Contribute
Register

An iDiot's Guide To Lilu and its Plug-ins

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,107
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
the 'Mac OS X' header/drive group/ whatever it is was not there before using the latest clover and doing the 10.14.6 update.

its not in clovers boot loader list, its not in the bios drive list (just the one time boot menu), its not in the UEFI BCFG dump.. its nowhere to be found

prove me wrong

@dragonmel,

Check to see if you have a hidden volume with that name that is being picked up by your BIOS/UEFI
In Terminal execute the following command :-

Code:
diskutil list
Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
84
Motherboard
Intel DX58SO
CPU
W3680
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
@dragonmel,

Check to see if you have a hidden volume with that name that is being picked up by your BIOS/UEFI
In Terminal execute the following command :-

Code:
diskutil list
Cheers
Jay

nope.. as I said.. diskutil list, and diskutil apfs list are normal just showing preboot, Mojave, Recovery partitions

the motherboards boot drive selection menu only knows and cares about physical devices...

when going into bios, there is only one drive available in the list, and again, booting without a drive .. the 'Mac OS X' descriptor is still there .. but only in the F10 one time boot menu..

so clover isn't putting it there on boot.. its in the NVRAM, or firmware of my board at this point

and I have never installed or called a volume Mac OS X on this board...

so during that 10.14.6 update, with the latest aptiomemfix allowing OS X to write to my NVRAM, it was able to inject something in there that I can't see or delete.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
84
Motherboard
Intel DX58SO
CPU
W3680
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Yes, the Preboot thing is normal.

The stuff installed on your boot volume are:
  • /Library/Preferences/com.projectosx.clover.intaller.plist
  • /Library/Receipts/, a bunch of files with names starting with "org.clover.". The actual number of files depend on the number of files you actually had the Clover installer install.
  • /usr/local/bin/bdmesg, clover-genconfig, espfinder, partutil

I don't know what gets installed on legacy installs.

ok.. and I am saying that I have 2 preboot in my clover list, not 1

and the install was done UEFI only... but on this board I have to use an install thumb drive that was made as legacy boot.. supposedly a quirk of the DX58so no being able to boot unibeast in UEFI mode properly..
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
84
Motherboard
Intel DX58SO
CPU
W3680
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Over at Toms hardware this guy describes essentially the same issues I am having .. just that I didn't install windows on the disk, I formatted it GPT/apfs and installed with unibeast

now there is an old label on the drive.. there is a possibility that it had an old windows 7 install on it.. perhaps it left some windows boot sector on the drive even after the format, but again.. I am getting a Mac OS X header not a windows header.. very strange


From Tom's

My PC can boot only if I hold F10 while it launches, even tho I have my drive with OS on the 1st place in order in bios. This problem has been since I installed Win10 on my 2T HDD this summer. (on 7/8.1 there was no such problem)
So if I hold F10 while booting, and manually select the right drive to boot (even if there is only 1 drive installed), then everything works fine.
If I just launch my PC without pressing F10, then I get a black screen that says:
"A bootable device has not been detected. Please refer to the Product Guide at support.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop"

What I tried so far and got nothing:
1) Changing SATA slots, none of them solves the problem.
2) Changing how my PC should treat SATA connections (IDE/SATA) both in bios and Registry Editor.
3) Deleting Win10 from HDD, buying a 120 GB SSD and installing it there.
4) Going to intel website, downloading latest (5600 or previous 5599) bios updates (EXE).
5) Installing RAID Driver (when I tried to, it said that I have no Intel hardware or something like that).
5) Disconnecting all other drives except the one with the OS and trying all SATA ports.

6) Downloading latest (5600 or prev. 5599) bios updates that you can install by launching DOS from USB Flash. With this one my PC restarted and was constantly restarting every 2 secs until I turned off power supply. Then after a couple of minutes I tried to boot it and try something else, but PC said that bios update was not successful and it cannot launch windows. I don't know how, but it fixed itself and I got my old bios back that I started with. To mention: I haven't updated bios ever because there was no reason for it.
There are many other versions of bios on Intel website for my MB, and I'd try them too but idk how it fixed itself last time. So I'll try them only if you tell me that it can help.

Also, I'm not able to set my PC to sleep/hibernate anymore, when I try to wake it up, coolers start to spin, but screen stays black (stand-by). Tried different Power scheme settings, it didn't help.


my system will auto sleep, but wakeup is still a crap shoot.. sometimes it will come back, others I get the same lights on but no video, the video cards GPU load meter that would normally have at least one bar does not light (not initializing) but I don't think the operating system is operating behind the black screen... the logs don't show any entries after the sleep, so it is never waking or attempting to wake.. just freezes.. also can't ping or ssh into the machine in that state.. again.. looks like a panic but usually if my board panics it reboots .. so non-standard behaviour
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Lenovo SuperX 5B
CPU
i7-6700H
Graphics
HD530 / GTX 960M
Mobile Phone
Android
I push the kexts of Clover/kexts/Other to /L/E using Hackintool, and then ,my battery patch doesn't work, but when i delete kexts of /L/E, then my battery patch back to work.
I don't why. But i don't delete the kexts of Clover/kexts/Other after using hackintool pushed those kexts to /L/E.
But the clover injects kexts by detecting automatic, so there are essential that deleting those kexts?
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,107
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I push the kexts of Clover/kexts/Other to /L/E using Hackintool, and then ,my battery patch doesn't work, but when i delete kexts of /L/E, then my battery patch back to work.

