Contribute
Register

Announcement: AMD Ryzen Based Systems and tonymacx86

Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
177
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
  4. Quadra
it would be wonderfull to precise witch version of mac os . Thanks a lot
 
Last edited:

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,533
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I am indeed.

Yes I heard that you'd enabled the hardware acceleration for the Athlon. Did you have to change any files in the S/L/E?

Not sure if you know, but in the VCS, it has two HD audio controllers (15E2 & 15E3) - one presumably for HDMI, and a multimedia controller/audio bus (15DE) and a streaming chip (AMDAFSD in Windows). The video graphics output itself is Picasso/Vega 3 (67B0), although enabling it via ACPI has revealed it comes up as (15DE) GFX0. When I disable Whatevergreen it comes up as VGA display. In Windows the HD audio device appears as (AA01).
The audio is very strange indeed. AMD bios for the desktop boards has a dual personality. If graphics APU is set to auto I have alc887 mostly working (headphones, speaker out, HDMI for Nvidia gt710), but if set to "force" the codec disappears and only HDMI is functional. The Audio is clear as well, no need to use Chrome as a browser.

Question: Do the laptops or your Atari have any bios settings for Auto vs Force (set Ram amount)?
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,743
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The audio is very strange indeed. AMD bios for the desktop boards has a dual personality. If graphics APU is set to auto I have alc887 mostly working (headphones, speaker out, HDMI for Nvidia gt710), but if set to "force" the codec disappears and only HDMI is functional. The Audio is clear as well, no need to use Chrome as a browser.

Question: Do the laptops or your Atari have any bios settings for Auto vs Force (set Ram amount)?
Oh right. That's interesting...

Yes I do, it has AMD CBS GFX configuration in the Atari, not HP laptop. But the Atari has an option to enable or disable Azalia mode, and also ability to choose auto or enabled Azalia in another different setting. Under the Audio IO setting I also have Auto, TDM plus a handful of SoundWire options. I can also configure the TDP settings from 6W settings all the way to 54W POR Configuration (9 Embedded - whatever that means).
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,743
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Btw, I thought to inform everyone of a new discovery I'd made today by accident. Apparently macOS does support AMD APU's! They have been supported since Catalina 10.15.4 beta 1 according to this article >

It seems that Apple added these 5 AMD APUs into Catalina:

• NAVI12_A0
• NAVI21_A0
• PICASSO_A0
• RAVEN2_A0
• RAVEN_A0
• RENOIR_A0
• VANGOGH_A0

I have also made the discovery that my Atari VCS GPU is Picasso/Raven2 and is supported natively up to 4K. I have booted into the system successfully on Catalina this evening with no SSDTs or device-ids added for the IGPU properties.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
240
Motherboard
HP 400 G1
CPU
i5-4670k
Graphics
Kepler GT730
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Checks date.... NOT April 1 ... OK I'll buy it... but do you get Metal etc APIs enabled?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,335
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Btw, I thought to inform everyone of a new discovery I'd made today by accident. Apparently macOS does support AMD APU's! They have been supported since Catalina 10.15.4 beta 1 according to this article >

It seems that Apple added these 5 AMD APUs into Catalina:

• NAVI12_A0
• NAVI21_A0
• PICASSO_A0
• RAVEN2_A0
• RAVEN_A0
• RENOIR_A0
• VANGOGH_A0

I have also made the discovery that my Atari VCS GPU is Picasso/Raven2 and is supported natively up to 4K. I have booted into the system successfully on Catalina this evening with no SSDTs or device-ids added for the IGPU properties.
Does this mean amd-osx kernel patches may not be needed for these APUs?

The latest models (Ryzen 7 5700G and Ryzen 7 5800G, for example) are Cezanne, if I'm not mistaken.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,743
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Checks date.... NOT April 1 ... OK I'll buy it... but do you get Metal etc APIs enabled?
Yes they should be. The codes for these GPUs were already added to the Apple Metal Driver for Gfx9 in 10.15.1.

Currently I don't have Metal acceleration on my VCS with the Picasso, but DRM/Youtube certainly works okay as does full 4K resolution.

Does this mean amd-osx kernel patches may not be needed for these APUs?

The latest models (Ryzen 7 5700G and Ryzen 7 5800G, for example) are Cezanne, if I'm not mistaken.
Possibly. I think the supported models may not need some of the kernel patches, especially at the GPU level.

The Cezanne probably still needs it though. But I do know MacbookPro15,3 SMBIOS (Coffee Lake & Coffee Lake 2nd gen) was fitted with a Vega16 or 20 GPU.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,533
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Does this mean amd-osx kernel patches may not be needed for these APUs?

The latest models (Ryzen 7 5700G and Ryzen 7 5800G, for example) are Cezanne, if I'm not mistaken.
No the patches are still needed. I don’t believe these mentioned APU references are outside of the AMD graphics kexts. It would also need to be included in CPU power management kexts etc.. to be more likely to happen. The big problem to overcome is memory allocation. Apple only uses Intel IGPUs for DDRx memory functions. The AMD APUs do not have on chip GDDR5 memory like the DGPUs RX 4xx-5xx models and/or HBM2. AMD uses Polaris/LEXA graphics for these but call them Navi.

Spoofing the Radeon kexts to load is possible but the memory allocation does not match and ends in 7mb max along with black screen. I think kernel patches would need to be developed to assign memory to DDR4 and away from the GDDR5 in the Radeon graphics kexts.
 
Top