Contribute
Register

Apple's Policy on Apple File System (APFS) for High Sierra

Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,014
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, reporting back, the restore did not work, and that process was exactly the same as the one I used on my X99 board successfully. It seems as if this Z370 board can't handle APFS drives at all. I'm stumped....for now....

EDIT: I should add that I can convert a regular spinning rotational hard drive to APFS, but I cannot convert any flash based drive to APFS - a 128GB USB drive, a SATA 2.5" SSD, or a M.2 NVMe drive. It just won't do any of them..

What is bizarre about this is that back at 10.13.1 or 10.13.2, I had this system running on APFS, and took it back to HFS+ because I was NTFS for Mac on it with a Windows drive and NTFS for Mac does not support APFS drives (yet).
Weird, no problems here with apfs on the same board. No doubt you have all of the BIOS setting teed up. Is it possible that the board is defective?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
692
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9 7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
So, reporting back, the restore did not work, and that process was exactly the same as the one I used on my X99 board successfully. It seems as if this Z370 board can't handle APFS drives at all. I'm stumped....for now....

EDIT: I should add that I can convert a regular spinning rotational hard drive to APFS, but I cannot convert any flash based drive to APFS - a 128GB USB drive, a SATA 2.5" SSD, or a M.2 NVMe drive. It just won't do any of them..

What is bizarre about this is that back at 10.13.1 or 10.13.2, I had this system running on APFS, and took it back to HFS+ because I was NTFS for Mac on it with a Windows drive and NTFS for Mac does not support APFS drives (yet).
And here's the latest:

I am now able to boot an APFS volume (on 10.13.6) with the original files backed up (from the HFS+ volume) and restored to the new volume. However, Clover Configurator can't see it, and disk utility reports the following (see below - size errors). I always thought Disk Utility's "First Aid" was useless and now I'm sure, because First Aid reports no issues with the Volume.....any of the volumes and I can't see the EFI partition no matter what I do. I have to remove the Micron SSD and load it on my X99 to edit the EFI (which, on the X99 is easy to see and access), and there, on the X99 (which is now APFS) it reports no sizing error in disk utility.

@elfcake: Yes, I'm beginning to believe there is something wrong with the hardware, because two months ago I attempted an install of Windows 10 on this hardware (for dual boot purposes) using a Crucial MX300 and it would not work, no matter what I did. I discounted it because a different SSD worked fine. But now I'm not so sure. Still, it's strange that APFS itself creates the problem, and HFS+ seems fine.
On the Z370 (10.13.6 - APFS):
Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 1.45.14 PM.png
On the X99 (10.13.5 - APFS):
Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 2.07.10 PM.png
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,014
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
And here's the latest:

I am now able to boot an APFS volume (on 10.13.6) with the original files backed up (from the HFS+ volume) and restored to the new volume. However, Clover Configurator can't see it, and disk utility reports the following (see below - size errors). I always thought Disk Utility's "First Aid" was useless and now I'm sure, because First Aid reports no issues with the Volume.....any of the volumes and I can't see the EFI partition no matter what I do. I have to remove the Micron SSD and load it on my X99 to edit the EFI (which, on the X99 is easy to see and access), and there, on the X99 (which is now APFS) it reports no sizing error in disk utility.

@elfcake: Yes, I'm beginning to believe there is something wrong with the hardware, because two months ago I attempted an install of Windows 10 on this hardware (for dual boot purposes) using a Crucial MX300 and it would not work, no matter what I did. I discounted it because a different SSD worked fine. But now I'm not so sure. Still, it's strange that APFS itself creates the problem, and HFS+ seems fine.
On the Z370 (10.13.6 - APFS):
View attachment 341549
On the X99 (10.13.5 - APFS):
View attachment 341553
I had some problems with the board with the Windows USB and the 10.13.x USB when I first powered up, I think the board would not see either of the USB's or the 2.5" SSD. I called Gigabyte, they walked me through the problems and their advice was successful in getting me up and running. I still hate windows but that's off topic ;). You might want to call them?

