Contribute
Register

Asus N752VX

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
20,692
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
M

Mmmh ok - I will check the Acpi patches again tomorrow.
maybe try resetting your nvram at the boot picker

when turning on laptop, hold down the alt button until you see the picker menu
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus N752VX HM170 / Clover
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530 1920 x 1080 / nVidia GeForce GTX 950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
maybe try resetting your nvram at the boot picker

when turning on laptop, hold down the alt button until you see the picker menu
All good - my mistake. Some of the patches got lost in translation. Now it works flawlessly - including dual boot and all the Fn keys. Amazing stuff...
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus N752VX HM170 / Clover
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530 1920 x 1080 / nVidia GeForce GTX 950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All good - my mistake. Some of the patches got lost in translation. Now it works flawlessly - including dual boot and all the Fn keys. Amazing stuff..
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus N752VX HM170 / Clover
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530 1920 x 1080 / nVidia GeForce GTX 950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
maybe try resetting your nvram at the boot picker

when turning on laptop, hold down the alt button until you see the picker menu
Successful move to Big Sur.

Starting point:
Dual Boot Windows 10 and Catalina with Cover on Asus Laptop N752.

Actions before update:
-Full back up with CarbonCopyCloner and Time Machine
-Using Dortania guide on Windows to move to OpenCore. Created USB installer with Catalina and reinstalled it and recovered with Time Machine Backup. Only basic Kexts and Patches used
-Finished OpenCore setup on Catalina, added all patches and necessary Kexts. Everything working, FN Keys, Wireless, Bluetooth, screen resolution...
-Amended OpenCore to have a GUI showing Windows and Mac OS system
-Again full backup with Carbon Copy Cloner and Time Machine

Update:
-downloaded Big Sur in System Updates and followed the steps
-System reboots a couple times, complete update required just under one hour. No issues, no freezes

Things working:
-All applications including FaceTime, Messages and Music
-Fn Keys, Screen Brightness, Volume, Airplane, etc
-Wireless, Bluetooth, Bluetooth mouse, trackpad
-Battery status
-Siri
-Dual Boot with Windows 10
-Icloud and Photos synchronisation

Things not working:
-So far only Netflix and Apple TV not working. Maybe related to DRM issues. Didn't look into it yet.
[Edit]: Netflix works when using Chrome browser.

Thanks and can @Feartech for all the guidance and support. Couldn't have done it without you...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Messages
63
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 / GTX 950M
Hi again. I have problem with sleep on OC 064. Big Sur.
Laptop goes to sleep, when I wake it always reset/reboot.
Any idea?
Thanks
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
20,692
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi again. I have problem with sleep on OC 064. Big Sur.
Laptop goes to sleep, when I wake it always reset/reboot.
Any idea?
Thanks
my latest bios fixed that
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Messages
63
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 / GTX 950M
yes I have this one, same date... 24 sep
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
20,692
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yes I have this one, same date... 24 sep
make sure to have plenty of battery

unplug power

reboot machine, clear nvram

at desktop, reboot

at desktop shut down

restart

at desktop, wait a few minutes and press apple -> sleep

let sleep for a few minutes and press a key to wake up machine

make sure to disable trusted computing in bios
 
Top