Contribute
Register

Alienware Aurora ALX - 2009.. Compatible?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi guys,

So, i'm totally new to the hackintosh scene! I have an Alienware Aurora ALX (2009 model) which i'd like to install Mavericks on. But... I don't know if my components are compatible! Here's where you guys come in :)

So, i've done a little research, and i believe this is an accurate list of the parts in my computer:

Intel i7-920 CPU
3x 2GB Corsair DDR3-1600
Radeon 5870 1GB
Integrated Realtek soundcard - Realtek ALC888 HD Audio
Custom Alienware MS-7591 Motherboard - Intel X58 chipset

Broadcom 57XX Gigabit Integrated Controller - not 100% sure about this !

Can i hackintosh this machine?!?!

Please let me know if i've left out any important info !

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me figure this out :) I look forward to hearing from y'all !

Welcome to the forum,

There is not a great deal of information out there about this motherboard. You might manage to get it going with some perseverance. I did find a thread suggesting that the on board ethernet did not work, but that could be circumnavigated by using a compatible ethernet card:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/search.php?googleSearch=etherney card

The best thing to do as a starting point is use the search facility:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/search.php?googleSearch=MS-7591

Good Luck

Adrian B

I should just add that there have been a few Alienware builds completed successfully in the past so you do have a reasonable chance of success.

Run over the installation process by reading some more information from the forum to get a better understanding of hoe it is done. There are guides on installation process, some video guides on certain procedures and lots of threads of information.

:thumbup:

Adrian B

Hello,

I am totally new to the Hackintosh scene and wanted to try out Maverick on my old PC that is an Aurora as well. I have:

Core i7 920