Asus Maximus VII Impact - slow boot HID: Legacy shim 2

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by gulios, Sep 3, 2017.

  1. gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 3, 2017 at 4:35 PM #1
    gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi,

    OS: 10.13 Beta (17A360a)
    SMBIOS: iMac17,1
    Board: Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
    GPU: Intel HD Graphics 4600 + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2 GB

    I've upgraded 10.12.6 to latest High Sierra beta on my desktop hack.
    Everything works fine except one thing.
    While booting it hangs for a while on

    Code (Text):

    HID: Legacy shim2
     
    so booting time is very long.
    System works great and all devices are recognisable(wifi+bt+audio+cpu+gpu+ssd etc)

    Tried to find something on other threads without success(most of them are about installation problems).
    How can i fix it ?

    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 17.22.37.png  (95.2 KB, 67 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 17.22.28.png  (61.3 KB, 56 views)
    • shim2.jpg  (3.3 MB, 66 views)
    • AsusMaximus.zip   (9.6 MB, 10 views)
  2. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 4, 2017 at 10:21 PM #2
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    iMac14,2 is appropriate choice for motherboard/processor.
     
  3. gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 5, 2017 at 5:55 PM #3
    gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    on iMac14,2 same problem.
    Before upgrade to 10.13 i had iMac14,2 but i thought that iMac17,1 is closer to that CPU...
    anyway it didn't change anything still had slow boot because of HID: Legacy shim2
     
  4. gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 5, 2017 at 6:18 PM #4
    gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I found via MacTracker app that iMac15,1 had i7-4790K so i changed SMBIOS to it.
    Still have a problem with HID: Legacy shim2...
     

    Attached Files:

    • MacTracker.png  (355 KB, 52 views)
  5. gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 15, 2017 at 9:24 AM #5
    gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    ok, i don;t know why and how ;) but after fresh installation of latest beta there is no problem with booting.
    Boot time takes around ~10 sec from apple logo to login screen.

    but after migrate account from backup same issue ;(



    Thx
     
    xelanaiznac likes this.
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
  6. xelanaiznac

    xelanaiznac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    Asus maximus IX hero
    CPU:
    i7 7700k @5ghz
    Graphics:
    vega 64 liquid + inteligpu
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 10:14 PM #6
    xelanaiznac

    xelanaiznac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    Asus maximus IX hero
    CPU:
    i7 7700k @5ghz
    Graphics:
    vega 64 liquid + inteligpu
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    hi @gulios any news?
    same issue. fresh install of official 10.13
     
  7. gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 4:06 PM #7
    gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    nothing changed :( still can't find solution
     
  8. Midoo

    Midoo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    Supermicro X10DAI
    CPU:
    Dual 14 core Xeon E5-2690v4 CPUs
    Graphics:
    Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 1, 2017 at 6:06 PM #8
    Midoo

    Midoo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    Supermicro X10DAI
    CPU:
    Dual 14 core Xeon E5-2690v4 CPUs
    Graphics:
    Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Having the same problem but no solution for me also, it sucks.
     
  9. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,928
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 6:09 PM #9
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,928
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Most likely caused by TRIM & APFS. Have you migrated to APFS? Better to use HFS+ on a hack.
     
  10. gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 6:46 PM #10
    gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    yes, i've migrated to APFS
    Why it's better to use HFS+ on hack?
    Can you give some URL with details about it?

    Thx
     

Share This Page