Contribute
Register

Alienware 17 R4 (kaby lake) installation problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
154
Motherboard
Alienware 17 R4
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
GTX 1060, HD630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
With CodecCommander and ssdt-alc298.aml, Headphone do get detected but still having only noise in it. Also still having the issue to repeating audio noise until another sound is played.

Also system is geeting stuck at this screen for 2-3 minutes whenever I try to reboot or stutdown. IMG_3963.JPG
 

Attachments

  • Vatsa Alienware.ioreg
    3.2 MB · Views: 61
  • CLOVER.zip
    1.6 MB · Views: 49

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With CodecCommander and ssdt-alc298.aml, Headphone do get detected but still having only noise in it. Also still having the issue to repeating audio noise until another sound is played.

ACPI/patched has no SSDT-ALC298.aml.

Also system is geeting stuck at this screen for 2-3 minutes whenever I try to reboot or stutdown.View attachment 275348

Can be a lot of different things.
But I do notice your USB configuration is not correct.
See guide linked from FAQ for USBInjectAll.kext.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
154
Motherboard
Alienware 17 R4
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
GTX 1060, HD630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My bad, old folder uploaded.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER 3.zip
    1.6 MB · Views: 46
  • Vatsa Alienware.ioreg
    3.2 MB · Views: 61
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
154
Motherboard
Alienware 17 R4
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
GTX 1060, HD630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Headphone do get detected but still having only noise in it. Also still having the issue to repeating audio noise until another sound is played.
What is the solution to these issues?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What is the solution to these issues?

You may need to patch AppleHDA yourself, or look for an alternate patch that someone else has done.
Check into AppleALC... it is a good source of patched AppleHDA XML.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
Alienware 15R3
CPU
I7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD630 with GTX1070 laptop
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
My audio notes from Alienware 15R3 after working with InsanelyDeepak. Hopefully it's same audio hardware as 17R4?
Audio

Download latest ALC298 package ALC298 AlienWare.zip, see below

and also codec commander https://bitbucket.org/RehabMan/os-x-eapd-codec-commander/downloads/

and install.

----
https://github.com/insanelydeepak/cloverHDA-for-Mac-OS-Sierra-10.12/issues/16
  1. Be sure to use latest FakePCIID kexts including FakePCIID_Intel_HDMI_Audio.kext.
  2. download and install Codec Commander kext
  3. download and install ALC298 Alienware package. Install - a) AppleHDA.kext. b) run the AlcFix.
    ALC298 AlienWare.zip
Everything works except external mic. (If you plug in headphones+mic, headphone mic will not detect. However, internal laptop mic works...)
---

Also, did you mention Nvidia is not working?
INSTALL NVIDIA DRIVERS

Download and install Nvidia Pascal Mac drivers for your version of Sierra. https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...for-macos-sierra-10-12-6-378-05-05-25.227494/

Install but DO NOT reboot yet.

Find, download, and Install Lilu.kext and NvidaGraphicsFixup.kext

Also, go to Clover configurator (or use a plist editor) and set > System Parameters > NvidiaWeb. Also check Inject System ID

Check and make sure Nvidia menu bar is set to Nvidia Web Drivers

Run Kext Utility to rebuild your caches


Lilu and NvidiaGraphicsFixup are critical or you will black screen. (If this happens you need to set a fake graphics ID at clover boot to boot in VESA mode so you can install those kexts, or uninstall Nvidia and try the process again.)
As mentioned above you need to be on the latest FakePCIID kexts too.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
154
Motherboard
Alienware 17 R4
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
GTX 1060, HD630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Using @MacMerlin 's solution, sound working great!

I have successfully installed Nvidia driver & they are working fine. But, using that I get no HDMI Audio or even DP Audio.
Also, underscan slider does not appear when using HDMI TV and when lid closed the primary display doesn't switch to TV.
 

Attachments

  • Vatsa Alienware.ioreg
    3.5 MB · Views: 80
  • CLOVER 4.zip
    1.6 MB · Views: 58
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
154
Motherboard
Alienware 17 R4
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
GTX 1060, HD630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have successfully installed Nvidia driver & they are working fine. But, using that I get no HDMI Audio or even DP Audio.
Also, underscan slider does not appear when using 1080p HDMI TV and when lid closed the primary display doesn't switch to TV.

I tried many solutions but still I couldn't solve these problems.

I think the problem is with Nvidia's driver in underscan. Even in windows when I used scaling in Nvidia's driver, it changed my resolution to 1862x1048. But when I use Dell Laptop, underscan works both in windows&mac without changing resolution.
I even used patch-edid.rb but still problem prevails. Another problem could be wrong edid in my TV's firmware. I tried modifying EDID but couldn't get any further.

For HDMI audio, I tried mDP->HDMI converter but no luck. Do I need to patch for DP2HDMI?

Also when lid closed, the primary display doesn't switch to HDMI. Internal display still shows activated.
 

Attachments

  • Vatsa Alienware.ioreg
    3.5 MB · Views: 68
  • CLOVER 4.zip
    1.6 MB · Views: 44
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried many solutions but still I couldn't solve these problems.

I think the problem is with Nvidia's driver in underscan. Even in windows when I used scaling in Nvidia's driver, it changed my resolution to 1862x1048. But when I use Dell Laptop, underscan works both in windows&mac without changing resolution.
I even used patch-edid.rb but still problum prevails. Another problem could be wrong edid in my TV's firmware. I tried modifying EDID but couldn't get any further.

For HDMI audio, I tried mDP->HDMI convertor but no luck. Do I need to patch for DP2HDMI?

Also when lid closed, the primary display doesn't switch to HDMI. Internal display still shows activated.

You probably need to set the connector-type properly for the Nvidia.
You can do it with _DSM injection in ACPI.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top