Contribute
Register

AppleHDA HDMI Audio [Guide]

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,090
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you believe that the fact that I have two displayports outputs connected (one directly to the DisplayPort input and another using an adapter DisplayPort to HDMI) could gerente the error in the script?
No
Or the fact that I have installed the whatevergreen and Lilu to the "Clover\kexts\other" directory?
No

2nd request, attach the requested files.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
99
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My mistake, both must be NO; Clover HDMI audio does not work.

The Fermi edit supported 4 Nvidia display instances while Kepler/Maxwell/Pascal support 6.

Likely, Clover setting.

Nvidia problem, made an architectural decision not to compete with AMD Eyefinity (6 displays) years ago. Interestingly, Nvidia's software strategy enables "unsupported" Maxwell/Pascal products to be macOS supported.

Thank you again. I'll try disabling those settings and rebooting. Not like I can't just re-enable them if necessary.

Quick question: Will disabling FixHDA also disable onboard audio? It'd be nice to be able to retain both onboard and HDMI audio like I was able to previously. If not, not a deal breaker now that I have a working home theater setup again with its own headphone jack (and better DACs on all channels to boot).

Also, regarding the "Fermi" DSDT edit - it should still function properly even on Pascal as long as I only have a single display connected, yes? Or is it a hard "if the GPU has more than four total ports, it MUST have the ≥Kepler edit instead? If the latter is the case, what would be the best method of switching the Fermi edit out for the ≥Kepler edit since building clean DSDT is much more difficult now with PJALM's Gigabyte repo gone.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
99
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This post is an addendum to the previous post.

Nope, unchecking those two settings (FixHDA, AddHDMI) did not work. However, with both enabled, the DisplayPorts closest to the motherboard work for audio, and if I boot with the TV connected to the DP connector (either of the two on the GPU closest to the motherboard) and then move the connection to the HDMI port, I get native HDMI.

Here's how my GPU is configured:

Motherboard - DP1 -> DP2 -> HDMI -> DP3
DVI

DP1 and DP2 provide alt-mode HDMI audio on bootup. HDMI provides HDMI audio if I connect to DP1 or DP2 on bootup and then move the connection to HDMI. DP3 does not output any audio at all and no audio device shows up in Audio MIDI Setup regardless of whether or not DP1 or DP2 is used as the initial connection on bootup.

This seems to mirror what I've seen reported here regarding how HDMI audio is working in 10.13.4 and later with Maxwell/Pascal GPUs, and it's happening in 10.12.6 w/ the latest security update, so it looks like it isn't only 10.13.4+ that's affected by the HDMI audio problem.

I can live with having to use the DP connection for now, though if I move to a 4k TV I know I'll need to get an active DP to HDMI adapter if I want 4k60 @ 4:4:4 (ARGB2101010 30-bit color if I'm lucky enough to get a 10-bit panel on the TV like I have now).
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,090
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It'd be nice to be able to retain both onboard and HDMI audio like I was able to previously
All AppleHDA Realtek Audio and AppleHDA HDMI Audio methods work together. Some other method conflict.
what would be the best method of switching the Fermi edit out for the ≥Kepler edit
Edit Device (GFX0) as shown
1. edit Package to 0x0e
2. copy one of the connector-type code, paste 2 time and edit as @4 and @5
Screen Shot 2018-06-22 at 7.44.09 PM.png
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,090
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
unchecking those two settings (FixHDA, AddHDMI) did not work
See Post #1/IV. Problem Reporting; attach all requested files
This seems to mirror what I've seen reported here regarding how HDMI audio is working in 10.13.4 and later with Maxwell/Pascal GPUs, and it's happening in 10.12.6 w/ the latest security update, so it looks like it isn't only 10.13.4+ that's affected by the HDMI audio problem.
Two Nvidia HDMI audio issues
a. 10.13.4 and newer dropped native Nvidia HDMI audio codec support, AppleHDAController patch required; see Post #2
b. HDMI port on all Pascal graphics cards does not support HDMI audio, Nvidia web driver bug; workaround is DP2HDMI adapter (If DP audio is working, active adapter for 4K)
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
99
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hrm. This looks interesting:

