[APP] DDCCTL - Control HDMI Display Audio Volume

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by Charmeleon, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. Charmeleon

    Charmeleon

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    MSI P55-CD53
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 220
    Jan 17, 2015 at 9:53 PM #1
    Charmeleon

    Charmeleon

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    MSI P55-CD53
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 220
    [APP] DDCCTL - Control HDMI Display Audio Volume

    DDCCTL 1.0

    Volume control for HDMI displays is disabled on OS X. Use this app to control the volume of your HDMI display speakers using the F10, F11 and F12 keyboard keys.

    Screen Shot 2015-01-17 at 22.20.22.png

    Guide


    • Download DDCCTL.zip and extract the application to /Applications
    • Open "System Preferences > Sound" and choose the HDMI input
    • Open "System Preferences > Users & Groups > Login items" and add DDCTL.app
    • Open "System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard" and select "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys"
    • Open "System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts" and change change any shortcut that uses the F10, F11 or F12 key to another key, even if it is unselected (!)

    Screen Shot 2015-01-17 at 22.21.36.png Screen Shot 2015-01-17 at 22.22.14.png

    Limitations


    • Only works for HDMI displays with "DDC/CI" enabled
    • Currently only changes main display audio volume
    • Currently shortcuts cannot be changed
    • Only tested on OS X 10.10 Yosemite

    Downloads

    View attachment DDCCTL.zip
    View attachment DDCCTL_src.zip

    License: GNU GPLv3
    Many thanks and credits to: jontaylor, SJ_UnderWater
     
  2. northamerican

    northamerican

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Jun 8, 2015 at 12:40 AM #2
    northamerican

    northamerican

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    is this supposed to work with displayport -> hdmi -> tv ?

    it's a vizio tv that supports only CEC. not sure about DDC.

    it seems literally impossible to control the volume of my tv without a remote.

    the volume bar moved but it doesn't adjust the volume...
     
  3. hng

    hng

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Feb 23, 2017 at 11:28 PM #3
    hng

    hng

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks, it works in Sierra; however, the F11 key doesn't work to decrease volume.
    F10 key - mute volume : OK.
    F12 key - increase volume: OK.
    F11 key - decrease volume: does not work.
     
  4. otropatolucas

    otropatolucas

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-H61N-USB3
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mar 18, 2017 at 6:51 PM #4
    otropatolucas

    otropatolucas

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-H61N-USB3
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Thanks a lot, works great in Sierra for me, also F11.
     
  5. lendon

    lendon

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Asus ROG G752VY
    CPU:
    I7-6700HQ
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX980M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 5:36 AM #5
    lendon

    lendon

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Asus ROG G752VY
    CPU:
    I7-6700HQ
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX980M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It works in 10.12.1~10.12.6
    My VGA= GTX1060 and another PC is GTX950
    through hdmi port
    it works perfect!
    1.png 2.png 3.png
     
  6. Chaosmint

    Chaosmint

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    3.4 GHz 3570k Core i5
    Graphics:
    Integrated (Soon EVGA 660Ti SC)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    128K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 4, 2017 at 6:34 PM #6
    Chaosmint

    Chaosmint

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    3.4 GHz 3570k Core i5
    Graphics:
    Integrated (Soon EVGA 660Ti SC)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    128K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    any chance this can be made to control DisplayPort (USB-C) monitors?
     
  7. asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 11, 2017 at 12:19 AM #7
    asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hello :)

    Is it the same thing or is it different from that?:
    https://github.com/kfix/ddcctl

    Best,
    -a-
     
  8. joevt

    joevt

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    460
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7, GIGABYTE Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K 4.6 GHz, Intel Core i7-6600K 4.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB SC Gaming, EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 11, 2017 at 7:30 AM #8
    joevt

    joevt

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    460
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7, GIGABYTE Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K 4.6 GHz, Intel Core i7-6600K 4.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB SC Gaming, EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    ddcctl is just a command line executable. You can use it with an app like OSDisplay.app to give it a UI.

    DDCCTL is an app that includes a UI.
     
    asheenlevrai likes this.
  9. asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 13, 2017 at 11:00 AM #9
    asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hello :)

    Just tried it on a 10.12.6 rig with a DP monitor (not HDMI)
    The UI seems to work as intended. F10-F12 keys move the audio slider according to what is expected. However, this has absolutely no effect on the output volume (it remains constant as defined by the monitor, I guess).

    Any advice is welcome.

    Best,
    -a-
    PS: monitor = Dell S2817Q
     
  10. asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 14, 2017 at 10:19 PM #10
    asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I will give these free solutions a try

    1) (demo version is free forever and apparently does the job):


    2) (controls via app or keyboard shortcuts, not via dedicated apple keyboard keys: F10-F12)
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/a-small-utility-to-adjust-hdmi-and-displayport-volume.229156/
    fork1 (Bluejamesbond) : https://github.com/bluejamesbond/MonitorControl.OSX
    fork2 (Tyilo) : https://github.com/Tyilo/MonitorControl.OSX
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017

Share This Page