Contribute
Register

AMD Radeon Navi GPU

Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
3970x
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mine is located at Advanced\Onboard Devices Configuration\ at the very bottom it says Serial Port Configuration
Thanks for the reply. I do not have this option in my motherboard’s BIOS. Is there any one else having Rampage VI Extreme having problems with audio over DisplayPort?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
201
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the reply. I do not have this option in my motherboard’s BIOS. Is there any one else having Rampage VI Extreme having problems with audio over DisplayPort?
Go to ASUS website and ask in their support chat if it is possible do disable the serial port in some way. Hopefully, they got some answers!
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
3970x
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Go to ASUS website and ask in their support chat if it is possible do disable the serial port in some way. Hopefully, they got some answers!
I contacted the Asus support. They first thought it was listed precisely where you suggested. After a while of digging deeper, they asked me to fill out a form which would be forwarded to their engineering team to make the option available perhaps in the next bios update :)
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
201
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I contacted the Asus support. They first thought it was listed precisely where you suggested. After a while of digging deeper, they asked me to fill out a form which would be forwarded to their engineering team to make the option available perhaps in the next bios update :)

Sweet! Asus support is really nice in that way. Hopefully, you have it solved by next BIOS update then!
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
3970x
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sweet! Asus support is really nice in that way. Hopefully, you have it solved by next BIOS update then!
They actually came back to me to notify me that there is no serial port on my motherboard, and, therefore, nothing in BIOS regarding it. Makes sense!
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
201
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
They actually came back to me to notify me that there is no serial port on my motherboard, and, therefore, nothing in BIOS regarding it. Makes sense!

I would keep looking inside the BIOS with some trial and error if I were you,. Maybe there is some other unused ports you could disable that could solve the problem.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,222
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
they actually came back to me to notify me that there is no serial port on my motherboard, and therefore nothing in bios regarding it. Makes sense!

Have you looked into Clover settings for reset HDA and Afterglow?
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
3970x
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you looked into Clover settings for reset HDA and Afterglow?
I am using OpenCore (OC) and do not have much experience with the settings. Are these options also available in OC?
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,222
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I am using OpenCore (OC) and do not have much experience with the settings. Are these options also available in OC?

Probably not. Or at least not as easy as Clover Configurator.
If you have someone that could set it in Clover, then find the patch in text mode it may be applied in OpenCore.

I would test it first by using a USB clover bootloader, and, if it works, take it further. Just set BIOS to boot from the USB.
 
Top