Contribute
Register

Asus G750JM Graphics Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 5, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus ROG G750JM
CPU
i7-4700HQ / HM87
Graphics
GTX 860M + HD4600, 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Rehabman,

I made progress with the open tasks but I don't get a way to get the ALC282 working. In my first try (see this thread) I had success but now it simply doesn't work. macOS doesn't see the ALC282 and I didn't fully understand the problem.
I'm using AppleALC. IOReg shows:

HDAU@3: layout-id=<07 00 00 00>
HDEF@1B: layout-id=<07 00 00 00>

In config.plist I made the following entry (with different values, e.g. 3 and 7 and as a last try "detect").

<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<integer>7</integer>
</dict>
</dict>

Additionally I added to the boot string "alcid=3" (now disabled because otherwise the apple symbol remains forever on the screen, ssh works).
I used the Audio Layout 3 patch but again - it was not possible to login anymore. Therefore I removed the _DSM method.

Of course I made something wrong (beginning with a lack of understanding). Could you please give me a hint how to fix this?

Regards
Michael
 

Attachments

  • debug_4327.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 47
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
Haswell-MB
CPU
i7 4700HQ
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 765M
I have G750JW with a working config.plist for alc282. give me a bit and ill upload. what gpu's are in there?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Rehabman,

I made progress with the open tasks but I don't get a way to get the ALC282 working. In my first try (see this thread) I had success but now it simply doesn't work. macOS doesn't see the ALC282 and I didn't fully understand the problem.
I'm using AppleALC. IOReg shows:

HDAU@3: layout-id=<07 00 00 00>
HDEF@1B: layout-id=<07 00 00 00>

In config.plist I made the following entry (with different values, e.g. 3 and 7 and as a last try "detect").

<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<integer>7</integer>
</dict>
</dict>

Additionally I added to the boot string "alcid=3" (now disabled because otherwise the apple symbol remains forever on the screen, ssh works).
I used the Audio Layout 3 patch but again - it was not possible to login anymore. Therefore I removed the _DSM method.

Of course I made something wrong (beginning with a lack of understanding). Could you please give me a hint how to fix this?

Regards
Michael

Look at your config.plist/Devices/Properties content... you have layout-id commented as #layout-id.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
Haswell-MB
CPU
i7 4700HQ
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 765M
Look over this plist. It works on my machine. I haven't looked at you files, but check your DSDT patching too.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    7 KB · Views: 131
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus ROG G750JM
CPU
i7-4700HQ / HM87
Graphics
GTX 860M + HD4600, 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The #layout-Id was intended to make it inactive. I try to find the right id with “-alcid=id” in the boot options.
The ids 3 and 7 ended with the apple logo, no graphical login possible but ssh from my iPad.
Again - in IOReg the layout-is of HDEF and HDAU are both <07 00 00 00>. I would expect this (7) as the right parameter for alcid, but there is a problem.

What’s the logical way to solve this problem? Trying every possible alcid?

From AppleALC Wiki:
Realtek ALC282 0x100003, layout 3, 4, 13, 27, 28, 29, 76, 86, 127 12 (10.8) —

Regards
Michael
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The #layout-Id was intended to make it inactive. I try to find the right id with “-alcid=id” in the boot options.
The ids 3 and 7 ended with the apple logo, no graphical login possible but ssh from my iPad.
Again - in IOReg the layout-is of HDEF and HDAU are both <07 00 00 00>. I would expect this (7) as the right parameter for alcid, but there is a problem.

What’s the logical way to solve this problem? Trying every possible alcid?

From AppleALC Wiki:
Realtek ALC282 0x100003, layout 3, 4, 13, 27, 28, 29, 76, 86, 127 12 (10.8) —

Regards
Michael

"-alcid" is not a valid kernel flag for AppleALC. Perhaps you meant to use the correct flag "alcid"?

Must read documentation carefully, or at least become familiar with conventions. With kernel flags, boolean "switch" kernel flags generally use a dash prefix. But kernel flags that "have a value" do not use a dash prefix.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus ROG G750JM
CPU
i7-4700HQ / HM87
Graphics
GTX 860M + HD4600, 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have G750JW with a working config.plist for alc282. give me a bit and ill upload. what gpu's are in there?

GPUs: GTX 860M (Optimus, therefore not usable) + HD 4600
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus ROG G750JM
CPU
i7-4700HQ / HM87
Graphics
GTX 860M + HD4600, 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
"-alcid" is not a valid kernel flag for AppleALC. Perhaps you meant to use the correct flag "alcid"?

Must read documentation carefully, or at least become familiar with conventions. With kernel flags, boolean "switch" kernel flags generally use a dash prefix. But kernel flags that "have a value" do not use a dash prefix.

You are right - it was a typo in the reply. I used alcid=7 without prefix.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You are right - it was a typo in the reply. I used alcid=7 without prefix.

That is a valid way to test various layout-id values easily from within Clover options.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus ROG G750JM
CPU
i7-4700HQ / HM87
Graphics
GTX 860M + HD4600, 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah - it is much less work to test the values but it never boots until the graphical login. fsck is my friend ... :-/

IOReg of HDAU and HDEF without alcid in boot string and DCPIManager
Does this help?
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-24 um 22.20.18.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-24 um 22.20.18.png
    310.3 KB · Views: 56
  • Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-24 um 22.20.08.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-24 um 22.20.08.png
    312.9 KB · Views: 72
  • Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-24 um 22.26.24.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-24 um 22.26.24.png
    187.8 KB · Views: 65
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top