Contribute
Register

AppleHDA HDMI Audio [Guide]

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,258
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Changed config.plist again using another computer, restored Oland > still black screen, can't get to the desktop.
Missed: Post #1/I. Before You Install HDMI Audio/Spoiler: Prerequisites/1. Make a bootable backup
Removing an invalid argument does not cause boot failure and restoring an invalid argument does not solve a boot problem
Boot your High Sierra USB installer
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus P7P55D-M Pro
CPU
Intel Core i3 550
Graphics
AMD Radeon R7 240
Missed: Post #1/I. Before You Install HDMI Audio/Spoiler: Prerequisites/1. Make a bootable backup
Removing an invalid argument does not cause boot failure and restoring an invalid argument does not solve a boot problem
Boot your High Sierra USB installer
Yeah I'm not concerned, and I didn't ignore that recommendation. Just puzzled!

I could edit out the FakeID which I'm sure would let me get to the desktop with the unknown display adapter with 7MB. What would I do after booting the installer anyway?

I'm very grateful for all the help!!
I'll report back soon. I'm on Sierra btw
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus P7P55D-M Pro
CPU
Intel Core i3 550
Graphics
AMD Radeon R7 240
So all along, the last black screen problem seemed like it was just the graphic card that couldn't be initialized, or maybe the HDMI port- it all went blank after "DSMOS has arrived", but it didn't look like the system had froze or the boot had hung.
Turns out, rebooting with a monitor attached (DVI) gets me to the desktop just fine. Even the actual gfx card model is recognized.
Connecting the HDMI cable makes the DVI monitor resolution change to 1080p, as the preferences are set to "mirroring", but no signal is sent through it to the HDMI TV. Needless to say, no HDMI audio interface is present.

Files are attached.

Remark:
- I see in the last stages of the bootlog that the video port number is set to 5, while the graphics card has 3 (DVI, HDMI, VGA)...
 

Attachments

  • report8.zip
    3.8 MB · Views: 26

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,258
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Turns out, rebooting with a monitor attached (DVI) gets me to the desktop just fine. Even the actual gfx card model is recognized.
Expected, config.plist/Devices/FakeID/ATI/0x67981002 is working and the Futomaki framebuffer is loading, likely, Clover default:
Code:
Futomaki (4) @ 0xebf90
DP, DP, DVI-D, HDMI
000400000403000000010101000000001204040100000000
000400000403000000010201000000002205050200000000
040000001402000000010300000000000000060600000000
000800000402000000010400000000001102010300000000

Motherboard HDMI connector is not natively supported by the framebuffer HDMI connector (0008)
Motherboard DVI connector is supported by a framebuffer DP connector (0004)
AMD/DVI connector does not support HDMI audio
See Post #1/VII. AMD Radeon Graphics/1. AMD .../2. AMDxxxxController .../1. Guide ...
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus P7P55D-M Pro
CPU
Intel Core i3 550
Graphics
AMD Radeon R7 240
Expected, config.plist/Devices/FakeID/ATI/0x67981002 is working and the Futomaki framebuffer is loading, likely, Clover default:
Code:
Futomaki (4) @ 0xebf90
DP, DP, DVI-D, HDMI
000400000403000000010101000000001204040100000000
000400000403000000010201000000002205050200000000
040000001402000000010300000000000000060600000000
000800000402000000010400000000001102010300000000

Motherboard HDMI connector is not natively supported by the framebuffer HDMI connector (0008)
Motherboard DVI connector is supported by a framebuffer DP connector (0004)
AMD/DVI connector does not support HDMI audio
See Post #1/VII. AMD Radeon Graphics/1. AMD .../2. AMDxxxxController .../1. Guide ...
I don't know if I understand correctly, but you're saying that there's a chance I can make it work by following one of the guides to patch the framebuffer?
I'll try again from scratch then, the last thing I tried to do before coming to get help was following the first of the three guides mentioned in the first post.

NOTE: editing framebuffer name in Clover back to the "invalid argument" Oland makes the HDMI port work again. Can this be relevant in any way?
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,258
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
there's a chance I can make it work by following one of the guides to patch the framebuffer?
Yes, not a guarantee.
editing framebuffer name in Clover back to the "invalid argument" Oland makes the HDMI port work again. Can this be relevant in any way?
No. Clover injects Oland, macOS rejects the instruction and loads the default framebuffer. When macOS loads a valid framebuffer, the card is recognized and reported correctly. Without a valid framebuffer, macOS cannot specifically identify the card and loads default family name and framebuffer.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus P7P55D-M Pro
CPU
Intel Core i3 550
Graphics
AMD Radeon R7 240
No. Clover injects Oland, macOS rejects the instruction and loads the default framebuffer.

Makes perfect sense. What I find strange is that if I do NOT inject Oland in Clover, the HDMI port is dead. If I do, it comes alive and outputs the screen.
In all of this, "Oland" isn't even a frame buffer name. Don't you find it odd? ><
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,258
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus P7P55D-M Pro
CPU
Intel Core i3 550
Graphics
AMD Radeon R7 240
Red herring
Missed Post #973:

Okay, my English is obviously inadequate- I didn't miss that post, I read all your answers very carefully, it is now clear why I have no HDMI output; what I meant is, isn't it strange that injecting a nonexistent/unsupported framebuffer name (Oland) makes the HDMI port come alive?
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,258
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
isn't it strange that injecting a nonexistent/unsupported framebuffer name (Oland) makes the HDMI port come alive?
No. The driver works as designed. The behavior is expected, your graphics card is unsupported in macOS.
 
Top