Contribute
Register

AMD Radeon Navi GPU

Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm going to buy a 5700XT, and make my transition from HighSierra-10.13 with Nvidia GPU to Catalina with 5700XT. Reading all the forum I understood that Sapphire Nitro+ was the most stable and easy to install. Am I right?
If you had to sort the different graphics cards according to stability or ease of installation, what would your list be?

(GA-Z170X-Gaming 5 --- i7-6700 --- one 4K60Hz via DP --- Power860W)
(Actual Setup with v2.5k r5099 EFI bootloader / FakeSMC/lilo… set as iMac17,1)

Best regards
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
348
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Ultra
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm going to buy a 5700XT, and make my transition from HighSierra-10.13 with Nvidia GPU to Catalina with 5700XT. Reading all the forum I understood that Sapphire Nitro+ was the most stable and easy to install. Am I right?
If you had to sort the different graphics cards according to stability or ease of installation, what would your list be?

(GA-Z170X-Gaming 5 --- i7-6700 --- one 4K60Hz via DP --- Power860W)
(Actual Setup with v2.5k r5099 EFI bootloader / FakeSMC/lilo… set as iMac17,1)

Best regards
I am using the 5700XT and it works well without anything special. Only nitpick is that occasional the GPU can hit 65C on the desktop because the fans are off by default, then fans will spike to 100 percent and then ramp back down to off.

Odd because the card is very quiet and cools fine in games, once the fans spin the temps plummet, this card has great memory cooling since they have a dedicated heatsink just for the ram. The RGB can be set in Windows and works in macOS as well.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2015
Messages
72
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630 + RX 5600 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
It's not I'm afraid. Well, at least not for me. I am using the iMac 19,1 SMBIOS, I doubt that will be the problem. I am back on 10.15.3 and its as smooth as butter.
I have never had an update as bad as that
OK thanks ;) In my case it's a Clover issue and i'm not the only one.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z87-HD3 - AMI EFI BIOS F6
CPU
i5 4570
Graphics
EVGA GT640
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I've changed the GPU (an old GT 640) with the Shappire Pulse 5500XT 8GB in my build with Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 and i5 4570. I have a working Catalina 10.15.4 (19E266) installation (generated with latest UniBeast 10.1.0 and MultiBeast 12.1.0. Clover is 5107).

Unfortunately, with the new GPU, I'm getting a blank screen at the end of the boot process (I've tested all DP and HDMI ports). I've tried with the various agdpmod=pikera, but without success. The system is up, but I cannot see any graphics (I'm able to shutdown the system with the usual keys sequence).


I decided to try a new installation of Catalina 10.15.4 to an external USB drive and it was completed correctly with the RX 5500 identified and running fine. I've then run MultiBeast 12.1.0 with the same configuration that was working fine in the previous installation (Clover UEFI Boot Mode, Virtual SMC v1.1.1, RTL8111 v2.2.2, AppleALC v1.4.7) adding only Core Graphics Fixup (WhateverGreen v1.3.7 + Lilu v1.4,2) and changing the iMac from 14,1 to 17,1. The boot options are: dart=0 agdpmod=pikera. But in this way it is not booting, stopping at the point showed in the photo.

However, if I boot using the installation USB key I'm able to reach the Finder (of course without any audio). I've tried with different combinations of settings (without AppleALC, only with Virtual SMC, etc.) , but without success. After two days of trails, I'm now without ideas on what to try/check and I'm asking for some help/hints/suggestions/advice from the experts on the forum.

The BIOS settings are: VT-D is disabled; XHCI Mode in Smart Auto; XHCI hand off is enabled; EHCI hand off is enabled; On board video card is disabled. Memory settings: profile 1 (not set, optional). Additional settings: Limit CPUID maximum: disabled; Intel Virtualization Technology: enabled. SATA mode: AHCI.

Many thanks.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,160
Motherboard
Asrock B365M Phantom Gaming
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey, does someone want to be the guinea pig :lol: and try to inject Navi Framebuffer ? I get better performance.

 
Joined
Oct 29, 2015
Messages
72
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630 + RX 5600 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The BIOS settings are: VT-D is disabled; XHCI Mode in Smart Auto; XHCI hand off is enabled; EHCI hand off is enabled; On board video card is disabled. Memory settings: profile 1 (not set, optional). Additional settings: Limit CPUID maximum: disabled; Intel Virtualization Technology: enabled. SATA mode: AHCI.

Many thanks.
It's not the correct thread but i think in bios you have to disable CFG Lock (MSR Ex02), or KernelPM flag =true.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2015
Messages
72
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630 + RX 5600 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey, does someone want to be the guinea pig :lol: and try to inject Navi Framebuffer ? I get better performance.

i'll try soon ;)
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
504
Motherboard
X299 Creator
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hey, does someone want to be the guinea pig :lol: and try to inject Navi Framebuffer ? I get better performance.

I try both (Navi 10)Framebuffer (WEG disable) with my Powercolor Red Dragon RX 5700 XT
Each time the verbose mode is stuck at the end : IOconsoleUsers ....
Any ideas ?
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,160
Motherboard
Asrock B365M Phantom Gaming
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
I try both (Navi 10)Framebuffer (WEG disable) with my Powercolor Red Dragon RX 5700 XT
Each time the verbose mode is stuck at the end : IOconsoleUsers ....
Any ideas ?

  1. agdpmod=pikera
  2. InjectATI=YES
  3. Framebuffer=Adder or Ikaheka

EDIT : Works with Clover 5107. The last one 5110 gives a black screen.
 
Last edited:
Top