@RMTT,

Does your native DSDT battery code use EC code ?, if so then if it not patched correctly that can stop it working correctly.
See this guide for full details on patching DSDT code for working battery :-


If done correctly there should be no reason why it wont work with kexts installed in /L/E
It works fine on my HP Spectre X360 ...

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
MSI H81m-e33
CPU
i3-4170
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac
Hello everyone,
i success build a new pc :

i3 4170 haswell
MSI h81m-e33
16gb corsair 1600mhz
ssd 240 corsair
MSI RX570 armor

Lilu+whatevergreen already put on efi

the problem is i can't render video, always freeze but mouse still can moving around
how to fix this
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Lenovo SuperX 5B
CPU
i7-6700H
Graphics
HD530 / GTX 960M
Mobile Phone
Android
@RMTT,

Does your native DSDT battery code use EC code ?, if so then if it not patched correctly that can stop it working correctly.
See this guide for full details on patching DSDT code for working battery :-


If done correctly there should be no reason why it wont work with kexts installed in /L/E
It works fine on my HP Spectre X360 ...

Cheers
Jay
Hmm, my EC locates in one SSDT, not DSDT, and it can work correctly when i place all kexts into Clover/kexts/Other, so i think the patch is correct.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
84
Motherboard
Intel DX58SO
CPU
W3680
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
@jaymonkey

I have an interesting problem brewing again...


still working out the kinks on my DSDT (which I am now of the opinion I still must use my patched DSDT because I just can't get stable at all with just hot patching)

moving from el cap to Mojave also mandates that I now have to replace my SIL3124 based add in sata card.. I had a 3 disk apple raid (for data) on it but as everyone found out some time ago... it just crashes mojave and evidently can't be fixed

I went out a bought a 6 slot card that had OS X capability and booting spec'd. .

  • With using The Marvell 88SE9215 chip and ASM1093 chips, improve this card more stable and compatible.
when I put this card into my DX58so .. booting UEFI... I get WEIRDNESS again

at boot, I still have to F10 to get into the boot menu as clover not auto booting at all.. more on that in a different post

the cards bios config splashes and the drives are in the F10 one time boot list

I boot my Clover / Mojave EFI disk , get the loader, select and boot

It goes black screen somewhere in second stage I believe.. but its not crashing the machine

I can SSH into the box.. its up and running

FURTHER... the drives are loaded.. the apple 3strip raid is up and the files are there

but video is not

console logs show multiple GPU.restart events with associated dumps that mean less than nothing to me..

I have tried moving it to different slots, tried using the native DSDT instead of patch.. nothing changes.. same results

I MOVE OVER TO MY HP6300SFF mojave machine (nvidia 710)

I can boot mojave with this card installed everything working fine

I can BOOT MOJAVE from THIS CARD .. so its clearly not the card

I am thinking either a conflict with the Vega card at the hardware level (interrupts etc)

or more likely .. LILU/EVERGREEN ? or perhaps the intel DX58 jacked up UEFI half baked implementation ?



can anyone read these console logs and crash dumps and see if there is any hope of getting this card to function in the DX58s0?

Thanks

mods.. if you think this is better as a new thread... by all means move it!

thanks
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,107
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I boot my Clover / Mojave EFI disk , get the loader, select and boot It goes black screen somewhere in second stage I believe.. but its not crashing the machine I can SSH into the box.. its up and running

FURTHER... the drives are loaded.. the apple 3strip raid is up and the files are there

but video is not, console logs show multiple GPU.restart events with associated dumps that mean less than nothing to me..

@dragonmel,

I used a SIL RAID card on my main desktop hack many moons ago but Apple dropped support for it sometime around the time of Mavericks, they have a habit of doing that with 3rd Party RAID cards, recently they dropped support for some Highpoint RAID cards in the latest version of Mojave.

I moved away from using internal RAID arrays on my Hacks, these days I use a NAS with a large RAID array connected via 10 Gig Ethernet ... so much less hassle IMO.

The black screen after boot issue sounds like the dGPU is failing to fully initialise with the RAID card installed. I recently read a report of something very similar somewhere else on these forums .. sorry cant remember where.

Check the PCI device paths using Hackintool, MacOS can be picky about the device path of a dGPU even more so if your using a Mac Pro SMBIOS.

Did you move the dGPU to a different slot when you installed the new RAID card ?

I think many of the issues you are seeing are due to the age of your Motherboard and it's early UEFI BIOS.
Intel Motherboards are notorious for being the most difficult to get working with MacOS.

Cheers
Jay
 

Top