Contribute
Register

An iDiot's Guide To Lilu and its Plug-ins

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,911
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Yes I have tried placing nightshiftunlocker in /l/e and also /s/l/e (with kextutility)*all my other kexts including latest Lilu are installed in /clover/kexts/other.I had it on my to do list to check what best practice was regarding /c/k/o and /s/l/e and /l/e

@arpaterson,

You should never install kexts in /S/L/E on MacOS El-Capitan or later as it breaks SIP (System Integrity Protection)
For MacOS El-Capitan or later 3rd party kexts should be installed in /L/E .. see this guide for how & why :-


Also if you have Lilu + WhatEverGreen in /Clover/Kexts/Other but have installed nightshiftunlocker in /L/ E then it may not be able to link to Lilu as that will be outside of MacOS kernel memory because you are injecting it via Clover.

I personally recommend installing all 3rd Party kexts in /L/E (including FakeSMC) as per the linked guide above.

Make sure you set Clover Inject Kexts to Detect and only copy critical kexts required to run Installer, updater and recovery to /Clover/Kexts/Other.

Cheers
Jay
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,911
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
A dummy question, I need to add the boot argument -raddvi , where I put in the boot argument in clover? how? thanks for the patience.

@kochfede,

Edit your config.plist using a code or plist editor and find the section called "boot" in that section you should have a <Key> type called "Arguments" add -raddvi to the existing <string> type or create it as a new one :-

Code:
    <key>Boot</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Arguments</key>
        <string>-raddvi</string>

You can also add it using Clover Configurator if you are not familiar with editing plists.

Screenshot 2019-05-28 at 22.45.16.png

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Z170x Gigabyte Gaming 5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
R9 280X
Mac
MacBook Pro
@HackintoshNoobie,

iMac 17,1 is the correct SMBIOS to use for a Skylake CPU based system, and the use of the X86PlatformPlugin via the SSDT-XCPM.aml hot patch should be all that is required to enable Native CPU Power management in MacOS.




As per the sites FAQ, if you require help you most supply the Proper Problem Reporting Files (PPRF) using the debug tool detailed in this post :-





In most instances WhatEverGreen will take care of the ACPI device re-names so there is no need to specify them in your config.plist unless you have a specific case like the dGPU being in the wrong slot, you can check that the renames are being done by using IORegistryExplorer :-


Which you need installed in any case in-order to generate the PPRF's detailed above ...

Cheers
Jay
Hi Jay, thanks again. I have attached my PPRF report. I am not certain if the SSDT aml patch is working or the GFX rename is or is not enabled. I have the dGPU in the normal DGPU slot so that should be fine.

Maybe something is obvious to you in the report:

many thanks!
 

Attachments

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,911
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi Jay, thanks again. I have attached my PPRF report. I am not certain if the SSDT aml patch is working or the GFX rename is or is not enabled. I have the dGPU in the normal DGPU slot so that should be fine.

@HackintoshNoobie,

You are using Clover to enable the X86PlatFormormPlugin as well as using SSDT-XCOM.aml hot patch, use one method only not both as it may cause issues.

Screenshot 2019-05-29 at 12.15.37.png

I would disable (uncheck) the option in Clover and let the Hot Patch do the work ...

You are Injecting all your Kexts via Clover see this guide for info on how to install kexts correctly and why :-


Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Z170x Gigabyte Gaming 5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
R9 280X
Mac
MacBook Pro
@HackintoshNoobie,

You are using Clover to enable the X86PlatFormormPlugin as well as using SSDT-XCOM.aml hot patch, use one method only not both as it may cause issues.

View attachment 408797

I would disable (uncheck) the option in Clover and let the Hot Patch do the work ...

You are Injecting all your Kexts via Clover see this guide for info on how to install kexts correctly and why :-


Cheers
Jay
Hi Jay,

thanks again, one step closer. Here's what I've done:

  • Unchecked X86Platformplugin in clover
  • Installed kexts to L/E using the guide you wrote (left old ones in Clover/kexts/other though)
    • interestingly with the kexts only in Clover/... and system parameters set to detect, i had no mouse and keyboard at the login screen. That got solved once i installed the kexts to L/E
  • I tried verifying if my SSDT-XCOM is working as it should. I dont think i have native power management.
    • Reasons I think so:
      • Output from Hackintool tools output after:
      • Code:
        IGPU Info:
        ------------------------------------------
        IGPU Current Frequency.................. :    0 MHz
        IGPU Minimum Frequency.................. :  350 MHz
        IGPU Maximum Non-Turbo Frequency........ :  350 MHz
        IGPU Maximum Turbo Frequency............ : 1150 MHz
        IGPU Maximum limit...................... : 3000 MHz
      • Not sure if P-states are normal. seemed different from example given in the official guide:
      • Code:
        P-State ratio * 100 = Frequency in MHz
        ------------------------------------------
        CPU P-States [ 38 (40) ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU C3-Cores [ 0 4 5 6 ]
        CPU C6-Cores [ 0 1 2 3 4 5 ]
        CPU C7-Cores [ 2 3 4 5 6 7 ]
        CPU P-States [ (8) 25 38 40 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU C3-Cores [ 0 1 4 5 6 7 ]
        CPU C6-Cores [ 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ]
        CPU P-States [ 8 25 31 38 (40) ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU C3-Cores [ 0 1 3 4 5 6 7 ]
        CPU P-States [ (8) 25 27 31 38 40 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU C3-Cores [ 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ]
        CPU P-States [ (8) 25 27 29 31 38 40 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU P-States [ 8 25 27 29 31 38 (40) 41 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU P-States [ 8 25 27 29 31 38 39 (40) 41 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU P-States [ 8 25 27 29 31 37 38 39 (40) 41 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU P-States [ 8 25 27 29 31 36 37 38 39 (40) 41 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU P-States [ 8 25 27 29 31 36 37 38 39 40 41 (42) ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU P-States [ (8) 25 27 29 30 31 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
        CPU P-States [ 8 25 27 29 30 31 33 36 37 38 39 (40) 41 42 ] iGPU P-States [ ]
      • Finally the Intel Power Gadget further shows same GFX values.. 0 baseline and not pegged when using..

