Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> AMD WX4170 dGPU on ZBook G5 17 Laptop

Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
157
Motherboard
H87M-PRO
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 660 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
This is simple tool to reposition all modules. Working fine if need to replace all modules from one vbios to another. I was used that sheet to copy Vaughn modules to 560X Vbios.
 

Attachments

  • RepositionAllModules.xlsx.zip
    23.1 KB · Views: 8
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
157
Motherboard
H87M-PRO
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 660 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Finished 2 tools that can help to analyze atom bios tables, reposition them and even patch modules positions, or switch them off.

I can share google sheet link for testing. Later will add excel sheet export, but I am afraid that it won’t work there.

I was use different builds of that sheets before I revealed java app ATOMTableResize

But this app can’t resize vgafirmware, cannot disable modules. So that’s why I have to get back to that project to make final 4150, 4170 hp vbios builds that will work on Catalina and higher!



AS EXPECTED, EXCEL NOT SUPPORT "SORT" FORMULA. HOW TO FIX IT, I DONT KNOW...
FAC4CE73-F6F2-48F8-9979-96F33E11B7D0.jpegDA48A99F-8F1C-4495-A5E7-37B7194BDFDC.jpeg4F3BFFCA-21A3-4A07-A544-43C23501CE21.jpeg5FEA5EA6-7C88-4015-8DA1-1514E35F7692.jpeg7EC723DF-BF0D-479A-BAB1-43242DFFE8F7.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • xls.zip
    189.8 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
157
Motherboard
H87M-PRO
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 660 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
NEW TESTING BUILD FOR WX 4170
(Aomorhid)
(Zbook G5)




Beta testing Aomorhid builds. For Zbook G5

Deleted memory traininginfo data
Replaced memory training command
Replaced EnableGraphSurfaces command
Replaced EnableHW_IconCursor command
Replaced MC_InitParameter_AdjustARB_SEQ data
Patched Data_Object_Info_Aomorhid-patched data

Rebuild to structure of Crane\Pegatron, so there is nothing to patch anymore.

Everything other is 100% vanila.





Edit1.
Updated Files with vanila connectors and patched.
Recommend to start from MyStyle patch, as I am now on it, and it working fine.
I will update this post to keep all in one place.
Bug reports are welcome!


Edit2.

Note Apple doesn't use SpeedFanControl. so module can be blanked with: "0A00010200005B7A0000"
 

Attachments

  • Aomorhid-nomemtrain-02-Connectors_V1-VanilaConnectors.rom.zip
    113.2 KB · Views: 17
  • Aomorhid-nomemtrain-02-Connectors_V2-MyStyle.rom.zip
    113.2 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
277
Motherboard
Zbook G5 17"
CPU
i7
Graphics
AMD WX-4170
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Not tested Aomorhid builds. For Zbook G5

Deleted memory traininginfo data
Replaced memory training command
Replaced EnableGraphSurfaces command
Replaced EnableHW_IconCursor command
Replaced MC_InitParameter_AdjustARB_SEQ data
Patched Data_Object_Info_Aomorhid-patched data

Same structure as Crane\Pegatron, so there is nothing to patch anymore.

Everything other is 100% vanila.


YOU DID IT!!!!!

Everything works, all video outputs, and with the same Aomorhid performance across all OS's

Haven't tested discrete mode yet, but everything else is perfect!
Voltage scales back correctly on battery, clock goes up to 1.2 on load.
Catalina is not unhappy anymore!
Linux and Windows are the same as with vanilla aomorhid rom.

Even my injected PP table to boost performance and scale back for battery savings works as before!

You did it!!!!

Thank you!!!!

Wohoo!!!! so happy!!!

Going to try Big Sur and Monterey next!!!


(used this rom Aomorhid-nomemtrain-01.rom)
 

Attachments

  • Bench Mojave.png
    Bench Mojave.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 21
  • Benches.png
    Benches.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 21
  • HWiNFO64_xEkTrMxrQM.png
    HWiNFO64_xEkTrMxrQM.png
    213.6 KB · Views: 22
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
157
Motherboard
H87M-PRO
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 660 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
YOU DID IT!!!!!

