Contribute
Register

ASRock Rack EP2C602 Install Guide for Sierra and High Sierra

Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
113
Motherboard
ASRock EP2C602-4L/D16
CPU
E5-2603 v2
Graphics
HD 5770
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asrock EP2C602-4L/D16
CPU
2X E5-2690 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
Android
@SULFI and @pinerix Why did you choose E5-2690 v2 CPU? You could choose better CPU option.
E5 2690v2 is affordable for me. And with a dual cpu setups i can do a lot of rendering pretty faster.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asrock EP2C602-4L/D16
CPU
2X E5-2690 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asrock EP2C602-4L/D16
CPU
2X E5-2690 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
Android
Totally understand. Often just need a second set of eyes. Glad it is working!
Hi my e5 2690v2 shows Maximum clock speed as 3.29 ghz in turbo. it supposed to be 3 ghz in normal and 3.6 ghz in turbo
Any advice?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
112
Motherboard
ASRock EP2C602
CPU
2 x E5-2680 v2
Graphics
EVGA 980 Classified
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi my e5 2690v2 shows Maximum clock speed as 3.29 ghz in turbo. it supposed to be 3 ghz in normal and 3.6 ghz in turbo
Any advice?
You are mistaken. The turbo frequency is based on the number of cores in use. 3.6ghz is only available if a single core is in use. The max frequency when four or more cores is used is 3.3ghz, which is what you are seeing.

See here http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Xeon/Intel-Xeon E5-2690 v2.html
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asrock EP2C602-4L/D16
CPU
2X E5-2690 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
Android
You are mistaken. The turbo frequency is based on the number of cores in use. 3.6ghz is only available if a single core is in use. The max frequency when four or more cores is used is 3.3ghz, which is what you are seeing.

See here http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Xeon/Intel-Xeon E5-2690 v2.html
thanks for the info
btw is there any patch for usb3 pci card
my usb 3 is working but when ever I added the pci card mu hack never shutdown
it just restarts
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
112
Motherboard
ASRock EP2C602
CPU
2 x E5-2680 v2
Graphics
EVGA 980 Classified
Mobile Phone
iOS
thanks for the info
btw is there any patch for usb3 pci card
my usb 3 is working but when ever I added the pci card mu hack never shutdown
it just restarts
I would search or start a thread dedicated to that. This thread is for completing a successful build with the EP2C602 motherboard. Accessories and other add-on issues are best adddessed in other places.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97-HD3 Rev 2.1
CPU
3.3 GHz Intel Core i7-5775C
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2047 MB
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks a lot @teamawesome for sharing this guide.
I have very similar setup:
  • EP2C602 motherboard
  • 2x E5-2667 V2
  • DDR3 1600 64GB ECC
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
I have followed all the steps, including flashing BIOS. I see following error(s):

---->8 snip 8<----
"thread invoke: preemption_level 2, possible cause: blocking while holding a spinlock, or within interrupt context"@BuildRoot/Library/..." "Should have -1622885568 Threads, but only found -1623286096 for Die -1609386496"...

--->8 snip 8<---

BSD process name corresponding to current thread: unknown
Attempting system restart...MACH Reboot
"Should have 24615792 Threads, but only found -1626427648 for Die 1 "@/BuildRoot/Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/xnu/xnu4570.62/osfmk/i386/cpu_threads.c:1099

--->8 snip 8<---

"thread already waiting on 0xffffff..." ... "Should have 32 threads, but only found 32 for Die 31502464"...

Lots of text just flies by at boot so it's difficult to read.
If it helps I have also posted the video here: https://1drv.ms/v/s!Astf8cG5q9cJgcMUI4qg1ePofW56Xw

Any help is appreciated.
 

Top