Attached a current debug log. Do you have any ideas of what I can try to get the IGPU working correctly with my dGPU?

Much appreciated.
 

Attachments

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,911
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Attached a current debug log. Do you have any ideas of what I can try to get the IGPU working correctly with my dGPU?

@HackintoshNoobie,

Why are you enabling the 2048MB VRAM patch for the IGPU ?, it will have no beneficial effect and is just wasting system RAM as the IGPU does not use VRAM when run in headless mode. I'm not sure if that is contributing to the problem or not but you should remove these lines from your config.plist.

Code:
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>

Intel Power Gadget does not always show the correct readings for the IGPU .. it's a know issue and has got worse with more recent versions of IPG, for example it doesn't show anything on my White Knight build (HD 4600) but the IGPU is working just fine in headless mode.

With the 2048MB VRAM patch removed reboot and then open Activity Monitor, then Click on the "Window" menu and select "GPU History"

Screenshot 2019-05-30 at 12.14.36.png

In your case you should get two graphs one for the IGPU and one for the dGPU, do some IGPU intensive tasks such as previewing jpegs and videos in Finder ... etc, watch the GPU History graphs for activity.

More info on Activity Monitor GPU History here :-


Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Z170x Gigabyte Gaming 5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
R9 280X
Mac
MacBook Pro
@HackintoshNoobie,

Why are you enabling the 2048MB VRAM patch for the IGPU ?, it will have no beneficial effect and is just wasting system RAM as the IGPU does not use VRAM when run in headless mode. I'm not sure if that is contributing to the problem or not but you should remove these lines from your config.plist.

Code:
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>

Intel Power Gadget does not always show the correct readings for the IGPU .. it's a know issue and has got worse with more recent versions of IPG, for example it doesn't show anything on my White Knight build (HD 4600) but the IGPU is working just fine in headless mode.

With the 2048MB VRAM patch removed reboot and then open Activity Monitor, then Click on the "Window" menu and select "GPU History"

View attachment 408975

In your case you should get two graphs one for the IGPU and one for the dGPU, do some IGPU intensive tasks such as previewing jpegs and videos in Finder ... etc, watch the GPU History graphs for activity.

More info on Activity Monitor GPU History here :-


Cheers
Jay
Hi Jay,

thanks for the tip. I removed the 2 items you mentioned and rebooted. Verified the changes after reboot, and see there I still only have 1 GPU monitor when using the activity monitor as you described. This is probably why I'm still not seeing a gain from the iGPU. I'm stumped, I really thought I would get two graphs. See attachment(scrubbing FCPX clip). Now I'm curious why the Intel power gadget shows any GFX frequency at all if OSX doesn't think it has dual GPU. Very odd.

Any other recommendation on what I should try? I still have the kexts in the EFI/CLOVER folder, not sure if that would be what has been causing my grief this whole time, but i could remove them since they are in L/E.

thanks again,
 

Attachments

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,911
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I removed the 2 items you mentioned and rebooted. Verified the changes after reboot, and see there I still only have 1 GPU monitor when using the activity monitor as you described. This is probably why I'm still not seeing a gain from the iGPU. I'm stumped

@HackintoshNoobie,

I think Apple might have changed something recently in Mojave, I just tested it on my White Knight system (see sig for specs) and Activity Monitor only shows one graph for the dGPU and no green trace for the IGPU in IPG. I have not changed anything on the system and both Activity Monitor and IPG used to show the IGPU even though its headless.

So i believe that something must have changed in one of the recent Mojave updates ...

I have iStat Menus installed and it does show IGPU memory activity when using Preview and playing back videos, so I think it is still working ...

There is also a good possibility that Apple have screwed something up (it would not be the first time ;)) as there are reports on the Apple forums from users with current gen MacBook Pros who also do not see IGPU History in Activity Monitor.

Lets hope it get fixed in 10.14.6

Cheers
Jay
 
Top