5.0.0.0
  • Released Clover Configurator Global Edition
  • Added RenameDevices key in Acpi section - New Acpi patching feature (Clover Rev 4468+)
Could this be used to rename the graphics card from within clover to what you said to do in the DSDT manual edit?
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,090
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Could this be used to rename the graphics card from within clover to what you said to do in the DSDT manual edit?
Only changes name, cosmetic. Does not inject required HDMI audio properties. DSDT edit or ssdt does both.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
99
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Only changes name, cosmetic. Does not inject required HDMI audio properties. DSDT edit or ssdt does both.

Roger that. I have a dump of my current DSDT edited and will try it out later. Good thing this was a simple edit because the DSDT was customized with one of PJALM's USB device rename edits and his repo is gone, so I really didn't want to have to muck around with that as it's the only solution that gives me proper amperage current on my USB 3 ports. :)
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
GA Z370N WIFI
CPU
I7 8700
Graphics
Saphire Radeon RX 480 8gb
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Problem Reporting:

1. Description of HDMI audio problem
"
Hi guys good night. I'm on my second hackintosh. And this time I'm having more trouble than I was expecting.

Config is, GA-ZA370N WIFI, i7 8700, RX 580 8gb (two HDMI and two display outputs) and a 43" 4K LG Display (with four HDMI and one DisplayPort input). This monitor emulates 4 1080p monitors in one 4k display with integrated sound, I will explain below.

I have sound in the headphone jack of the motherboard but no audio on the display using HDMI.

My graphics card outputs are connected using 2 HDMI outputs to 2 HDMI inputs in the monitor, 1 Displayport output to 1 Displayport input in the monitor, 1 Displayport output (than a DisplayPort to HDMI adapter) to 1 HDMI input in the monitor.

So it works like the rx 580 graphics card is connected t 4 distinct 1080p monitors with integrated sound.

In windows the sound works perfectly.

Anyone has an idea of what could I do?

Kind regards,

Tulio.
"

2. OS X version/motherboard model/BIOS version/processor/graphics
- Motherboard: Z370N WIFI - Bios F4
- Processor: Intel i7-8700 (not the K version)
- Graphics: Saphire Pulse Radeon RX 580 8gb

3. Procedure/Guide used
- Whatevergreen+Lilu under efi/clover/kexts/other
and
- Run cloverHDMI script with the following results:
"
Agreement

The audio_cloverHDMI script is for personal use only. Do not distribute

the patch, any or all of the files for any reason without permission.

The audio_cloverHDMI script is provided as is and without any warranty.


File: audio_cloverHDMI-130_v0.8.command

Release Mode

EFI partition is mounted

Password:

No HDMI audio codec(s) detected, continue (y/n): y

HDMI audio codec(s)

Integrated Graphics is not installed/enabled

Install AMD/Nvidia HDMI audio (y/n): y

AMD discrete graphics card 100267df found on PEG0@1/GFX0@0

AMD HDMI audio is enabled

Frambuffer injection and connector patching may also be required

Note: AMD kext edits are not available with this script

Script exits when another HDMI audio method is installed

Remove existing HDMI audio method, restart, run cloverHDMI

To save a Copy of this Terminal session: Terminal/Shell/Export Text As ...

logout

Saving session...

...copying shared history...

...saving history...truncating history files...

...completed.


[Process completed]

"
4. Installed AppleHDA.kext
- Under \System\Library\AppleHDA.kext
- In the attached zip


X. Everything Else in the attached file.

And thanks for the help Toleda.
 

Attachments

  • TroubleReporting.zip
    3.3 MB · Views: 58
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
GA Z370N WIFI
CPU
I7 8700
Graphics
Saphire Radeon RX 480 8gb
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No

No

2nd request, attach the requested files.

Thank you toleda for the help. Have just posted the requested files.
 
Top