Contribute
Register

AppleHDA HDMI Audio [Guide]

Joined
Mar 10, 2016
Messages
975
Motherboard
Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 // GTX 980
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Debug/YES

The 980 is in the wrong slot, move it to the x16 slot, restart
Post #1/cloverHDMI
My Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 is in the third PCI-E x16, because I have the Cryorig R1 Universal. It´s a big cooler and I want to have more free space between the GPU and the CPU cooler.
So should I move the GPU to the first PCI-E x16 slot?

An answer would be nice.
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,260
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
So should I move the GPU to the first PCI-E x16 slot?
There is only one x16 slot.
No idea on your use case, why own a high end graphics card with compromised performance?
Yes.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2016
Messages
975
Motherboard
Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 // GTX 980
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
There is only one x16 slot.
No idea on your use case, why own a high end graphics card with compromised performance?
Yes.
Thanks toleda, that worked.
I looked in my the port I used was PCI-E x16 2.0, now I´m using 3.0
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,260
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
the port I used was PCI-E x16 2.0, now I´m using 3.0
That is not how it works, both connectors support PCIe 2.0 and PCIe 3.0.
One connectors supports x16 or x8 (if 2 graphics cards)
The other connector supports x8 only
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
331
Motherboard
GA-Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I tried this in all 3 of my display ports with no luck. I turned off my computer each time I switched ports. I also tried using a DVI2HDMI no luck there either. I can send you those files if you want me to. Please just let me know.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
331
Motherboard
GA-Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
What is "this" - DP2HDMI, 2 cables, other?
Make and model of display?
“This” is what’s shown in the picture. Display Port to HDMI.” It’s one cable. I’m using an LG TV. No idea on the model.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
MSI H81I
CPU
Intel Pentium G3258(K)
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon HD 5570
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have a problem. OS: 10.13.3 17D47. Build: "Haswell mini-Cube" as in my builds just under this post, specifically: MSI H81i, 8gb DDR3-1600 (one stick,) G3258 @ stock (3.2Ghz,) GTX 760, Sandisk 128GB SSD, UEFI: E7851vA6 (the latest, full version string: H81I / H81I-S01 / H81I-S02 (MS-7851) V10.6) I used cloverHDMI. I have run cloverHDMI and it detects that no hdmi audio codec is installed. I let it run and install the PEG0 ssdt in EFI/Clover. However, it does not work. Every time I start up again the script says the same thing: that Nvidia HDMI was not installed and reinstalls the ssdt. My cloverALC audio always works no matter what. I am running the latest Nvidia Web Drivers (387.10.10.10.25.156) and they work great. All required files (and some notes on how I edited my files) as in Problem Reporting are in the attached zip. Thanks in advance. I appreciate all the hard work you guys put into making these great tools, but they are unfortunately not working for me.
 

Attachments

Top