Contribute
Register

ASUS Geforce GT 730 2GB - Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 3847
CPU
i5-4460
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Hi folks,

Been doing a lot of searchinf/reading but slightly confused and going round in circles. I am running El Cap but plan on going to Sierra, so I purchased the GT 730 (wondering now if that was a bad idea). Firstly, I had to disable Nvidia in Clover boot settings for my machine to boot up but I have the following issues:-
1. Only one monitor works at a time (either the DVI or the VGA) but I cannot get both to work simutaneously, which I really would like to.
2. In System info the Video Ram is showing as 0mb
3. The screen flickers when I'm in a web browser

Any ideas how I resolve these issues ?

Many thanks

TK
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,978
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
1. Only one monitor works at a time (either the DVI or the VGA) but I cannot get both to work simutaneously, which I really would like to.
Apple have not used VGA in their products for more than ten years so unsurprisingly they do not include support for it in their operating system(s).

2. In System info the Video Ram is showing as 0mb
0MB VRAM usually means that Inject Nvidia is enabled when it should be disabled.

3. The screen flickers when I'm in a web browser
Expected behaviour with incorrectly configured graphics.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 3847
CPU
i5-4460
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Hi P1lgrim,

Thanks for the very fast reply. What I cannot understand about the VGS situation, is that it works but only if I don't plug in the DVI connector. It looks like the problem is that my graphics are incorrectly configured, as you have mentioned. What I need to do, is to understand what settings I need. For example, there is mention of new Nvidia settings, I wonder if I should use those ? or if where I can find the right Kext files. If I get no joy I might have to get another GT740, as my VGA lead is on a KVM with other devices, so is very handy.

I know I should probably invest in another DVI or HDMI monitor and get a HDMI KVM but the frustration is that I had it working on this OS

Many thanks again

TK :)
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 3847
CPU
i5-4460
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
ok, removed the Inject Nvidia option and it now says I have 5MB of VRAM (see below)

Can you suggest any other ideas to try ?

Cheers

TK

NVIDIA Chip Model:

Chipset Model: NVIDIA Chip Model
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x8
VRAM (Total): 5 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x1287
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: preset 1.0.0
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1280 x 1024
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,978
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok, removed the Inject Nvidia option and it now says I have 5MB of VRAM (see below)

Can you suggest any other ideas to try ?

Make sure that you are not injecting Intel either and no ig-platform-id.
Ensure that integrated graphics are disabled in your BIOS settings - Set PEG as primary.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 3847
CPU
i5-4460
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
ok - thanks
Inject Nvidia definitely removed (in Clover)
ig-platform-id is blank/greyed out (in Clover)
Integrated Graphics was on, so now off (in BIOS)
Don't think I have the option to set PEG as primary (in BIOS)

Still same symptoms

BTW - Clover has "use Nvidia Web Drivers" ticked but greyed out

Cheers
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,978
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok - thanks
Inject Nvidia definitely removed (in Clover)
ig-platform-id is blank/greyed out (in Clover)
Integrated Graphics was on, so now off (in BIOS)
Don't think I have the option to set PEG as primary (in BIOS)

Still same symptoms

BTW - Clover has "use Nvidia Web Drivers" ticked but greyed out

Cheers
Attach your config.plist
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 3847
CPU
i5-4460
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Thank you very much, for taking the time to look into this :)
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    3.9 KB · Views: 279

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,978
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you very much, for taking the time to look into this :)
In your config.plist you have nv_disable=1, the Nvidia drivers cannot work if you disable them.
You should also disable SIP - CsrActiveConfig = 0x67 not 0x3.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 3847
CPU
i5-4460
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Thanks but the reason I have the disable option on, is because it's the only way my systems starts.
So damned if I do and ...

Here's the last lot of messages in verbose mode before it crashes/re-boots on startup with the disable switched off.

Cheers

TK
 

Attachments

  • Boot Error.PNG
    Boot Error.PNG
    1.3 MB · Views: 170
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top