Contribute
Register

ASUS Hyper M.2 X16 Card V2

Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
461
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @mgregrs , I try to install Hyper x16 in slot pcie 16-4. In pcie 16-3 it works perfectly, but in slot 4 only 2 units of the 4 appear. At first I thought the pcie lanes were finished, but I only have the graphics and the Hyper x16. It also happened to you? Is there any possibility to install this card in this slot? Thanks in advance for your valuable work!
Hi @WoodCabin
Of course you can install this card in other slot, but it changes placement in IOReg - thats why when you change slot we have to adapt *.aml file :)
So put this card where you want and then after reboot, send me your IOReg file, after that
I will check it and show you how it should be correctly changed in *.aml ssdt file ;)
PS: Please confirm if you still use Catalina ;)
(because on Mojave it's a little different story)
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
89
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3105
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @WoodCabin
Of course you can install this card in other slot, but it changes placement in IOReg - thats why when you change slot we have to adapt *.aml file :)
So put this card where you want and then after reboot, send me your IOReg file, after that
I will check it and show you how it should be correctly changed in *.aml ssdt file ;)
PS: Please confirm if you still use Catalina ;)
(because on Mojave it's a little different story)

I think I explained myself wrong, the translator's thing, my fault ... The problem is not the .aml. In this case, I am not worried about the cosmetic, I am worried that in Slot 4 the finder shows the four units of M.2, but in slot 6 it only shows two units of M.2, it is, as if the last slot pCIe only work at 8x, when I can send you IOReg with the graphics card in Slot 1 and Asus Hyper in Slot 6, thanks for your patience
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
461
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think I explained myself wrong, the translator's thing, my fault ... The problem is not the .aml. In this case, I am not worried about the cosmetic, I am worried that in Slot 4 the finder shows the four units of M.2, but in slot 6 it only shows two units of M.2, it is, as if the last slot pCIe only work at 8x, when I can send you IOReg with the graphics card in Slot 1 and Asus Hyper in Slot 6, thanks for your patience
You are 1st person which I know with 4 great NVME ssd inside, so as at this moment I can't do more tests alone, I'm very curious and happy if we can watch what's happen in your case :) BTW: As you know already *.when we change slot we have to change a little .aml file, but it's cosmetic so... but you know that already.. Now, of course IOReg is a perfect base to see what is going on, why it's like that ... then we will see what we can do ;)
BTW: First thing - Did you changed slot in BIOS options (in Advanced -> CPU Storage Configuration)- ? :)
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
89
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3105
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My disk layout is as follows:

M1: High Sierra Boot
M2: Mojave Boot
Sata1: Windows Boot SSD
Sata2: Roomplers Kontakt SSD
Sata5: Internal BluRay Recorder
Asus Disk 1: Catalina Boot
Asus Disk 2: Origin
Asus Disk 3: Cache
Asus Disk 4: Projects
I think the problem is in the Bios, when I move the Asus card to PCIEX16-4 I don't have access to boot from Catalina, I only have access to boot from M1 and M2 !!
I send you IOReg from Mojave, since Catalina I have not been able to boot, I only have the graphics card in PCIEX16_1 and the Asus in PCIEX16_4 in PCI slots. In the Bios, the asus is configured (Advanced -> CPU Storage Configuration) in the PCIEX16_4 Slot (16x data)
I also send you the configuration of the bios, greetings.
 

Attachments

  • IOReg Mojave.ioreg
    7.8 MB · Views: 36
  • Bios_setting.txt
    25.6 KB · Views: 107
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,010
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I adapted correctly TB3 ssdt after slot changement.
 

Attachments

  • LoloIOReg_2.zip
    1.2 MB · Views: 39
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
461
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@WoodCabin and @Loloflatsix bad news for both as all others interested ...
Last slot, unfortunately will give us MAX 2x SSD drives avalible :|
I tried to find something else on ASUS site, card documents etc etc ...
So you/we can put TB3 in different slot, but ASUS HyperX card can't be used in last slot if you have more than 2 NVME SSDs.
@Loloflatsix As long, as you have only 1 or 2 nvme drives you can keep card in last slot,
but later if you buy more ssds you will have to change it to slot PCIEX16_3 (PCIEX16_2 is busy by your second Vega56, so you "unfortunately" don't have a big choice)
You are on Mojave or Catalina? because I completely forgot with all phonecalls and tons of files opened :p
Please confirm which OSX you use now and which slot you prefer to use now, then I will send you ssdt
with more detials :)

@WoodCabin you can choose PCIEX16_2 or PCIEX16_3 - in both you will have full functionality and performance of your 4xNVME drives
Sorry but this moment with our motherboards and configurations we can't do nothing more than that.

