Contribute
Register

Apple Announces M1 Ultra CPU, Mac Studio and Studio Display

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,674
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
including ifixit

Do you have a link to the iFixIt findings? I don't have much faith in this Luke guy. In the above video, he said he still hasn't been able to revive his 48 GPU core Mac Studio even with its original SSD module installed...

The only thing I see on the iFixIt home page is their original Mac Studio teardown where they successfully did the SSD swap:
Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 11.58.35 PM.png
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
175
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Studio Display. Does anyone know if this can be run off of a Hackintosh with no thunderbolt ports on the motherboard or GPU (HDMI and Display ports only)?

Perhaps by using an adapter? Or adding a Thunderbolt 3 via PCIe card (if that's possible)?

I've seen a lot of contradictory answers elsewhere, so I'd figure I'd ask here.

Here's my setup:
i7-4770k 3.49 GHz Intel Core i7
GA-Z87X-UD5H
Radeon RX 580 8GB GDDR5
USB-C slot from a PCIe card



Background: my Dell monitor is old and dying; I'd like to replace it, preferably with an Apple Studio Display. I'd also like to upgrade my Hackintosh to a Mac Studio (or something else?) too, but I probably can't swing the price of both at once.

So.... I was hoping I could buy the monitor first, then the Mac Studio later (as there *might* be other, better computer options from Apple in a year or two from now? e.g. Maybe an M2 Mac Mini might meet my photo editing needs for less?)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
2,965
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Studio Display. Does anyone know if this can be run off of a Hackintosh with no thunderbolt ports on the motherboard or GPU (HDMI and Display ports only)?

I am going to go with no you need thunderbolt.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,674
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

In this video, they tried to increase storage capacity with two 512GB modules and it didn't work.

They did not try replacing the stock 512GB module with a larger capacity module.

That's why the lady said:
Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 2.33.27 PM.png
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
8,284
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.8.0
CPU
i5-10600k
Graphics
Dell RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't think any of that is true. I don't believe there's any serialization. I think the guy from Apple Insider was fed lies and he believed it.

I also think that a lot of these guys are too concerned about putting the second slot to use. They are equating the inability to use the second slot to not being able to upgrade. They are ignoring the fact that upgrading can be replacing a lower capacity module with a larger capacity one.

Which bit? Or all of my post?

I've read and re-read it and don't see where I misunderstood.

I can even personally attest to the auto coding reference!
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,674
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Which bit? Or all of my post?

I've read and re-read it and don't see where I misunderstood.

I can even personally attest to the auto coding reference!

I don't think there's any serialization. The Luke guy couldn't even get the original SSD module to boot when he re-installed it in to the Mac Studio it originally shipped in.

I don't think swapping SSD modules will require certified Apple techs.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
92
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 7010
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD4000
In this video, they tried to increase storage capacity with two 512GB modules and it didn't work.

They did not try replacing the stock 512GB module with a larger capacity module.

That's why the lady said:
View attachment 544944

Luke Miani (who apparently no one trusts…because??? He wants views on YouTube…..):
you can’t swap a 500 gb drive with a 1 tB Even if doing a dfu restore, but you can swap drives of the same size With dfu restore.

ifxit: you can’t populate both drives with 500 gb, but you can swap drives of the same size with dfu restore. jury is still out on upgrades From 500 gb to 1 tb.

apple insider: the machine can’t be upgrade by swapping out larger storage modules. You cannot upgrade this machine.

@pastrychef, at this time, upgrades don’t seem possible based on all of these reports, but if you have empirical evidence to the contrary (aside from the fact that some people think Luke Miani is a dumb@ss:lol:—I actually don’t), by all means, please share. Theories are interesting, but right now the real world reports are pointing to no. I do hope that somebody can get it to work, or that Apple releases some sort of update that allows it to work, but I doubt it. upgrading to larger drives could increase the life of the machine, and they don’t want that. They want us to buy a new one instead.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,674
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Luke Miani (who apparently no one trusts…because??? He wants views on YouTube…..):
you can’t swap a 500 gb drive with a 1 tB Even if doing a dfu restore, but you can swap drives of the same size With dfu restore.

ifxit: you can’t populate both drives with 500 gb, but you can swap drives of the same size with dfu restore. jury is still out on upgrades From 500 gb to 1 tb.

apple insider: the machine can’t be upgrade by swapping out larger storage modules. You cannot upgrade this machine.

@pastrychef, at this time, upgrades don’t seem possible based on all of these reports, but if you have evidence to the contrary (aside from the fact that some people think Luke Miani is a dumb@ss:lol:—I actually don’t), by all means, please share. I do hope that somebody can get it to work, or that Apple releases some sort of update that allows it to work, but I doubt it. upgrading to larger drives could increase the life of the machine, and they don’t want that. They want us to buy a new one instead.

Watch the Luke video you linked to. He couldn't even get the 512GB SSD module to work after putting it back in the Mac Studio that it originally shipped in. I question his competency. This should also disprove the serialization nonsense.

The Apple Insider guy was just repeating something he was told. He did no tests and we don't know who he spoke to.

I have yet to see conclusive evidence swapping to a higher capacity SSD module won't work when done by someone competent.
 
Top