Contribute
Register

Apple Releases macOS Sierra 'Golden Master' GM Candidate to Beta Testers

Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte z97 UD5H
CPU
i7-4790k
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I guess my upgrade isn't perfect (it upgraded without issues). I've already had 2 freezes and 1 hard reboot. Is there a log I can check that might shed some light onto what's happening?

Edit: Make that 3 freezes. All occur while viewing Safari.

Edit #2: Had another freeze. It seems like it happens while on Yahoo.com (don't judge) homepage.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
98
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i5 3.2GHz 4460
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 950 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
After removing web drivers, disabling sip and enabling apple.graphic
I'm in the same boat on a GTX 670. Currently 10.11.6, and have had no need for NVIDIA web drivers previously (although tested them and they were fine). Everything works OOTB.

No signal after boot on Sierra without nv_disable=1. Installer itself runs fine. Tried web drivers (with explicit nvda_drv=1), AGDPfix, Clover's NVIDIA injection options. Did two attempts, one with App Store upgrade and one clean install. Have had to revert to El Cap clone both times.

I guess I'll just wait for final release or until someone figures out what the issue is.

I see some reports of 7xx series cards working okay, so maybe just suck it up and move to one of those...

After removing web drivers, disabling sip and enabling applegraphicscontrol.kext I can now boot without nv_disable=1 and with nvda_drv=1. But the screen resolution has not improved.

The display is extremely slow and choppy and the resolution can't be changed. Any help?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
605
Motherboard
Laptop
CPU
I3 5020U
Graphics
Hd5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Since dp1 lost of hardware and software stop working. Any thing news?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP Midi Tower DC7900
CPU
Intel E8400 E0 Stepping
Graphics
EVGA GT640 / Radeon 6450
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
hello for your information the ASUS GT640 2GD3 video card
does not work with Mac os Sierra GM
I replace it with a good old 9800 GT and it works
I try with injection, injection without anything to make the ASUS displays a black screen at the end of the boot system

That is not entirely true!
Gist: The GT640 works with iMac 13,1 model identifier ...

Until recently, my model identifier was Mac Pro 3,1.
Since that version is not eligible for an upgrade to macOS Sierra, I tried iMac8,1 (which matched my CPU). This, however, resulted in a blank screen with no image, obviously because that model does not support the GT640 GPU.
The iMac 13,1 model, instead, runs perfectly fine with my EVGA GT640, obviously because this model has a 640M GPU.
I have not encountered any glitches or reboots since choosing this model identifier.

Hope that helps and you can use your faster GT640 again.
Cheers
Mike
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z270 GAMING K3
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
AMD RADEON RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
# Mike
I tested it with 11.3 imac is a P55 mainboard
El captain under it worked very well
but not in sierra
I have not tried with Imac 13.1
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
# Mike
I tested it with 11.3 imac is a P55 mainboard
El captain under it worked very well
but not in sierra
I would have tested with Imac 13.1

You maybe better off using iMac 10,1 but not sure about Powermanagement on that hand.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
After removing web drivers, disabling sip and enabling apple.graphic


After removing web drivers, disabling sip and enabling applegraphicscontrol.kext I can now boot without nv_disable=1 and with nvda_drv=1. But the screen resolution has not improved.

The display is extremely slow and choppy and the resolution can't be changed. Any help?
This post may solve the issue for you... let me know if it works!
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,020
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I'm in!
Screen Shot 2016-09-11 at 2.11.25 PM.png 3D SIDE BY SIDE BENCH.png3D SIDE BY SIDE.png 3D ANAGLYPH.png 3D ANAGLYPH BENCH.png 3D INTERLACED.png
3D INTER BENCH.png

In 3D with my MSI RX 470 4gb. Beautiful thing!
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z270 GAMING K3
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
AMD RADEON RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You maybe better off using iMac 10,1 but not sure about Powermanagement on that hand.
yes indeed it may cause other problems changed the mac version, normally this type of mainboard and CPU corresponds to 11.3 imac
Before there were no important type of graphics card based on the type of Mac, maybe now he will pay more attention to that too ....
Finally it does not matter for me I just wanted to share the information I have an old 9600 GT that works and is sufficient for this machine
 
Top