Contribute
Register

Almost Perfect on z68-2600k-nvidia-670. Sometimes has reboot cycle on wake.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING
CPU
Core i5-9600K
Graphics
XFX - AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT RAW II
Mac
  1. iMac
Long time reader/lurker, first time poster, so please be gentle if I mess up the protocol on how to ask for help.

This is my 4th build, so I'm not a total noob, I've just always stuck pretty close to recommended gear to make things easy, and the info on these forums has always solved any issues I've had. So thanks for the years of support! It's been so comprehensive I've never needed to ask a question in 3 years of doing this hobby :clap:

Anyway, this new build is great.
Love the performance, it's a very easy install and it's been super stable, even during lengthy Final Cut Pro X edit sessions.

It just has one remaining gremlin that I'm trying to track down a fix for, and it's proving resistant to lots of searches, both here and the broader community.

Sometimes (but not always), when the system auto-sleeps (which it actually does quite well), it will begin an endless reboot cycle when I wake it. Like the UEFI/bios settings are getting tweaked or something and it tries to recover them. It reboots, shuts itself down, turns on again, shuts itself down. Throws up a UEFI config screen, and then reboots again. Hitting delete, confirming UEFI/Bios settings and then letting it reboot seems to be the only way to stop the cycle. It's almost like something is happening in the UEFI/Bios itself.

My UEFI settings are the standard ones recommended on this site. Optimized defaults, AHCI, XMP Profile1 for 1600mhz memory, etc...

I've done an endless set of reinstall, multi-beast settings to try to clear it up. No joy.
Short of rolling back to a conventional BIOS, I've run out of ideas to try.
Since it's sporadic, and otherwise the build is running super-smooth, I've half a mind to try to live with it.