFI folder tomorrow.
 
F

FormerUser-594785

Guest
The BIOS should be updated to whatever was newest as of a week or two ago (I'm working so I can't check at the moment, but I'm pretty sure it's that version). I wasn't aware that HDMI doesn't work because 630 was working with HDMI on my 3xx system. I ordered a DP cable from Amazon so I can try that tomorrow, though. Thanks for the heads up!

Btw, is the EFI folder in your first post updated with any further changes you made? Just checking before I drop it in and replace the current EFI folder tomorrow.


No, the EFI folder is not updated. I'm waiting to try the latest changes, then tomorrow should be ready.
 
F

FormerUser-594785

Guest
Update 19-06-2020.
This is the configuration I'm using now.

BIOS:
Bios 1001 to activate IGPU MultiMonitor.

BIOS 4G-Vt-d.jpg
BIOS Boot.jpg

BIOS IGPU.jpg
BIOS Serial Port.jpg

BIOS Version.jpg
BIOS XMP1.jpg




Boot:

There are 3 Aux.
Just hit the space bar to see them.

Boot Aux.jpg



USB:

I have disabled USB2 HS9-HS10, USB3 SS3-SS4.
USB HS13 must remain active. In my case, I have 2 USB ports, in front, and I used the internal USB3 SS-7-8 connector for these ports.





Motherboard Layout.png


UHD630:

Mandatory to update the BIOS to version 1001.
Otherwise the IGPU MultiMonitor option is missing.
UHD630 Headless Mode.png




Startup Disk:

Remember to choose the boot disk.
Even after a reset of the NVRam.
Startup Disk.png



SIP:

SIP I left it enabled.

SIP.png


SIP Mode.png




Keyboard:

This config.plist is set on the Italian language.

To change, choose one of these languages:


Example for the Italian language: it: 4. Then convert here:

Then edit: config.plist as in the image above, in the "prev-lang-kbd" parameter.


PlatformInfo

Remember to enter the data in the "PlatformInfo".






I want to thank Casey SJ for his support, Really a big thank you !!
 

Attachments

  • DSDT.aml
    286.6 KB · Views: 116
  • EFI.zip
    3.7 MB · Views: 274
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-P
CPU
10700K
Graphics
iGPU UHD630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In my case I don't yet have a DP display or DP-HDMI cable so I still have no output from HDMI.
Also tried booting Mojave but it seems it'll require different patching.

Btw, I see the AAPL,pci locations are different than the ones by the OpenCore guide. are those correct? are they the same with/without a dGPU?

And the routing of the ports is also based on gfxutil results?

Thanks!
 
Top