Contribute
Register

Announcement: AMD Based Systems and tonymacx86

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
121
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What are the disadvantages of a Ryzentosh?
Maybe I am interested in building an AMD system.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Lenovo M93P Tiny
CPU
i5-4785T / Q87
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
What are the disadvantages of a Ryzentosh?
Maybe I am interested in building an AMD system.
Any application that use VT-D wont work. VT-D is Intel proprietary.
Docker (GUI) for start.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
790
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Any application that use VT-D wont work. VT-D is Intel proprietary.
Docker (GUI) for start.
Most of the guides say to disable virtualisation anyway and AMD also supports virtualisation, so is that really an issue?

The main problem with building an AMD hack is that most Adobe programs still have problems or won't run at all. There are additional fixes/patches to get over this but the latest Photoshop, for instance, still won't run. Camera stabilisation in After Effects is also hit and miss at the moment but Adobe seems to be slowly removing the Intel specific code from the macOS versions of their products.

So if you are not reliant on Adobe products you will probably be ok with a Ryzen hack.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
790
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
121
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Any application that use VT-D wont work. VT-D is Intel proprietary.
Docker (GUI) for start.
Does macOS support Vt-d?
AMD has AMD-Vi, why should that not work, if Vt-d does?
If I could pass through the Radeon to the Windows VM, that would be great. No need to dual boot then.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
121
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The main problem with building an AMD hack is that most Adobe programs still have problems or won't run at all. There are additional fixes/patches to get over this but the latest Photoshop, for instance, still won't run. Camera stabilisation in After Effects is also hit and miss at the moment but Adobe seems to be slowly removing the Intel specific code from the macOS versions of their products.

So if you are not reliant on Adobe products you will probably be ok with a Ryzen hack.
Thanks for the information. I am not using Adobe software.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
790
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The latest Adobe patches now allows Photoshop 2021 etc to run. The only issues I have seen are Liquify and Neural Filters don't work - which is no big issue for me as I don't use those.

Anyone running Topaz apps, e.g Denoie AI, Sharpen AI etc, the Adobe patches work for those apps as well. Just change the path from Adobe* to Topaz*.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Lenovo M93P Tiny
CPU
i5-4785T / Q87
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Most of the guides say to disable virtualisation anyway and AMD also supports virtualisation, so is that really an issue?

The main problem with building an AMD hack is that most Adobe programs still have problems or won't run at all. There are additional fixes/patches to get over this but the latest Photoshop, for instance, still won't run. Camera stabilisation in After Effects is also hit and miss at the moment but Adobe seems to be slowly removing the Intel specific code from the macOS versions of their products.

So if you are not reliant on Adobe products you will probably be ok with a Ryzen hack.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 08.48.00.png
    Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 08.48.00.png
    246.5 KB · Views: 163
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
121
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you have AMD-V activated?
Does VMware or Virtualbox work?
Docker is crap anyway. It consumes 15% CPU for doing nothing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
234
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299- A II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Plus
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have to wonder if Apple moving to ARM CPUs might actually facilitate more apps running without issues on Ryzentosh. Reason why I say this is because ARM forces developers not to rely on Intel specific features.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top