Contribute
Register

ASUS P5Q - Mavericks Installation Success

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
203
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS-PRO-WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Guide works perfectly 10/10. :D

I tried once before, but got stuck in the infinite rebooting scenario like you.

I now have everything work, EXCEPT sleep mode does not work for me. (Selecting sleep mode from the apple menu results in instant wake up from sleep.) Anyone else having this?

My auto and manual sleep work great. In fact, I have scheduled in Power Savings for the CustoMac to go to sleep everyday at midnight. I am wondering if it is due to different versions of the BIOS - that is if you have exactly the ASUS P5Q mb and no other variation. I'll look at mine to see what BIOS version it has and let you know.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
203
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS-PRO-WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here's how by using Clover:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/mac-software/112477-cant-update-new-iwork-6.html#post690930
(please read also post #52 to understand fully what's going on)

Here's how by using vmware:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/mac-software/112477-cant-update-new-iwork-4.html#post687985
(please read the comments too after mine as there are other who succeeded yet skipped a step)

Sorry, you don't understand. I have already been running my CustoMac using Clover boot loader for over a week now. What I indicated previously is that the iWork and iLife upgrades still don't work. Therefore, what I was saying was that just having Clover does not resolve the issue. Unless there is a specific configuration that has to be made for those apps to get updated from the Mac store. If you know what that is, kindly share. If not, it's still OK.
 

Big

Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
156
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i5-6400
Graphics
GTX 750
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
P.S. Next time I'll boot, I'll make sure I make a note of the BIOS settings and post it here :)
Code:
BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Advanced > CPU Configuration
CPU Ratio [Auto]
C1E Support [Enabled]
Max CPUID [Disabled]
Intel (R) Virt [Enabled]
CPU TM Funct [Enabled]
Execute Dis Bit [Enabled]
Intel (R) Speedstep [Enabled]
Intel (R) C-STATE [Enabled]  <-- make sure you scroll down to see this one

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Advanced > USB Config
USB Funct [Enabled]
USB 2.0 Controller [Enabled]
USB 2.0 Controller Mode [HiSpeed]
BIOS EHCI [Enabled]
Legacy [Auto]

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Power
Suspend Mode [Auto]
Repost video [No]
ACPI 2.0 support [Enabled]
ACPI APIC Support [Enabled]

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Power > APM Config
Restore [Power Off]
RTC [Disabled]
modems [Disabled]
PCI [Enabled]
PCIE [Disabled]
PS/2 Keyboard [Space] <-- waking up with keyboard does not work on my system
PS/2 Mouse [Enabled] <-- I just wiggle the mouse :)

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Main > Storage Config
Configure SATA as [AHCI]

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Ai Tweaker
All settings [Auto]
CPU Margin Enh [Optimized]

All other settings are either default (and some are other hardware dependent, e.g. boot sequence).
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
203
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS-PRO-WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Code:
BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Advanced > CPU Configuration
CPU Ratio [Auto]
C1E Support [Enabled]
Max CPUID [Disabled]
Intel (R) Virt [Enabled]
CPU TM Funct [Enabled]
Execute Dis Bit [Enabled]
Intel (R) Speedstep [Enabled]
Intel (R) C-STATE [Enabled]  <-- make sure you scroll down to see this one

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Advanced > USB Config
USB Funct [Enabled]
USB 2.0 Controller [Enabled]
USB 2.0 Controller Mode [HiSpeed]
BIOS EHCI [Enabled]
Legacy [Auto]

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Power
Suspend Mode [Auto]
Repost video [No]
ACPI 2.0 support [Enabled]
ACPI APIC Support [Enabled]

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Power > APM Config
Restore [Power Off]
RTC [Disabled]
modems [Disabled]
PCI [Enabled]
PCIE [Disabled]
PS/2 Keyboard [Space] <-- waking up with keyboard does not work on my system
PS/2 Mouse [Enabled] <-- I just wiggle the mouse :)

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Main > Storage Config
Configure SATA as [AHCI]

BIOS SETUP UTILITY > Ai Tweaker
All settings [Auto]
CPU Margin Enh [Optimized]

All other settings are either default (and some are other hardware dependent, e.g. boot sequence).

Those settings do not work for me with Clover on the ASUS P5Q motherboard. Clover generates kernel panic.
 

