Contribute
Register

An iDiot's Guide To Lilu and its Plug-ins

Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
335
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti & UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Mrgeque,

The device properties section in your config.plist is a complete mess ...
Why do you have so many unused and duplicated properties defined for the IGPU ?

Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key># DVMT-prealloc</key>
                <data>
                MgALAAAJvwAAC/8OAAAMAAALAAAM7QAAAAsK
                </data>
                <key>## @0 LVDS-&gt;DP</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>## @1 HDMI</key>
                <string>0</string>
                <key>## @2 HDMI</key>
                <string>0</string>
                <key>## @3 HDMI</key>
                <string>0</string>
                <key>#1 0306-&gt;0105</key>
                <data>
                AFkbAAAAEAUAAK0AAwYADQ==
                </data>
                <key>#1 framebuffer-con1-alldata</key>
                <data>
                AQUKAAAIAACHAQAAAgQKAAAIAACHAQAA/wAAAAEAAAAg
                AAAA
                </data>
                <key>#1 framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>#2 0204-&gt;0105</key>
                <data>
                AFkbAAAAEAUAAK0AAgQADQ==
                </data>
                <key>#2 framebuffer-con1-alldata</key>
                <string>01050A00 00080000 87010000 03060A00 00040000 87010000 FF000000 01000000 20000000 </string>
                <key>#2 framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>#3 framebuffer-con1-alldata</key>
                <data>
                /wAAAAEAAAAgAAAA/wAAAAEAAAAgAAAA/wAAAAEAAAAg
                AAAA
                </data>
                <key>#3 framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>#3 no external</key>
                <data>
                AFkbAAAAAAAAAAoAAA4AAAAAACBKAAMG
                </data>
                <key>#AAPL00,override-no-edid</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>#framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>#framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>
                AAQAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>#framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>
                hwEAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>#framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>
                hwEAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>#framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>
                hwEAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>#hda-gfx</key>
                <data>
                AAsKDQ==
                </data>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                AAAbWQ==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                FlkAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAwAQ==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
            </dict>

If we clean this up by removing all unused properties (those beginning #) we get :-

Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                AAAbWQ==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                FlkAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAwAQ==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
            </dict>

From this the we can now easily see that the issue is most likely due to :-

Code:
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <string>1</string>

This is incorrect ... framebuffer-patch-enable should have a data value defined in hex, you have a string value defined in ASCII. The correct property should be :-

Code:
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>

So the final device properties section for the IGPU should look like this :-

Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                AAAbWQ==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                FlkAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAA==
                </data>    
               <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAwAQ==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
            </dict>

However as framebuffer-patch-enable was not set correctly none of the other patches (stolenmem & fbmem) would be working so you may get strange results ... since those patches where not enabled I recommend that you start with just the 2048MB VRAM patch so try this first :-

Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                AAAbWQ==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                FlkAAA==
                </data>   
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
            </dict>

Which in Clover Configurator would look like this :-

View attachment 399991

Once you have made the changes, reboot and check IGPU operation and that VRAM is 2048MB ....

You can then re-add the stolenmem and fbmem patches if they are required (I suspect not as they where not active in your current config.plist due to framebuffer-patch-enable not being set correctly).

The moral of the post is keep your code tidy and you'll spot errors much easier !!

Cheers
Jay
thank you @jaymonkey for your help and your time. unfortunately AFTER using the modified config.plist when Framebuffer patch is enabled I only can use HDMI, internal screen isn't recognized. I'm stumped at this point. is there something else I'm missing?
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
335
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti & UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Finally!!! Thanks @jaymonkey for your help. I'm able to boot into the internal screen with 2048mb vram. no my question, although resolution is 3840x2160, the UI in system reports as UI looks LIKE 1920x1080. is that normal?
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,449
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Finally!!! Thanks @jaymonkey for your help. I'm able to boot into the internal screen with 2048mb vram.

@Mrgeque,

No Problem ..... Glad it's working now ....

Now my question, although resolution is 3840x2160, the UI in system reports as UI looks LIKE 1920x1080. is that normal?

Yes thats completely normal .... By default MacOS scales HI-DPI screens to 1920x1080 to make the UI easer to read.
You can change the scaling size in System Prefs -> Displays :-

Screenshot 2019-04-17 at 13.15.05.png
I have 4K screen on my 15" HP Spectre X360 laptop, and this is by far the best setting to use, Apps such as photoshop .. etc will still treat the display as 4K though so you still have lots of pixels to play with.

If you want to set the MacOS UI size by resolution then Option (⌥) click on "Scaled" to toggle the UI resolution selection between scaled and supported screen resolutions.

Screenshot 2019-04-17 at 13.17.18.png
However 4K on an internal laptop screen is almost impossible to use unless you have superman's eye's :)

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
335
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti & UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Mrgeque,

No Problem ..... Glad it's working now ....




