Contribute
Register

Asus N752VX

Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
58
Motherboard
Asus N752VX HM170 / OpenCore
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530 1920 x 1080 / nVidia GeForce GTX 950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i think i may have it :)

try the attached and pop into acpi/patched folder, over write your current one

no need for any more renames in config.plist as they are already present
Screen brightness work yes - F5 and F6

Keyboard brightness doesnt - but its not in the config.plist either - so how could it :D it's f3 and f4 fyi
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
28,516
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Screen brightness work yes - F5 and F6

Keyboard brightness doesnt - but its not in the config.plist either - so how could it :D it's f3 and f4 fyi
strange as the updated .aml attached on the other page should have enabled those buttons pressing fn+f3/f4

as i added in the new bits:

Code:
Method (_Q0C, 0, NotSerialized)  // _Qxx: EC Query
        {
            If (ATKP)
            {
                \_SB.ATKD.IANE (0xC5)
            }
        }

        Method (_Q0D, 0, NotSerialized)  // _Qxx: EC Query
        {
            If (ATKP)
            {
                \_SB.ATKD.IANE (0xC4)
            }
        }

and looking in the config.plist:

Code:
<dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>_Q0C(0,N) to ZQ0C(0,N) FN+f5 Brightness Down</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    X1EwQwA=
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    WlEwQwA=
                    </data>
                </dict>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>_Q0D(0,N) to ZQ0D(0,N) Fn+F6 Brightness Up</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    X1EwRAA=
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    WlEwRAA=
                    </data>
                </dict>

i am already renaming the _Q0C and the _Q0D (ignore the fact that i wrote fn+f6/f6 as that doesn't matter, only the actual find and replace is important)

as this section does the brightness of the screen which is present just underneath:

Code:
<dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>_Q0E(0,N) to ZQ0E(0,N)</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    X1EwRQA=
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    WlEwRQA=
                    </data>
                </dict>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>_Q0F(0,N) to ZQ0F(0,N)</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    X1EwRgA=
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    WlEwRgA=
                    </data>
                </dict>

also you may need to run this as well, forgot about it before, sorry, just run the install_daemon
 

Attachments

  • Archive.zip
    142.5 KB · Views: 28
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
58
Motherboard
Asus N752VX HM170 / OpenCore
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530 1920 x 1080 / nVidia GeForce GTX 950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
strange as the updated .aml attached on the other page should have enabled those buttons pressing fn+f3/f4

as i added in the new bits:

Code:
Method (_Q0C, 0, NotSerialized)  // _Qxx: EC Query
        {
            If (ATKP)
            {
                \_SB.ATKD.IANE (0xC5)
            }
        }

        Method (_Q0D, 0, NotSerialized)  // _Qxx: EC Query
        {
            If (ATKP)
            {
                \_SB.ATKD.IANE (0xC4)
            }
        }

and looking in the config.plist:

Code:
<dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>_Q0C(0,N) to ZQ0C(0,N) FN+f5 Brightness Down</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    X1EwQwA=
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    WlEwQwA=
                    </data>
                </dict>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>_Q0D(0,N) to ZQ0D(0,N) Fn+F6 Brightness Up</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    X1EwRAA=
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    WlEwRAA=
                    </data>
                </dict>

i am already renaming the _Q0C and the _Q0D (ignore the fact that i wrote fn+f6/f6 as that doesn't matter, only the actual find and replace is important)

as this section does the brightness of the screen which is present just underneath:

Code:
<dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>_Q0E(0,N) to ZQ0E(0,N)</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    X1EwRQA=
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    WlEwRQA=
                    </data>
                </dict>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>_Q0F(0,N) to ZQ0F(0,N)</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    X1EwRgA=
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    WlEwRgA=
                    </data>
                </dict>

also you may need to run this as well, forgot about it before, sorry, just run the install_daemon
agreed, config plist and FNKEY.aml have these entries as describe above. maybe it just doesnt work. on windows btw it's working again, so at least the LED's are still alive :D

what about that asus daemon package. what is it for?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
28,516
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
agreed, config plist and FNKEY.aml have these entries as describe above. maybe it just doesnt work. on windows btw it's working again, so at least the LED's are still alive :D

what about that asus daemon package. what is it for?
sleep and airplane keys, possible it may fix the brightness keys

also you may want to check on:

may have some ideas, you could also use a 3rdparty software if needed
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
58
Motherboard
Asus N752VX HM170 / OpenCore
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530 1920 x 1080 / nVidia GeForce GTX 950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
sleep and airplane keys, possible it may fix the brightness keys

also you may want to check on:

may have some ideas, you could also use a 3rdparty software if needed

got it - i'll check this out when i feel confident enough. as for now i had my share of fiddling around with kexts and patches and plists. it's 99.9% perfect now. Only need to switch my wireless and once that's done i am completely happy. don't need my keyboard to shine.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
28,516
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
got it - i'll check this out when i feel confident enough. as for now i had my share of fiddling around with kexts and patches and plists. it's 99.9% perfect now. Only need to switch my wireless and once that's done i am completely happy. don't need my keyboard to shine.
lols! no worries, have also seen this:
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
28,516
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
got it - i'll check this out when i feel confident enough. as for now i had my share of fiddling around with kexts and patches and plists. it's 99.9% perfect now. Only need to switch my wireless and once that's done i am completely happy. don't need my keyboard to shine.
also, just for a laugh, at the clover boot screen and press f2 and f4 (you won't see anything happening) then in macOS, mount your EFI and zip your origin folder and upload here please :)
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
58
Motherboard
Asus N752VX HM170 / OpenCore
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530 1920 x 1080 / nVidia GeForce GTX 950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
also, just for a laugh, at the clover boot screen and press f2 and f4 (you won't see anything happening) then in macOS, mount your EFI and zip your origin folder and upload here please :)
alright will do later today :D i know f4 - what does f2 do? btw, that wireless card is orderd :D one step closer to heaven. haha
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
28,516
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
alright will do later today :D i know f4 - what does f2 do? btw, that wireless card is orderd :D one step closer to heaven. haha
haha!

creates a preboot.log file :)
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
58
Motherboard
Asus N752VX HM170 / OpenCore
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530 1920 x 1080 / nVidia GeForce GTX 950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • origin.zip
    73.2 KB · Views: 34
Top