BTW, that is some weird stuff you've attached. I wish I had a few more brain cells left that I burned up from the '60's (also of topic) Maybe I will create a new Forum topic for "Hackintosh Geezers in Trouble"?

I agree that Disk Utility is pretty useless at this point.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
692
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9 7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
I had some problems with the board with the Windows USB and the 10.13.x USB when I first powered up, I think the board would not see either of the USB's or the 2.5" SSD. I called Gigabyte, they walked me through the problems and their advice was successful in getting me up and running. I still hate windows but that's off topic ;). You might want to call them?

BTW, that is some weird stuff you've attached. I wish I had a few more brain cells left that I burned up from the '60's (also of topic) Maybe I will create a new Forum topic for "Hackintosh Geezers in Trouble"?

I agree that Disk Utility is pretty useless at this point.
So, I believe I have solved it. I used Disk Utility from the Recovery Partition and that works as expected. So, if you really need Disk Partition to work, boot into the Recovery Partition and use it there. There it works.

No, I need no help installing Windows. As noted in a previous post, once I swapped the MX300 with a Sandisk Ultra, Windows installed just fine.

No, I'm not a geezer who does not know what they're doing....but if you all want to do that forum thread, get to it, and all the best. But as for me, I'll pass.....
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,014
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, I believe I have solved it. I used Disk Utility from the Recovery Partition and that works as expected. So, if you really need Disk Partition to work, boot into the Recovery Partition and use it there. There it works.

No, I need no help installing Windows. As noted in a previous post, once I swapped the MX300 with a Sandisk Ultra, Windows installed just fine.

No, I'm not a geezer who does not know what they're doing....but if you all want to do that forum thread, get to it, and all the best. But as for me, I'll pass.....
Was not implying you are. Just musing about the lesser cognizant and older of us. Was also not implying that you needed help windows, other than my intense distaste for it. All off topic. Sorry for the offense.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
692
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9 7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Was not implying you are. Just musing about the lesser cognizant and older of us. Was also not implying that you needed help windows, other than my intense distaste for it. All off topic. Sorry for the offense.
Not offended......no worries......
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
692
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9 7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Hey, @vulgo:

So, the HID Legacy Shim 2 error usually just hides the real error, which is typically, but not always, "...waiting for root device", meaning, as I understand it, a problem with the Kernel (Darwin, right?).

Is there any way to access the failed drive from a known good working drive, and then try and relink the kernel? Because the drive mounts on my X99 APFS system, and I can access it, but I just can't boot from it. Somehow, I think the kernel is not linked to the boot process, but I don't know how to relink it remotely.

No it won't boot at all - not in single mode, not in normal mode, not in any mode. I've tried every mode that is possible in Clover (if you press the spacebar). But if I connect it via USB or Sata on my working X99 APFS system, I can access it.

Any thoughts?
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,334
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Is there any way to access the failed drive from a known good working drive, and then try and relink the kernel?
You can check if the mounted volume is bootable with
Code:
sudo bless --info /Volumes/imacOS2
To copy boot files and do APFS things
Code:
sudo bless --folder /Volumes/imacOS2/System/Library/CoreServices
Take a look at 'man bless'
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
692
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9 7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
You can check if the mounted volume is bootable with
Code:
sudo bless --info /Volumes/imacOS2
To copy boot files and do APFS things
Code:
sudo bless --folder /Volumes/imacOS2/System/Library/CoreServices
Take a look at 'man bless'
So, the first command you offered told me everything I needed to know: (and of course!)

Bdrive:imacOS2 mm2margaret$ sudo bless --info /Volumes/imacOS2
The container for this APFS volume doesn't appear to have a preboot volume

So, yes, Disk Utility will let you convert a bootable HFS+ drive to a APFS drive, but it will be non-bootable. Disk Utility will not create the preboot volume that macOS systems running APFS must have to boot the system.

Thank you, @vulgo!
 
Top