Any fix to the Garbled/Distorted Headphone issue?

Discussion in 'Yosemite Laptop Support' started by mybeatsarebetter, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. lisai9093

    lisai9093

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron 7548
    CPU:
    Intel i5 5200U (Broadwell)
    Graphics:
    HD5500
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 8, 2015 at 4:44 AM #21
    lisai9093

    lisai9093

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron 7548
    CPU:
    Intel i5 5200U (Broadwell)
    Graphics:
    HD5500
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  2. mybeatsarebetter

    mybeatsarebetter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Apr 8, 2015 at 5:35 AM #22
    mybeatsarebetter

    mybeatsarebetter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    I see... so without a working voodoohda headphone, its almost impossible to fix the applehda is what you are saying...

    Ill poke around and make sure I have the latest build
     
  3. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,449
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 8, 2015 at 8:11 AM #23
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,449
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,449
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 8, 2015 at 8:13 AM #24
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,449
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well, I don't know about impossible. Maybe a way to look at the widget control in Linux... I didn't have to go down that path because VoodooHDA+CodecCommander was working.
     
  5. the-darkvoid

    the-darkvoid

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Motherboard:
    Dell XPS 9360 (KabyLake R)
    CPU:
    Intel i7 8550U
    Graphics:
    Intel UHD 620
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 8, 2015 at 11:10 AM #25
    the-darkvoid

    the-darkvoid

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Motherboard:
    Dell XPS 9360 (KabyLake R)
    CPU:
    Intel i7 8550U
    Graphics:
    Intel UHD 620
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sofar the only change that I have seen required is in enable / vref-in.
    See Intel HDA Specification, 7.3.3.13.

    I never had a working configuration to compare with my Dell, so I just went over the specification to understand it in great detail.

    In Rehabman's latest CodecCommander build there are the following combinations:

    Code (Text):

                   76543210
    ALC283:        
    0x19 707 25 -> 00100101 -> In Enable, VrefEn, EPT = 1
    0x21 707 C0 -> 11000000 -> Headphone Enable, Out Enable


    ALC292:
    0x1A 707 24 -> 00100100 -> In Enable, VrefEn


    ALC668:
    0x1B 707 20 -> 00100000 -> In Enable
     
    Just check your path to see which nodes are on the headphone path, check their output with hda-verb.
    After that you should be able to determine which one requires to be enabled.
     
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,449
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 8, 2015 at 2:53 PM #26
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,449
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I experimented also with 0x20 for node 0x19. That worked too. So not sure if the VrefEn or EPT are needed in my case. But they were set with Voodoo, so I used that value. I haven't looked to see if Voodoo sets these values explicitly or the result from state after reset.

    I think my setting of 0xC0 to 0x21 is also not necessary (still experimenting). Node 0x19 is not on any path map, so I'm a little confused as to how one would know that node needs tweaking. Although it does have connections in the Linux dump to other nodes that are on the pathmaps. Further contributing to mystery, it is described as an external mic jack in the Linux dump. Why a widget config on a Mic affects the headphone is a mystery.

    Note also there is some sort of strange overlap between VrefEn and and EPT that is not clear in the spec (they seem to both use the same bits). For example, setting VRefEn to 001b or 010b (50%/Ground) will set EPT encoding 01b/10b which are marked "Reserved". It does say EPT is specific to "associated digital Pin Widget", so perhaps this overlap is explained that VrefEn would not apply to such a widget. It also states that valid values for VRefEn are dependent on the PinCaps, so presumably a PinCap for a digital pin widget would not contain any valid VRefEn values.

    If you go down this path, you should plan on reading plenty and being mystified the entire way...
     
  7. mybeatsarebetter

    mybeatsarebetter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Apr 8, 2015 at 8:19 PM #27
    mybeatsarebetter

    mybeatsarebetter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    50

    Check them where....I'm confused, I have a different codec than all three of the ones you posted, how would codec commander know to look for my build?

    whats the node?
     
  8. lisai9093

    lisai9093

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron 7548
    CPU:
    Intel i5 5200U (Broadwell)
    Graphics:
    HD5500
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 8, 2015 at 8:47 PM #28
    lisai9093

    lisai9093

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron 7548
    CPU:
    Intel i5 5200U (Broadwell)
    Graphics:
    HD5500
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Rehabman,

    I tried your command "hda-verb 0x19 SET_PIN_WIDGET_CONTROL 0x25" and it works!! It solves the headphone issue. I modified the codeccommander.kext info.plist exactly as yours. Now everything is working properly. =] Thanks a lot!
     
  9. lisai9093

    lisai9093

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron 7548
    CPU:
    Intel i5 5200U (Broadwell)
    Graphics:
    HD5500
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 8, 2015 at 9:14 PM #29
    lisai9093

    lisai9093

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron 7548
    CPU:
    Intel i5 5200U (Broadwell)
    Graphics:
    HD5500
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If you have alc255, the configuration is actually same as Rehabman's one.
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,449
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 8, 2015 at 10:31 PM #30
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,449
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The pathmaps are in your patched AppleHDA Platforms.xml.zlib files. Do some reading on how to patch AppleHDA and you'll understand more.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice