Contribute
Register

ASUS G751JT Losing Laptop Screen on HDMI Connection

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ASUS G751JT (Bios Revision 207) (CLOVER)
CPU
CPU : i7-4710HQ@ 2.50GHz / HM87
Graphics
GM204M [GeForce GTX 970M], Default Laptop Resolution : 1920x1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello Everyone,

Looking forward to taking a bit more a active role in this community. I've stalked you guys for awhile, mainly hackintoshing various desktops over the years. About me , I'm a software engineer (mainly java, c, c++ , various web frontend languages and python. ) and embarrassingly I am beyond stuck with this issue. I have attempted just about every sane thing I could to fix this issue but cant seem to figure it out on my own.

THE ISSUE : Whenever I boot with HDMI plugged in, I make it to the login screen on the HDMI screen, but the laptop screen remains black.
Whenever i boot without HDMI plugged in, everything is fine until I plug in HDMI at that point it freezes the laptop screen and everything works perfectly on the external screen. (The laptop screen picture will stay exactly where it was when HDMI was plugged in.)
If i unplug after connecting HDMI there is no difference it just remains frozen, but oddly enough if i reconnect HDMI again the external screen will start working again.

WHAT I HAVE DONE TO DATE :
Complete Install of El Capitan 10.11.5
------This worked with just me adding nv_disable=1 and the other normal boot flags, after install was complete I installed the newest version of the Nvidia Web Drivers.
On reboot I had full graphics acceleration and only had to add the nv_driver=1 (i don't remember this exact command ? format escaping me) to get it.
After I had decent screen quality I proceeded to patch my DSDT and SSDT.
Patched DSDT from Clover F4 dump.