Contribute
Register

An iDiot's Guide To Lilu and its Plug-ins

Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
167
Motherboard
AsRock Taïchi Z-370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
didi you try to update your bios with a recent version (one that you can't revert back from ) without Matestomy's RTC patch? I had the same symptoms until I added the patch, and then refalshed the bios. ... I should have stayed on 3.4 but hey...

and by the way @jaymonkey, as soon as I disable IGPUmultimonitor it gives me that same screen...but the I enable it I don't get the intel generation question marks and gpuu names questions marks
 

Attachments

  • mp1.1devicepropigpumulitdisabled.png
    mp1.1devicepropigpumulitdisabled.png
    1.7 MB · Views: 24
  • mp1.1igpumultidisabled.png
    mp1.1igpumultidisabled.png
    318.6 KB · Views: 28
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
56
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GT 710 2 GB
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@grugattony Mhh haven't updated the bios. I got the same bios running Sierra perfectly. I even have done a clean install of Catalina but the problem with the HD4600 remains. I can't get it to load accelerated. I'm out of ideas of how to get the iGPU back to work.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,704
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Special note on desktop HD 4600 IGPU: If you have a Haswell CPU with a HD 4600 IGPU and no dGPU (IE: solo IGPU system) then one would assume that you would use the Intel HD 4600 PlatformID of 0x04160000 as detailed in the Haswell section this post. However from my experience it seems that use of this PlatformID will result in either no output being sent to the monitor or glitchy behaviour. You may have different results but it did not work for me on three different HD 4600 systems. After some trial and error I found that setting the PlatformID to 0x0D220003 (Intel Iris Pro Graphics 5200) and device-id to 0x0412 (Intel HD 4600) with the iMac 14,2 SMBIOS works very well for solo HD 4600 IGPU
I think I've come across the reason for this. In looking back at the 2013 iMacs which were dropped from support in Big Sur, I noticed that the 21.5" iMac from Late 2013 used Iris Pro 5200 as the primary GPU. Apple never used HD4600 as primary in any Mac sold during the Haswell era of 2013/14. That means that the Macs with HD4600 iGPU only used those graphics as headless in combination with the Nvidia discrete graphics such as the GT 750M. Hence, "use of this PlatformID (0x04160000) will result in either no output being sent to the monitor or glitchy behaviour."

Only Intel HD5000 graphics are still officially supported in Bug Sur. It will be interesting to see if we can still use HD4600 graphics by changing platformID to 0x0D220003 as we have always done in macOS versions up to Big Sur.
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,956
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That means that the Macs with HD4600 iGPU only used those graphics as headless in combination with the Nvidia discrete graphics such as the GT 750M. Hence, "use of this PlatformID (0x04160000) will result in either no output being sent to the monitor or glitchy behaviour."


@trs96,

I can see your logic and it does make sense however the 0x04160000 PlatformID is not a headless configuration, it is configured for desktop use with three active connectors (LVDS, DigitalDVI & HDMI) and a 209 MB buffer.

There are quite a few defined PlatformID's in other Apple IGPU framebuffer kexts that where never used in any released Macs (either as the primary GPU or in headless mode) and those seem to work fine.

My guess is that there is a bug or some miss configured registry data in the Azul kext driver when it comes to the HD 4600 IGPU and like you say as Apple never released a Mac with the HD 4600 as the primary GPU it never got fixed.

Speculation I know and the reality is probably somewhere between what you suggested and the above.

For most users with a HD 4600 using the 0x0D220003 PlatformID and patching the defined framebuffer connectors to match the physical ones on the motherboard can get things working.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
18
Motherboard
MSI P55-GD65
CPU
i5 << need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello i have an older computer with i5 first generation of Intel, i want to use graphic acceleration with pcie graphic ATI Sphafire rx 580 but dont work ... any sugestion? I have tried to configure it in several ways without much success ...
can i help me , i use a mojave OS ... please....
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,956
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@mocequi,

I assume you are asking about Intel Quick Sync (IQS) ? ... unfortunately IQS is not supported on the Nehalem generation of CPU's, IQS was first introduced in the generation that followed it (Sandy Bridge).

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
79
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390M Gaming x
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
Asus rog strix Rx 5700 xt
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone. Im working with an i7 8700, and z390m gaming x with evga gtx 1080 ftw, on high sierra. The best config that Hackintool suggest is 0x3E9B0007, and macmini 8.1 as smbios. If I set macmini 8.1 as smbios my system won't boot. I'm using 18.3. I would like to have h264 acceleration. I would really appreciate someone's help.
Seems that I cannot have a headless configuration with my specs.
Screen Shot 2020-07-26 at 10.25.49.png
Screen Shot 2020-07-26 at 10.26.50.png
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,956
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The best config that Hackintool suggest is 0x3E9B0007 ... I'm using 18.3. I would like to have h264 acceleration.


@nyoussefian,

0x3E9B0007 is not a headless PlatformID.

You must use a PlatformID that is supported by the SMBIOS otherwise it will not work.
Try using PlatformID 0x3E980003 with the iMac19,X SMBIOS as suggested in the guide.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
79
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390M Gaming x
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
Asus rog strix Rx 5700 xt
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@nyoussefian,

0x3E9B0007 is not a headless PlatformID.

You must use a PlatformID that is supported by the SMBIOS otherwise it will not work.
Try using PlatformID 0x3E980003 with the iMac19,X SMBIOS as suggested in the guide.

Cheers
Jay
Thanks for your advice.
I've set 0x3E980003 as PlatformID. And Also set 19,2 / 19,1 for SMBIOS. On both cases I get this on boot:
IMG_20200726_220138.jpg

So I wen't back to 18,3 and I can boot. And hackintool now shows this info:
Screen Shot 2020-07-26 at 23.41.27.png

I guess now I have a headless config, system info shows only dgpu.
Screen Shot 2020-07-26 at 23.42.33.png

But I still cannot get H264 to work.
Screen Shot 2020-07-26 at 23.43.18.png

PlatformId 0x3E980003 is available only if mac macOS 10.14 is selected on Framebuffer
Screen Shot 2020-07-26 at 23.44.07.png


Shouldn't I have 10.13 selected on the Framebuffer? Im on high sierra.

Thanks again for your reply.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,956
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@nyoussefian,

I think the reason MacOs won't boot with the iMac19,X SMBIOS is because those SMBIOS's require Mojave (10.14.5+)

Lilu + WhatEverGreen used to be able to work around those sorts of problems by spoofing an alternate CPU/IGPU generation but the boot flag has disappeared from the official documentation and guide in recent months so i don't think thats an option anymore.

I assume your sticking with High Sierra because of your Nvidia GPU ?

This puts you in a tricky position as you cant run the correct SMBIOS for your CPU/IGPU which means you cant use the correct PlatformID for the IGPU, hence the reason Hackintool shows ??? for the generation meaning that there is a miss-match in the configuration.

I doubt the IGPU will work correctly until you can use the correct frame buffer for it.
It's possible that there is a workaround for it but if there is i'm not familiar with it.

The best course of action if you want to run MacOS optimally would be to ditch the Nvidia dGPU and replace with an AMD dGPU which would allow you to run the correct SMBIOS for your CPU/IGPU generation and thus the correct PlatformID for the IGPU.

As it stands i think you will have to accept some compromises.
Sorry i cant help you any further ....

Cheers
Jay
 
Top