Contribute
Register

Announcement: AMD Ryzen Based Systems and tonymacx86

Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
240
Motherboard
HP 400 G1
CPU
i5-4670k
Graphics
Kepler GT730
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Are we ONLY allowed to talk about AMD when in conjunction with OpenCore or are we allowed to talk about AMD custom kernels etc??
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
814
Motherboard
Asus ProArt B550 Creator
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
osBig Sur is perhaps the last intel based OS
What about MacPro 2019 owners ? will they be stuck to Big Sur next year? and the year after ?
Thanks
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,533
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
It seems I may have achieved another successful install today - it looks like the Ridge Raven 2 chipset also works with High Sierra! This was my VCS earlier today, which has an AMD APU. I was half expecting it to NOT work since the official driver support were only found in Mojave 10.14.6...

View attachment 508117
Yes, we’ve had it working in Mavericks, El Capitan, Sierra as well. I’m actually on Mojave with OC 0.6.6 right now messing with Raven internal graphics again.

Raven Ridge KBL CRB Mojave.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2019
Messages
104
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Yes a 2400G with RX480 using OC 0.6.6.
fascinating, tat’s the thing w/ Ryzentosh
seems to be more versatile on accomodating older versions :)

too bad there’s some incompatibilities w/ certain apps
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,743
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I believe I'm getting close to possibly full acceleration on the Atari VCS with Ryzen R1606G APU.

This is what I achieved recently.
Screen Shot 2021-05-08 at 10.24.55 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-05-08 at 10.26.43 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-05-08 at 10.27.03 AM.png
DRM is decoding on High Sierra build. Still no sound through the onboard AMD codec, but I could use a USB DAC for the sound.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,743
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Also, I want everyone to know a new discovery that I made recently...that I found AMD has ig-platform-ids
for both of my Ryzen-based systems (VCS with R1606G and B550 Vision D with 5900X) - and that THEY WORK in macOS with Opencore!


Screenshot 2021-05-12 at 10.50.12 AM.png


Screen-Shot-2021-05-11-at-7.13.27-AM-2.png


For the Atari VCS as a test I just bunged in the signature ID in reverse order for CPU1Data in Opencore,
ie. 818F0100 and it worked!
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,533
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Also, I want everyone to know a new discovery that I made recently...that I found AMD has ig-platform-ids
for both of my Ryzen-based systems (VCS with R1606G and B550 Vision D with 5900X) - and that THEY WORK in macOS with Opencore!


View attachment 518573

View attachment 518582

For the Atari VCS as a test I just bunged in the signature ID in reverse order for CPU1Data in Opencore,
ie. 818F0100 and it worked!
Yes I’ve ran video proC and rendered videos with my Athlon 3000g.
These APUs have a weird PCI layout. The graphics and audio are very close to the USB controllers. Adjusting one can throw the others off a byte or 02.

are you in Big Sur?
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,743
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes I’ve ran video proC and rendered videos with my Athlon 3000g.
These APUs have a weird PCI layout. The graphics and audio are very close to the USB controllers. Adjusting one can throw the others off a byte or 02.

are you in Big Sur?
I am indeed.

Yes I heard that you'd enabled the hardware acceleration for the Athlon. Did you have to change any files in the S/L/E?

Not sure if you know, but in the VCS, it has two HD audio controllers (15E2 & 15E3) - one presumably for HDMI, and a multimedia controller/audio bus (15DE) and a streaming chip (AMDAFSD in Windows). The video graphics output itself is Picasso/Vega 3 (67B0), although enabling it via ACPI has revealed it comes up as (15DE) GFX0. When I disable Whatevergreen it comes up as VGA display. In Windows the HD audio device appears as (AA01).
 
Top