Contribute
Register

App Store Access with USB WiFi

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS UX430UA
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi...

Sorry for the NewB question. I have built my very first computer ever and decided to build a Hackintosh. I'm super happy with it and only have two issues I have not resolved. I am running Sierra 10.12.1 and using Clover Configurator to make fixes.

THE FIRST ISSUE
I bought the BMC94532Z card and replaced the stock card on my mobo but can't get this WIFI to work. I don't understand these instructions:
Apply the following patch in Clover to enable WiFi using the BCM94352Z:

Kext: AirPortBrcm4360
Find: 81F952AA00007529
Replace: 81F952AA00006690

So... I used the Archer T4U TP-Link USB Wifi instead. And it works great. But, now I can't access the app store. I have read explanations that say that getting the BCM94352Z to work is the best option. Which I can't figure out. Otherwise it seems that I need to disable the ethernet on the board so that the USB WIFI allows app store access instead. I don't know how to do that either. Is there a simple code I can drop in Clover Configurator to disable the ethernet?

OR

Can someone explain to me how to apply the above patch or get my BCM94352Z working fully? Bluetooth is working.

OR

Is there a completely different explanation for how to access the app store at this stage?

Thanks
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi...

Sorry for the NewB question. I have built my very first computer ever and decided to build a Hackintosh. I'm super happy with it and only have two issues I have not resolved. I am running Sierra 10.12.1 and using Clover Configurator to make fixes.

THE FIRST ISSUE
I bought the BMC94532Z card and replaced the stock card on my mobo but can't get this WIFI to work. I don't understand these instructions:


So... I used the Archer T4U TP-Link USB Wifi instead. And it works great. But, now I can't access the app store. I have read explanations that say that getting the BCM94352Z to work is the best option. Which I can't figure out. Otherwise it seems that I need to disable the ethernet on the board so that the USB WIFI allows app store access instead. I don't know how to do that either. Is there a simple code I can drop in Clover Configurator to disable the ethernet?

OR

Can someone explain to me how to apply the above patch or get my BCM94352Z working fully? Bluetooth is working.

OR

Is there a completely different explanation for how to access the app store at this stage?

Thanks

BCM94352Z:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-airport-pcie-half-mini-v2.104850/

For using USB WiFi and having Mac App Store... use NullEthernet.kext: https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Null-Ethernet
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS UX430UA
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi ReHabMan. Thanks for your reply. Of course, I have seen both of these posts. Reading them, makes me feel like I am in a 3rd grade math class trying to read a post on college calculus. I can't follow either post at all. Other than the first part of the first one which says:
11/3/16 - 10.12.1 WiFi Injection stopped working

And leaves me to believe that the solution no longer works. Is this the only way to get my broadcam to work? Has anyone made a youtube video to walk a NewB like me through step by step... because I'll probably never get this one on my own.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi ReHabMan. Thanks for your reply. Of course, I have seen both of these posts. Reading them, makes me feel like I am in a 3rd grade math class trying to read a post on college calculus. I can't follow either post at all. Other than the first part of the first one which says:


And leaves me to believe that the solution no longer works. Is this the only way to get my broadcam to work? Has anyone made a youtube video to walk a NewB like me through step by step... because I'll probably never get this one on my own.

You must read the content carefully.
Cliff's notes version:
BCM94352Z WiFi:
- FakePCIID.kext + FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi.kext
- either 5ghz patch or 'fcvo' patch (both from the-darkvoid), depending on version.

Bluetooth:
- BrcmPatchRAM.kext or BrcmPatchRAM2.kext (depends on OS X/macOS version) + BrcmFirmwareRepo.kext
- handoff/hotspot patch (different patch for different versions)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS UX430UA
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Right. Well, that kinda gets me back to where I started with this question. I already did
BCM94352Z WiFi:
- FakePCIID.kext + FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi.kext
-
And
Bluetooth:
- BrcmPatchRAM2.kext + BrcmFirmwareRepo.kext
-

But I don't know how to apply a patch in clover. I have never done it before and simply don't know how. NewB. So... I don't know how to
BCM94352Z WiFi:
-
- either 5ghz patch or 'fcvo' patch (both from the-darkvoid), depending on version.
Even though I can see it at this link.
This is where my post started. I don't know how to do this. ???

Bluetooth already works even though I don't know how to do this patch either:

Bluetooth:
-
- handoff/hotspot patch (different patch for different versions)

I don't know how to patch or even Know have what needs to be patched or know whether I need to go get something and and put it somewhere before trying to patch it?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
But I don't know how to apply a patch in clover. I have never done it before and simply don't know how. NewB. So... I don't know how to

Use a plist editor such as Xcode or PlistEdit Pro to open both the plist containing the patch and your own config.plist.
Then use copy/paste.

Even though I can see it at this link.
This is where my post started. I don't know how to do this. ???

Although it is possible to enter the Name/Find/Replace fields manually into an entry in KextsToPatch, it is probably easier to use copy/paste to copy it from another plist which already contains it.

Bluetooth already works even though I don't know how to do this patch either:

Same procedure. Use copy/paste in a plist editor. Suggest you familiarize yourself with PlistEdit Pro or Xcode for plist editing. It is a basic skill you should have.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS UX430UA
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Oh. I know how to do .plist editing. I didn't understand that "patch" meant to edit the files. From what I read, the 2.4ghz should have started working before the patch and bluetooth should not have started working without the patch. However, my bluetooth already works and the 2.4ghz never started up. Am I understanding that both of these things are not what I would expect to see?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS UX430UA
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Okay. I hope this is my last NewB question. So a "Patch" means I take the info in the patch file and move it into my config.plist file? My next step is to:

- either 5ghz patch or 'fcvo' patch (both from the-darkvoid), depending on version.

And I should be up an running on WIFI and App Store?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay. I hope this is my last NewB question. So a "Patch" means I take the info in the patch file and move it into my config.plist file? My next step is to:

Yes... Clover patches the kexts in the system based on the data in config.plist/KernelAndKextPatches/KextsToPatch.

And I should be up an running on WIFI and App Store?

If done correctly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top