Big

Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
156
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i5-6400
Graphics
GTX 750
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Those settings do not work for me with Clover on the ASUS P5Q motherboard. Clover generates kernel panic.
I can imagine. As you might understand, the success of your configuration depends on a combination of factors: BIOS, BIOS settings, SMBios, DSDT, kexts. It's not a single factor that determines the result, it's all of them combined. For one that my BIOS settings don't work for you, might be that you're not using the same BIOS. Clover is another, I'm using Chameleon.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
2
Motherboard
P5Q
CPU
Intel Q9480
Graphics
ATI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Computer goes to sleep and can be waked up. But it works unstable after waking up (for example file copying freeze everything, only reboot). No DSDT used.
Can anybody suggest something?

Thanx!
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
203
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS-PRO-WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mine has no issues with coming back from sleep. Both, sleep and wake up work flawlessly. However, what I have noticed is that sometimes, after it wakes up and I want it to restart for any reason, the CustoMac does close all the applications and after the white shutdown screen disappears, the machine hangs and does not restart. I have to push the reset button. It's a somewhat weird situation which does not bother me, but still... Also, I don't use a DSDT.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
2
Motherboard
P5Q
CPU
Intel Q9480
Graphics
ATI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Mine has no issues with coming back from sleep. Both, sleep and wake up work flawlessly. However, what I have noticed is that sometimes, after it wakes up and I want it to restart for any reason, the CustoMac does close all the applications and after the white shutdown screen disappears, the machine hangs and does not restart. I have to push the reset button. It's a somewhat weird situation which does not bother me, but still... Also, I don't use a DSDT.

Thank you for reply.
Have you checked "3rd Party SATA" in MultiBeast or something in "Drivers->Disk" section? I suggest that something is wrong with hdd.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
OSX 10.11
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
Radeon R9 M295X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Confirmed. No DSDT for P5Q-E with Mavericks.
Mavericks 10.9.1 works just fine.

My kext in S/L/E are:
AHCI_3rdParty_SATA.kext
AppleACPIPS2Nub.kext
AppleHDADisabler.kext
ApplePS2Controller.kext
ApplePS2Keyboard.kext
ApplePS2Mouse.kext
ApplePS2Trackpad.kext
AppleVIAATA.kext
IONetworkingFamily.kext
IOUSBFamily.kext
lspcidrv.kext
VoodooHDA.kext for AD2000b, forks fine for me
FakeSMC.kext v.6.0.1000
EvOreboot.kext - for reset and shutdown

patched IOACPIFamily.kext for TRIM as I have SSD, picked up form MultiBeast 6.0.0
CalDigitFastIO.kext and CalDigitUSBxHCI.kext for USB 3.0 PCIe ASM1042
IOBluetoothFamily.kext for USB Belkin Bluetooth Dongle

all files [SLE and Extra] you can find here https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jawy79sbgfaao0s/VOndAfLiKh

Merry Christmas :)
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello! first of all.. thanks a lot for the guide! thanks to this guide I was able to properly have my hackintosh running with my p5q pro turbo, I had been trying to this for a couple of years and got so frustrated I ended up quitting until yesterday.
I have two issues only that I'd like to solve.
1) My dvd drive is not being recognized at all (It's an LG and it's IDE). I set the JMicron controller to IDE in the BIOS but I'm not being sure if the drive is controlled by the JMicron.... btw, the drive works OK if I boot from it with a windows dvd. Any kexts I should install?
2) I have two monitors working right now: my main one is connected via dvi to dvi cable and the second one is connected with a dvi to via adapter since it's an old monitor. However, if i connect my TV with a dvi to hdmi cable, then the system freezes when booting. Maybe if i try with a dvi to dvi cable and a dvi to hdmi adapter, or a dvi to hdmi adapter and an hdmi cable?
Do you guys know of a good way to make a dual boot with windows on the same drive? I have my drive Partitioned already but when I get to the installation screen for windows, it won't allow me to install since my startup is GUID.
Asides from those 2 things, everything seems to be working flawless so I'm really happy.
My system configuration is
MB = P5Q PRO TURBO
Processor = Intel Q6600 quad core
memory = 4 GB 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
gpu =
GeForce 8800 GT 512 MB
HDD = 2x320gb 1x1tb 1x2tb

thanks again for all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top