Contribute
Register

AMD Radeon Performance Enhanced SSDT

Joined
Nov 13, 2012
Messages
65
Motherboard
Asrock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Not sure anyone has tried. I know the method using the radeon boost.kext does not. That method causes a KP in 10.15.5.
This is why I am asking. As far as I can tell both methods accomplish the same thing: Let macOS load the SMU firmware to the GPU. The kernel panic seems to only happen when used with the Radeon framebuffer but not with names ones.
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
CF31L-1
CPU
I3 M-350
Graphics
Ironlake
Mac
Mac Pro
Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>@0,name</key>
                <string>ATY,Orinoco</string>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Slot-1@0,1,0/0,0</string>
                <key>ATY,EFIVersion</key>
                <data>MDEuMDEuMTkw</data>
                <key>CFG_PTPL2_TBL</key>
                <data>ggAAAHwAAAB2AAAAcAAAAGoAAABkAAAAXgAAAFgAAABSAAAATAAAAEYAAABAAAAAOgAAADQAAAAuAAAAKAAAAA==</data>
                <key>CFG_USE_AGDC</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_SCANOUT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_TCON</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP_BootupDisplayState</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>PP_DisableMCDownLoadFeature</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP_EnableLoadFalconSmcFirmware</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP_Falcon_QuickTransition_Enable</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP_PowerPlayEnabled</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>PP_WorkLoadPolictyMask</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>AMD Radeon RX 580</string>
            </dict>

That's for Clover.

You might have to change the PciRoot path (check yours with Hackintool >> PCIe >> Device Path)
Shouldn't this be:
Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>@0,name</key>
                <string>ATY,Orinoco</string>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Slot-1@0,1,0/0,0</string>
                <key>ATY,EFIVersion</key>
                <data>MDEuMDEuMTkw</data>
                <key>CFG,CFG_PTPL2_TBL</key>
                <data>ggAAAHwAAAB2AAAAcAAAAGoAAABkAAAAXgAAAFgAAABSAAAATAAAAEYAAABAAAAAOgAAADQAAAAuAAAAKAAAAA==</data>
                <key>CFG,CFG_USE_AGDC</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG,CFG_USE_SCANOUT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG,CFG_USE_TCON</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP,PP_BootupDisplayState</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>PP,PP_DisableMCDownLoadFeature</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP,PP_EnableLoadFalconSmcFirmware</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP,PP_Falcon_QuickTransition_Enable</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP,PP_PowerPlayEnabled</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>PP,PP_WorkLoadPolictyMask</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>AMD Radeon RX 580</string>
            </dict>
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
CF31L-1
CPU
I3 M-350
Graphics
Ironlake
Mac
Mac Pro
Early SSDT for the rx 580, works best with Catalina, for Mojave I don't know.

My Sapphire Nitro RX 480 8GB has a clock of 1276 Mhz, so RX 580 should get a higher score.

How to install : use the SSDT into Clover/acpi/patched + WEG.

Also test after a sleep/ wake cycle, for me worked without.

For the second stage boot loading bar use the first display port of your GPU.

More good things are coming, trying to inject properties from the Radeon Pro 580.
For some reason I can't open this in MaciASL. Can you please post the text inside?
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
CF31L-1
CPU
I3 M-350
Graphics
Ironlake
Mac
Mac Pro
add via textedit. Check Proper later ... I just don't know if that is good?View attachment 466303
When doing DP injection you need to write CFG,CFG_SOMETHING and PP,PP_SOMETHING, since all these are handled by WhateverGreen.
"
  • How could I tune my GPU configuration?
    ATI/AMD GPUs could be configured by aty_config, aty_properties parameters that one could find in AMDxxxxController.kext Info.plist files. Different framebuffers have overrides for these preferences for lower energy consumption, higher performance, or other reasons. Unfortunately in such combinations they often are unsuitable for different GPUs.
    WhateverGreen allows to specify your own preferred parameters via GPU controller properties to achieve best GPU configuration. Use CFG, prefix for aty_config properties, PP, prefix for aty_properties, and CAIL, prefix for cail_properties from AMDRadeonXxxxx.kext Info.plist files. For example, to override CFG_FB_LIMIT value in aty_config you should use CFG,CFG_FB_LIMIT property.
    Further details are available in SSDT sample to get the general idea."

 
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z390-A
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
5700XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @mattystonnie, I've been using SSDT-RX5700XT-Version1.0.aml for about a month and it works great, except that I'm unable to boot into Windows from the OpenCore boot selector, and I think it's because the SSDT doesn't have a If (_OSI ("Darwin")) anywhere. I tried to add it myself, using MaciASL but it keeps giving me compile errors. Do you have any suggestions on how I can make this patch apply to macOS only?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
536
Motherboard
Z370M-DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K (OC 5Ghz)
Graphics
RX580 & UHD630 Headless
Shouldn't this be:
Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>@0,name</key>
                <string>ATY,Orinoco</string>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Slot-1@0,1,0/0,0</string>
                <key>ATY,EFIVersion</key>
                <data>MDEuMDEuMTkw</data>
                <key>CFG,CFG_PTPL2_TBL</key>
                <data>ggAAAHwAAAB2AAAAcAAAAGoAAABkAAAAXgAAAFgAAABSAAAATAAAAEYAAABAAAAAOgAAADQAAAAuAAAAKAAAAA==</data>
                <key>CFG,CFG_USE_AGDC</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG,CFG_USE_SCANOUT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG,CFG_USE_TCON</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP,PP_BootupDisplayState</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>PP,PP_DisableMCDownLoadFeature</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP,PP_EnableLoadFalconSmcFirmware</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP,PP_Falcon_QuickTransition_Enable</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP,PP_PowerPlayEnabled</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>PP,PP_WorkLoadPolictyMask</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>AMD Radeon RX 580</string>
            </dict>
I don't know since the first one works perfectly fine for me on both Mojave and Catalina.

EDIT: I tried your version and it does the same.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
CF31L-1
CPU
I3 M-350
Graphics
Ironlake
Mac
Mac Pro
I don't know since the first one works perfectly fine for me on both Mojave and Catalina.

EDIT: I tried your version and it does the same.
I believe this is the proper way when working with WEG. The thing is in OpenCore you have to delete existing property first. By doing it this way you just instruct WEG to change the property. Also when you inject Orinoco most of those properties are already set. There is no need to reset them to the same value. Look at the IOregistry explorer without the prefix CFG and PP. Like these:
Code:
 <key>CFG,CFG_USE_AGDC</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
<key>CFG,CFG_USE_SCANOUT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
<key>CFG,CFG_USE_TCON</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
<key>PP,PP_EnableLoadFalconSmcFirmware</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
<key>PP,PP_Falcon_QuickTransition_Enable</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
536
Motherboard
Z370M-DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K (OC 5Ghz)
Graphics
RX580 & UHD630 Headless
@zirkaiva

Thanks for that explanation, I'll use that to tweak my config.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
338
Motherboard
MSI Z270 M7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for this, my RX 5700 XT was flashed at 78K on GB5 !
This thread should be sticky. Thanks for your work !

Can someone please tell me how to convert the aml code to inject this in clover ?
/me cannot remember :)
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,302
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
This is why I am asking. As far as I can tell both methods accomplish the same thing: Let macOS load the SMU firmware to the GPU. The kernel panic seems to only happen when used with the Radeon framebuffer but not with names ones.
I got many KPs with the Adder framebuffer. Currently I only have WEG installed and am not using the 5700 XT SSDT to see if that makes a difference.
 
Top