Apple's Policy on Apple File System (APFS) for High Sierra

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by Stork, Aug 28, 2017.

  1. Azimuth1

    Azimuth1

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    284
    Mobo:
    GA Z170X Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    PowerColor Red Devil RX580 Golden Sample 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 2:25 AM #91
    Azimuth1

    Azimuth1

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    284
    Mobo:
    GA Z170X Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    PowerColor Red Devil RX580 Golden Sample 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is there a way to upgrade to APFS but WITHOUT setting on the encryption?
     
  2. MysticalOS

    MysticalOS

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC Force (F10c)
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 03G-P4-3784-KR
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 2:31 AM #92
    MysticalOS

    MysticalOS

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC Force (F10c)
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 03G-P4-3784-KR
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    AFPS doesn't auto encrypt if file vault wasn't already enabled, if it was, then yes it does. If not, first time you boot up on APFS it will actually give you a prompt asking if you would like to enable encryption or not, if you choose no it remains an unencrypted APFS volume.
     
  3. 7sudden

    7sudden

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z270X Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX580
    Sep 27, 2017 at 5:08 PM #93
    7sudden

    7sudden

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z270X Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX580
    So at the end of the day, where does everyone stand, relative to using APFS on a new install? I have a Samsung 960 Pro NVME drive that I'm hoping to use without concern for less reliability than HFS+. Is the performance on non-apple hardware/firmware significantly better?
     
  4. stiligFox

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VII Gene
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 8:22 PM #94
    stiligFox

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VII Gene
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Going to wait until 10.13.2 or so to even look at upgrading. 10.13.1 dev beta was dropped today.

    Has anyone seen the EFI check do anything yet? Any signs of disabling it?
     
  5. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 27, 2017 at 8:43 PM #95
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    There's a kext that loads on the LPC device, matching on a list of ids, and a launchd plist somewhere...
     
  6. stiligFox

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VII Gene
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 9:28 PM #96
    stiligFox

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VII Gene
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So it will for sure fail our EFI partitions?
     
  7. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 27, 2017 at 9:34 PM #97
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Not sure. Doubt Apple engineers would waste their time building crippleware into their OS. Pike R Alpha has blogged about it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2017
  8. RogueFive

    RogueFive

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    2x SAPPHIRE 100352-2L Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 6:25 PM #98
    RogueFive

    RogueFive

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    2x SAPPHIRE 100352-2L Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So some interesting observation from my upgrades (3 very different machines, all with primary SSD, same results)
    I partition OS and User separately on all my hacks (too many reinstalls in the early days). I upgraded with APFS ... but it only upgraded the OS partition to APFS. It left the user partition untouched as HFS. It created an APFS container and stuck the converted OS partition inside and left the user partition outside by itself. The option "convert to APFS" is greyed out (I assume lack of space). Either would need some serious re-partitioning or a fresh install to fix. Interestingly I have a spinner drive where the option "convert to APFS" is available ...
    Are there guidelines from Apple on partitioning with APFS?

    upload_2017-9-28_12-24-49.png
     
    RJM_Peters likes this.
  9. wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GTX 1050 Ti OC (low Profile), LG 24" Gaming Monitor
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Sep 28, 2017 at 8:07 PM #99
    wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GTX 1050 Ti OC (low Profile), LG 24" Gaming Monitor
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Successfully installed 10.13 from the App Store yesterday on one of my two SSDs (both Samsung 850 EVO 256 MB) with no problems; I did need to use Toleda's script to renew audio. Today I independently installed (again from the App Store) 10.13 on my second SSD; same result. Both SSDs are on APFS with no problems so far. I found that Multibeast 9.2.1 does not recognize either my "Sierra 0" or my "Sierra 1" SSDs, but no problem since I didn't need to use it anyway.

    No change in graphics performance from 10.12.6 on HFS+. Running "The Witness" video game on 10.13 looks and sounds the same, although I got a "spinning rainbow" for a few seconds when first opening it under HS. (Change in filesystem?)

    Haven't done a lot other than run "Heaven," "Valley," and "The Witness" just to verify graphics and sound. Got e-mail, ran Safari, etc.
     
  10. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 28, 2017 at 8:21 PM #100
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    You can convert external volumes according to the FAQ. You might have luck with the hfs_convert command line, from the APFS filesystem bundle resources folder. Probably from recovery if your home folders are there.
     

Share This Page