Contribute
Register

APFS boot disk corruption

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
155
Motherboard
Gigabyte H97M-D3H
CPU
i5-4460
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
This is the second time my fresh installed Hackintosh failed. I only used for a few days. The issue is the same as last time. I reinstalled the system last time because I couldn’t find a solution.

I have my Samsung 850 EVO formatted as APFS. Last time I had TRIM enabled. I suspected that was causing the problem. So this install was APFS without TRIM. Same issue. Perhaps I should try High Sierra with HFS+?

There are so many problems with High Sierra and now another one! At this point I am strongly considering reverting back to 10.12.6.


Please find the picture attached for more details. I can’t boot into it. Not recognised by Clover either. 4498DB33-2373-4E9F-B9DB-E62EE95CAB8F.jpeg
 
Last edited:

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,825
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT 1030
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This is the second time my fresh installed Hackintosh failed. I only used for a few days. The issue is the same as last time. I reinstalled the system last time because I couldn’t find a solution.

I have my Samsung 850 EVO formatted as APFS. Last time I had TRIM enabled. I suspected that was causing the problem. So this install was APFS without TRIM. Same issue. Perhaps I should try High Sierra with HFS+?

There are so many problems with High Sierra and now another one! At this point I am strongly considering reverting back to 10.12.6.


Please find the picture attached for more details. I can’t boot into it. Not recognised by Clover either. View attachment 306746

Yes, I had problems with APFS too at the beginning. I re-installed with HFS and trim turned off. (Trim is carried out by the Crucial firmware on my SSD)

The system has been reliable and stable ever since.

:)
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,825
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT 1030
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My Evo 850 has been running APFS since HS came out. No problems at all, have been running trim on it since the beginning.

Interesting to compare. I was using Trim on my Crucial SSD though Sierra without issue, until I learned it could potentially cause problems with High Sierra, so turned it off. No problems since either.

Checking the Samsung site I see: http://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/product/consumer/850evo/

... which under Specifications / Special Feature seems to suggest that Trim and Auto Garbage collection are built-in, much like my Crucial.

I don't know how HS is different - maybe the APFS upgrade etc. - but it's worth doing more research on the need for manual Trim in macOS etc.

:)
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,825
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT 1030
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Says it has support for trim, not specific if built in. Does say it has Auto GC though. Mine is the SATA M.2 model.

Yes, agreed, a bit vague. Mind you, my Crucial SSD is older and I'd be surprised if Samsung didn't implement the same kind of firmware, especially on an M.2 device, however ...

It's a bit confusing, but there is some reading out there:

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...n-high-sierra-update-or-fresh-install.232855/

posts #10 and #55 perhaps - it's a big thread.

:)
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2012
Messages
170
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
Intel i9-10850k along with Noctua NH-D15 SSO2 D-Type Premium CPU Cooler
Graphics
Primary: Sapphire Pulse RX 570, Secondary: UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone ever figure this out. I had a fresh install of High Sierra, finally decided to upgrade from El Capitan, had to because I went back to using photoshop. Formatted using APFS just two weeks ago and this morning the file system became corrupted which is something that never happened in OS X with me before. First Aid couldn't even fix it and I tried terminal one Single User still a no go. I'm just formatting to hfs and staying with that..
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
859
Motherboard
ASRock X99 Extreme6
CPU
E5-2690 v4
Graphics
Radeon VII
Wasn't it eventually figured out that the cause of APFS corruption is unsuccessful hibernation?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top