Contribute
Register

An iDiot's Guide To Lilu and its Plug-ins

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,984
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If I have optical audio output the system reboots several times. If the system don't has the optical audio output everything is fine, there is no random reboot.I've tried many different settings without any acceptable result ...... Is there anybody who has the same problem?


@vegaline,

Thats is a very strange issue and one that i've never heard of and also wound never expect.

As the Optical S/PDIF connection is only an output i don't really understand how the computer can reboot when it is connected as the signal is only in one direction (out) and is completely electrically isolated from the DAC or whatever you have connected at the other end.

Are you absolutely sure that the reboot only happens when the S/PDIF is physically connected or is it when you select it as the output device (which is more likely) in system preferences ?

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Formula IX
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@vegaline,

Thats is a very strange issue and one that i've never heard of and also wound never expect.

As the Optical S/PDIF connection is only an output i don't really understand how the computer can reboot when it is connected as the signal is only in one direction (out) and is completely electrically isolated from the DAC or whatever you have connected at the other end.

Are you absolutely sure that the reboot only happens when the S/PDIF is physically connected or is it when you select it as the output device (which is more likely) in system preferences ?

Cheers
Jay
First of all thank you for spending time on my problem. I really appreciate it. Yeah as you say it's a strange thing. I just tried to follow your method but the result is very annoying. I've spended approx 2 weeks on it. I'd like to attache screenshots of the 2 different status. Maybe you can pick on my problem's reason.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-02-12 at 14.43.39.png
    Screenshot 2020-02-12 at 14.43.39.png
    2.7 MB · Views: 65
  • Screenshot 2020-02-12 at 15.11.42.png
    Screenshot 2020-02-12 at 15.11.42.png
    2.2 MB · Views: 54

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
27,583
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First of all thank you for spending time on my problem. I really appreciate it. Yeah as you say it's a strange thing. I just tried to follow your method but the result is very annoying. I've spended approx 2 weeks on it. I'd like to attache screenshots of the 2 different status. Maybe you can pick on my problem's reason.
missing FakeSMC or VirtualSMC in /L/E
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
27,583
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have VirtualSMC in EFI/Clover/Kexts/Other
Do you think is it on the wrong place?

or have all your 3rd party kexts in clover
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Formula IX
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

or have all your 3rd party kexts in clover
I tried to install also to L/E but no step forward...
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,984
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'd like to attache screenshots of the 2 different status. Maybe you can pick on my problem's reason.


@vegaline,

In the second screen shot where you are using Method 2 (Device Properties) you have not followed the guide correctly.-

Lilu + Plug-in's guide said:
After installing AppleALC + Lilu reboot and edit your config.plist and set the string value of "Clover/Devices/Audio/Inject" to "No" and define "layout-id" as a custom Device Property.


I've annotated the relevant part of your screen shot below :-

audio-props.png


I don't think it's going to help with your issue but if your going to use the Device Properties method then you need to correct this error otherwise the Clover setting will conflict with the injected Device Properties.

You did not answer my question.

JayMonkey in post #725 said:
Are you absolutely sure that the reboot only happens when the S/PDIF is physically connected or is it when you select it as the output device (which is more likely) in system preferences (with nothing physically connected) ?


Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
1,073
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried to install also to L/E but no step forward...
Highly recommendation for moving all third-party (unsigned) kexts to Clover/Kexts/Other in macOS 10.15 Catalina or you will encounter potential problems.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Formula IX
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@vegaline,

In the second screen shot where you are using Method 2 (Device Properties) you have not followed the guide correctly.-




I've annotated the relevant part of your screen shot below :-

View attachment 449599

I don't think it's going to help with your issue but if your going to use the Device Properties method then you need to correct this error otherwise the Clover setting will conflict with the injected Device Properties.

You did not answer my question.




Cheers
Jay
I'm Sorry for not answering to your question.
Yes, you right. I didn't follow your guide correctly because if I put "Inject" to 'NO' then I get the black screen. I'm totally confused.
And regarding your original question, my S/PDIF is on the motherboard. When I use te 2nd method of your guide, I loose the S/PDIF but there is no any reboot issue. If i clear the "Properties" part I have the S/PDIF again but the reboot isuue come again.
Yesterday I decided to use the original "Mojave" system from an other SSD (using a Shappire RX VEGA 64 NITRO +) but I lost the UEFI boot record. USB boot is fine, the system is stable. I tried to make a boot record using Clover Bootloader but as I'm a beginner :) I don't know the right parameters of it.
Ps: Sorry for my English. :)
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Gene Z97 - 3503
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I have followed the guide for the automatic configuration of WEG.

My system specs are as follows:
Asus Gene 7 Z97
i7 4790K (hd 4600)
AMD RX 480

BIOS Settings are set as per the guide.
Installed Lilu and WEG in /L/E.

I remember a few months ago, I had successfully achieved to make the IGPU to work (or so I thought).
Not sure how I verified it back then, but trying to verify it works now, and not getting the expected results

All evidence shows it's currently not working, and I am unsure why.

I have the little volcanic icon within Hackintool -> Patch -> Connectors appearing
Hackintool Info either doesn't show anymore the Metal Support of the IGPU or there is a problem with the IGPU
IORegistry explorer has no entry for IGPU
IOReg | grep IMEI returns no results (grep HECI does though)

I am attaching files for you to check out.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot (346).png
    Screenshot (346).png
    68.6 KB · Views: 55
  • Screenshot (347).png
    Screenshot (347).png
    193.6 KB · Views: 56
  • Screenshot (348)_LI.jpg
    Screenshot (348)_LI.jpg
    512.2 KB · Views: 54
  • Screenshot (349).png
    Screenshot (349).png
    92.2 KB · Views: 57
  • Screenshot (350).png
    Screenshot (350).png
    11.6 KB · Views: 56
Top