An iDiot's Guide To iMessage

Discussion in 'General Help' started by P1LGRIM, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Jul 3, 2016 at 4:03 AM #11
    larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    My question does not relate to the serial number. It relates to ROM / MLB.
     
  2. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,646
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 3, 2016 at 4:19 AM #12
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,646
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    The MLB is the serial number for the motherboard. (MLB = Main Logic Board )

    "Open a Finder window and browse to the location where you downloaded simpleMLB.sh
    Drag simpleMLB.sh from Finder onto the Terminal window, click inside the Terminal window and press Return"

    • [​IMG]

    "Copy the generated number then paste it into Clover Configurator - SMBIOS - Board Serial Number." This guide also says to simply "Make sure that the MLB box is empty" so don't fill in anything in that box under Rt Variables.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016
  3. larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Jul 3, 2016 at 4:41 AM #13
    larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Correct - so up until now, I've followed guides that said the MLB and the ROM had to be from a real Mac computer for iMessage to work. So I did exactly that - I took a ROM / MLB from a mate's iMac for my own Hackintosh and put it in the ROM / MLB settings as well as used the MLB as the board serial number in SMBIos. This is the first guide I have seen that departs from that. So, for clarity, I am questioning that this new procedure works as its quite different to anything else I've seen.

    *edit* I've always generated my own serial number using shake... (different to the board serial number)
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2016
  4. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,646
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 3, 2016 at 4:53 AM #14
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,646
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Is your iMessage still working on your hackintosh ? If not, give this a try and see what happens. tonymacx86 has stated that you may use an MLB from a Mac that you own but not from someone else's Mac. That can cause conflicts if that iMac is still in use and trying to access the iMessage / Facetime servers at Apple.
     
  5. larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Jul 3, 2016 at 4:56 AM #15
    larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    My iMessage works fine - no problem at all. FaceTime as well. My mate has his iMessage and FaceTime working on his iMac as well and its still in use.

    Therefore, you might wonder why I am therefore bothering we asking about this... It's more, as you say, that there are warnings about using a live ROM / MLB from another in use Mac - but so far I haven't encountered any issues. I wonder whether I should change to this method though given the ongoing risk? That's the key question.
     
  6. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,646
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 3, 2016 at 5:06 AM #16
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,646
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I can't answer that but I'm sure that P1LGRIM and other moderators will leave some comments here to clear up this issue for you the next day or two. The guide in post #1 is the current preferred method for anyone setting up their El Capitan CustoMac. As long as you or anyone else follows it step by step it should work without problems.
     
  7. larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Jul 3, 2016 at 5:16 AM #17
    larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    OK, thanks mate. The other thing to consider with the ROM / MLB is that I think Handoff relies on that data as well. So not sure that whilst iMessage may work with this method, I wonder if Handoff does as well? I'm entering into an area that I don't really understand too well either, but I think we need some clarity around how the ROM / MLB situation should work going forward for all services that depend on those fields.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2016
  8. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,620
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 3, 2016 at 9:29 AM #18
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,620
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Great news :thumbup:
     
  9. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,620
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 3, 2016 at 9:38 AM #19
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,620
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    There has never been a need to use cloned values - You just have to set everything up properly.

    @UtterDisbelief Confirmed (in another thread) that this method enabled Continuity and Handoff too.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2016
  10. larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Jul 3, 2016 at 9:40 AM #20
    larrikinaus

    larrikinaus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29

    Wow - thank you for confirming that. And thank you for taking the time to right such clear instructions on this. Well done. I'll spend some time and re-do my iMac config and move away from using my mate's ROM / MLB.
     

Share This Page