Everything works, all video outputs, and with the same Aomorhid performance across all OS's

Haven't tested discrete mode yet, but everything else is perfect!
Voltage scales back correctly on battery, clock goes up to 1.2 on load.
Catalina is not unhappy anymore!
Linux and Windows are the same as with vanilla aomorhid rom.

Even my injected PP table to boost performance and scale back for battery savings works as before!

You did it!!!!

Thank you!!!!

Wohoo!!!! so happy!!!

Going to try Big Sur and Monterey next!!!


(used this rom Aomorhid-nomemtrain-01.rom)
That’s great! I am happy to! It was a long way! But I send you two handmade files accidentally! So far you’re lucky because that build with atomtableresizer was wrong module position and I forgot to compare them! Try to hold discrete as encoders could be wrong. I will make two versions for testing. Anyway Ubuntu will work with both of them, and you will be able to recover in case if output will fail, but before this test you should make Ubuntu first in boot order. Also that version has a lot garbage, I will clean it tomorrow too!

I am really happy that we have progress so far!

Also need to patch option rom PCIR length, and length of the vbios, as I made it as bigger as I can. So some short work to make it same as mine!


Have a question: your power management is working fine with battery back to ac? The gpu core frequency rise back to highest clock?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
157
Motherboard
H87M-PRO
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 660 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
And need to patch setclock module. As in discrete it will make random freezes when acceleration will start
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
277
Motherboard
Zbook G5 17"
CPU
i7
Graphics
AMD WX-4170
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
That’s great! I am happy to! It was a long way!
Very long process, but worth it. I Believe we both learned a lot about reverse engineering atom bioses. :)
Anyway Ubuntu will work with both of them, and you will be able to recover in case if output will fail, but before this test you should make Ubuntu first in boot order.
It doesn't matter if the laptop won't post, and if it does, I can always revert to hybrid. Problem with bad rom is discrete will not post and only recovery is to remove the mxm card and reset bios.

But I figure that because you didn't change device-id, that the bios would likely revert to it's internal version of the rom if there's an error.

Have a question: your power management is working fine with battery back to ac? The gpu core frequency rise back to highest clock?
Yes it does both in windows and OSX
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
157
Motherboard
H87M-PRO
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 660 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
It doesn't matter if the laptop won't post, and if it does, I can always revert to hybrid
It will post but only if lid is closed and external monitor connected. Encoder will fail detect main output, will try to work with dp-hdmi, but failed. And it will auto connect to disabled eDP and failed, but it will continue boot sequence. When Ubuntu start booting it will rebuild connector encoders and will show desktop.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
277
Motherboard
Zbook G5 17"
CPU
i7
Graphics
AMD WX-4170
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
It will post but only if lid is closed and external monitor connected. Encoder will fail detect main output, will try to work with dp-hdmi, but failed. And it will auto connect to disabled eDP and failed, but it will continue boot sequence. When Ubuntu start booting it will rebuild connector encoders and will show desktop.

I thought I tried all possible ways to recover from a non-post discrete, including hidden hotkeys to refresh bios, etc... and maybe I missed this one, can't remember.
Will test this if I ever encounter a non-posting discrete mode, but hopefully never going to need to test this.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
157
Motherboard
H87M-PRO
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 660 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
@theroadw, Disable module is not enough. Ive made it month ago and got brick. Same i get yesterday. If MemTrainInfo is disabled, then need to patch memory training command. But even then it will brick, as some registers now are missing. But if patch EnableGraphSurfaces registers at the end of the file between 5B and 5B HEX bytes, then those registers will appear again, but now the module connected with EnableHW_IconCursor, MC_InitParameter_AdjustARB_SEQ and they are need to be replaced too. But Key problem is next - encoders will fail as Transmitter will freeze in loop sequence of mismatch (wrong) encoders object IDs. And if Encoders are patched, then need to patch registers of ClockSource and PixelClock for discrete mode.

But I made a Encoders patch that can cheat with ClockSource and pixelclock. So hope that only one register left to patch
 
Top