Yes thats completely normal .... By default MacOS scales HI-DPI screens to 1920x1080 to make the UI easer to read.
You can change the scaling size in System Prefs -> Displays :-

View attachment 400110
I have 4K screen on my 15" HP Spectre X360 laptop, and this is by far the best setting to use, Apps such as photoshop .. etc will still treat the display as 4K though so you still have lots of pixels to play with.

If you want to set the MacOS UI size by resolution then Option (⌥) click on "Scaled" to toggle the UI resolution selection between scaled and supported screen resolutions.

View attachment 400111
However 4K on an internal laptop screen is almost impossible to use unless you have superman's eye's :)

Cheers
Jay
thanks @jaymonkey for your response, your insight, your help and whatever else I forgot to mention. last question; although I can boot my internal screen with 2048 mb vram, when I open Hackintool and click on vram it show fbmem at 0 bytes, is that an issue with the Hackintool? is it possible to have the 2048mb vram and 0 bytes fbmem? or should I not worry since IORegisteryExplorer shows fbmem as <00 00 90 00>?
 

Attachments

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,449
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
last question; although I can boot my internal screen with 2048 mb vram, when I open Hackintool and click on vram it show fbmem at 0 bytes, is that an issue with the Hackintool? is it possible to have the 2048mb vram and 0 bytes fbmem? or should I not worry since IORegisteryExplorer shows fbmem as <00 00 90 00>?

@Mrgeque,

FBMem is different to VRAM .. don't get the two confused ... almost all Intel IGPU's don't use any FBMem (0 Bytes), the few that do only use a very small amount (normally around 21MB).

As long as System Information -> Graphics/Displays shows 2048 MB VRAM then the patch is working.

Screenshot 2019-04-17 at 22.11.28.png
MacOS allocates IGPU VRAM dynamically as its needed based on VRAM load, the figure listed in Sys Info shows the maximum available ... by default MacOS caps it at 1.5GB the patch increases the cap to 2GB which can help IGPU's driving 4K displays.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
335
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti & UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Mrgeque,

FBMem is different to VRAM .. don't get the two confused ... almost all Intel IGPU's don't use any FBMem (0 Bytes), those that do only use a very small amount (normally around 21MB).

As long as System Information -> Graphics/Displays shows 2048 MB VRAM then the patch is working.

View attachment 400160
MacOS allocates IGPU VRAM dynamically as its needed based on VRAM load, the figure listed in Sys Info shows the maximum available ... by default MacOS caps it at 1.5GB the patch increases the cap to 2GB which can help IGPU's driving 4K displays.

Cheers
Jay
THANKS @jaymonkey. thanks to your help, my HacBookPro4K is complete!!! by far you've proven to be knowledgeable, patient, and willing to help. I was so frustrated in the beginning even was suspended for 1 day, But thanks to your HELP I really mean HELP, I was able to work it out. Since I am new to this, its VERY USEFUL and helpful to have things explained in detail. You really looked out for me bro. and I really wanted to say THANKS:thumbup:
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,449
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
THANKS @jaymonkey. thanks to your help, my HacBookPro4K is complete!!! by far you've proven to be knowledgeable, patient, and willing to help. I was so frustrated in the beginning even was suspended for 1 day, But thanks to your HELP I really mean HELP, I was able to work it out. Since I am new to this, its VERY USEFUL and helpful to have things explained in detail. You really looked out for me bro. and I really wanted to say THANKS:thumbup:

@Mrgeque,

No problem thats what we do here at TMx86 .. we believe that its far better to explain things through guides and help so that you learn how to do things yourself rather then just doing the fix for you where you learn nothing.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
335
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti & UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Mrgeque,

No problem thats what we do here at TMx86 .. we believe that its far better to explain things through guides and help so that you learn how to do things yourself rather then just doing the fix for you where you learn nothing.

Cheers
Jay
reading some guides is almost like a foreign language to a noob. but your detailed descriptions not only fix the problem, but it helped me to learn something new. honestly, thanks bro @jaymonkey
 
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
53
When using shikigva=1 or shikigva=57 MacOS should automatically select the most appropriate hardware renderer to use based on the detected/configured hardware, in most instances this will be the Intel IGPU and you should not need to do anything else.
Thank you Jay for this useful thread
Please I don't understand this part ; Can you explain it please ?
In my case everything just working great ; I am connecting 4k monitor via RX 580 displayport and Hardware acceleration is working
My intel HD 530 showing vram 2048 and everything seems shown correcty in Hackintool
 
Last edited by a moderator:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,449
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thank you Jay for this useful thread ... Please I don't understand this part ; Can you explain it please ? .... In my case everything just working great ; I am connecting 4k monitor via RX 580 displayport and Hardware acceleration is working ... My intel HD 530 showing vram 2048 and everything seems shown correcty in Hackintool
I need to get around to updating that part of the guide ... more recently MacOS and WEG will now favour a AMD GPU for DRM over a IGPU which is probably why things are working well for you ... so no need to play with any shiki settings.

Glad everything is working well for you.

Cheers
Jay
 
Top