I have a one little Idea which I have to check, but it's sooo little chance,... of course I will let you know
if I have some news... ;)
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
89
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3105
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello again, I imagined that it would be like that, throughout the history of my x299 I have never been able to operate the asus in the PCIEX16_4 slot with the four m2, when I have seen that the bios did not accept them I thought the worst and now that you You have confirmed, I will have to resign myself. I wanted to put the Asus card in PCIEx16_4 because otherwise I have problems with THUNDERBOLT. I have a Sapphire Nitro + Vega 64 that occupies the PCIEX16_1 slot but disables the next two slots (pci_1 and pciex16_2) then I have the Asus Hyper in the PCIEX16_3 slot and the thunderbolt ex3 in the PCIEX16_4 slot. So far so good, but when I install the pci airport card in the pci_2 slot, the thunderbolt disappears, I look for it in IOReg and it does not appear, it is a super-foreign thing, I have made the lane count and I think I have enough: Graph-16x, Asus-16x, Thunderbolt 4x, Airport 1x. Maybe the M1 and M2 slots will interfere and subtract the lanes of the Thunderbolt card? I will try to remove the M1 and M2 disks to test.
Thank you and sorry for the inconvenience, thank you very much for your time
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
461
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello again, I imagined that it would be like that, throughout the history of my x299 I have never been able to operate the asus in the PCIEX16_4 slot with the four m2, when I have seen that the bios did not accept them I thought the worst and now that you You have confirmed, I will have to resign myself. I wanted to put the Asus card in PCIEx16_4 because otherwise I have problems with THUNDERBOLT. I have a Sapphire Nitro + Vega 64 that occupies the PCIEX16_1 slot but disables the next two slots (pci_1 and pciex16_2) then I have the Asus Hyper in the PCIEX16_3 slot and the thunderbolt ex3 in the PCIEX16_4 slot. So far so good, but when I install the pci airport card in the pci_2 slot, the thunderbolt disappears, I look for it in IOReg and it does not appear, it is a super-foreign thing, I have made the lane count and I think I have enough: Graph-16x, Asus-16x, Thunderbolt 4x, Airport 1x. Maybe the M1 and M2 slots will interfere and subtract the lanes of the Thunderbolt card? I will try to remove the M1 and M2 disks to test.
Thank you and sorry for the inconvenience, thank you very much for your time
So everything is OK until you forget to modify your WIFI arpt or TB3 .aml and others (if needed) after slot changement :D
Problems with Thunderbolt can be caused by crossing 2 or more aml patches together with the same path...

The best way to fix it - in my opinion is:

1- Delete (for few minutes) both TB3 ssdt and ARPT(Wifi/BT ssdt) *.aml
2- turn off PC - do every config you want (of course without AsusHyper card in last slot) :p
3- turn on PC - now you have clean IOReg to make a next step :)
4- Open IOReg - ARPT or TB3 . aml files and compare all data
to see what is changed - and what we need edit to updates ssdt files correctly...

I you want, after 3rd step you can send me your IOreg and card slots placements - and we can fix it together ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
89
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3105
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Solved! :idea:

I already tried to implement the .aml one by one, restarting every time, in "PCI" everything shows fine, when I insert the Wifi-Bluetooth card, the thunderbolr disappears, it doesn't matter if I have the .aml in patched, if I don't have it, If it is configured or not, it is very strange but I have solved it. I have removed my Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64 and changed it to my old Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon 580, the latter is less thick and allows me to use the PCIEX16_2 slot, then:

PCIEX16_1 - Sapphire Nitro + Radeon 580
PCIEX16_2 - WiFi / Bluetooth card
PCIEX16_3 - Asus Hyper x16 V2 (4x M.2)
PCIEX16_4 - Asus Thunderbolt EX3

Everything is working perfectly :lol: , just by changing the Wi-Fi card from Slot pci_2 to PCIEX16_2, correcting the .aml and it will work! :crazy:
Something happens to me with the slot pci_2, I do not know if it will be general or it is something of my motherboard, but the good thing is that I have it solved, the bad thing that I have degraded from the graphics card, I will have to sell both and go for Radeon VII... :mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2019-10-20 a las 20.40.20.png
    Captura de pantalla 2019-10-20 a las 20.40.20.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 55
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,010
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok so unfortunately it would be an issue with PCIE lanes number or PCIE configuration on Asus X299 Deluxe.
For my config with two GPUs VEGA it is not easy to achieve the full usage for Asus Hyper x16 V2 (4x M.2)

I can’t post normaly tonight due to power outages with the storm so to be continued tomorow
 
Last edited:
Top