ASUS K53E Laptop Sandy Bridge Lion 10.7 Hackintosh

Discussion in 'Lion Laptop Support' started by jazzbeatles, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. helios747

    helios747

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Dec 23, 2011 at 6:59 PM #31
    helios747

    helios747

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    WOW, that's fantastic!

    Alright, I'm convinced. I'm going to take the plunge. If I get this working I will do what I can to help improve SL/Lion on the K53E. :)
     
  2. notation84

    notation84

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    Asus Q501LA
    CPU:
    i5-4200u Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 1920x1080
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 24, 2011 at 12:02 AM #32
    notation84

    notation84

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    Asus Q501LA
    CPU:
    i5-4200u Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 1920x1080
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @Mirec32 - That's Awesome!!! :thumbup: :headbang:

    Please post what you installed (kexts, dsdt if any) to get it all working. It'll save us all some time :)
     
  3. Mirec32

    Mirec32

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Lion
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Dec 24, 2011 at 3:28 PM #33
    Mirec32

    Mirec32

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Lion
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    ok, well I do not know English, using Google Translator.
    It took me two months, an attempt - a mistake.
    Now working wifi, lan, graphics, sound + microphone, touchpad, keyboard, USB, battery, sleep, restart and shut down. The camera works iGlasses app 3.0.2.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. notation84

    notation84

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    Asus Q501LA
    CPU:
    i5-4200u Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 1920x1080
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 24, 2011 at 7:36 PM #34
    notation84

    notation84

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    Asus Q501LA
    CPU:
    i5-4200u Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 1920x1080
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @Mirec32 - Thank you friend! I'll be installing soon... :clap: :thumbup:

    @kajmol - Is there a "1080p" resolution? It took me a week before I realized it's described as 1080p instead of 1920x1080 in display settings. If there isn't that, then I don't know what to tell you. :(
     
  5. helios747

    helios747

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Dec 26, 2011 at 3:31 AM #35
    helios747

    helios747

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hi,

    So I have Lion running, I've loaded up MultiBeast to actually get the laptop usable.

    As outlined in Step 4 here: http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2011/10/ ... using.html , I should use the User DSDT install option.

    However, in the database, I couldn't find one for the K53E laptop. Does somebody have a DSDT for the K53E?

    For now I'm going to try EasyInstall + a few of the custom tweaks MultiBeast has listed and follow the directions in the first few posts of the thread.
     
  6. helios747

    helios747

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Dec 26, 2011 at 4:23 AM #36
    helios747

    helios747

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Update: Multibeast works well. I have the SB GPU working, USB works.

    Trackpad does NOT work. I don't know how to fix this. The trackpad enabler thing in Multibeast did nothing. Help!

    Also, trying to install The VoodooHDA from Multibeast results in a KP on startup. Reformatting and reinstalling fixed this, but needless to say sound still doesn't work. Help again!

    Going to work on the wifi.
     
  7. notation84

    notation84

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    Asus Q501LA
    CPU:
    i5-4200u Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 1920x1080
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 28, 2011 at 9:48 PM #37
    notation84

    notation84

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    Asus Q501LA
    CPU:
    i5-4200u Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 1920x1080
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    edit: double post, deleted
     
  8. notation84

    notation84

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    Asus Q501LA
    CPU:
    i5-4200u Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 1920x1080
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 28, 2011 at 9:49 PM #38
    notation84

    notation84

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    Asus Q501LA
    CPU:
    i5-4200u Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 1920x1080
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It wasn't easy, but it wasn't all that hard either.
    Computer: ASUS K53E-BD4DT, i5-2430m, HD 3000, 4GB RAM
    BIOS: K53E.214 (NO DSDTs)

    Day1
    -Computer OOB had 2 Partitions, 1 Primary, 1 Data,Logical... almost exactly the right proportion I wanted. Deleted the logical partition, left it unallocated for Lion.
    -usb stick not recognizing! restart computer 5 times until it does...
    -Installed with Unibeast and MBR patch on the other partition all on a trusty USB stick.
    -After install, ran update + multi beast, restart. Infinite hang up... no KP, no Screen.
    -Found out about how amazing 'rBoot 1.0.1 LE' is, let me boot with USB and keyboard. Finally I'm in.
    -Began installing kexts. Kernel Panics everywhere. Tired. Bedtime.

    Day2
    -Finding better kexts, removing conflicting kexts. No more Kernel Panics.
    -VoodooBattery works. Impressed. True Portability!
    -Trackpad works as mouse; not recognized as a trackpad (no multitouch, maybe annoying sensitivity). But, no more USB Mouse necessary!
    -Took rBoot's similar strings and replaced with the boot.plist and smbios.plist from the Preboot.dmg. Finally independent from CD Boot, and yes, 64-Bit!!

    Day3
    -After several VoodooHDA and KPs, This one gets sound, but crackles badly. Still need to get working.
    -Getting more kexts: Ethernet, wifi... Can contact people from the outside world at my fingertips.


    This was a EASYBEAST install, no DSDTs (yet).

    I'm not going to go though everything I got working, but I'm gonna say what Partially and totally doesn't work.

    Partially Working:
    -Audio - Sound crackles, Mic Feedback.
    -WIFI - G routers work, N routers don't... no internet. Anyone got any ideas?
    -Trackpad - no multitouch, recognized as mouse in preferences, not trackpad.
    -Webcam - Recognized, but not functioning in Photobooth.
    -USB - fails half of the time on booting up. Kinda a bummer.

    Not Working:
    -Speedstep - ? Don't know where to begin.
    -Sleep/Resume - Same with this one.

    Not tried yet:
    -HDMI Audio - Video works like a charm, but haven't tested sound (voodooHDA!!!)
    -VGA - I'll try it later.

    Overall, I'm impressed with how much is working in only 3 days. With what works, it totally works as a mainly functioning mac laptop. The things that don't work can be worked around. I'm typing this to you guys at my buddy's house on his wifi, away from my AC plug and 4 hours battery. Sounds pretty sweet to me... I hope I can make more progress to help you guys out over the next couple weeks.

    Here are some kexts that helped me out that didn't screw up my comp more or caused KPs. Hope at least something helps!
     

    Attached Files:

  9. teemo10

    teemo10

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Mobo:
    iMac11,1
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2.80 GHz
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Dec 31, 2011 at 9:16 PM #39
    teemo10

    teemo10

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Mobo:
    iMac11,1
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2.80 GHz
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
  10. crazyass00

    crazyass00

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Dec 31, 2011 at 11:44 PM #40
    crazyass00

    crazyass00

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1

    I wanted to buy the same laptop to install Lion.
    given that i am a noob i am wondering if you could post some step by step instruction to help us as to what u did and how. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page