Contribute
Register

Alienware 17 R4 Installation Issues

Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
MSI Z270A-Pro
CPU
7700K
Graphics
1080Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I read and followed multiple guides so far and put together an installation USB for Mac OS X 10.13.3 with RehabMan's latest Clover (Clover_v2.4k_r4359.RM-4506.7036cf0a) with ktexts from "Booting the OS X installer on LAPTOPS with Clover" guide.

I also edited config.plist to enable FixHeaders=True due to getting stuck on "BSD process name corresponding to current thread: Unknown"

Followed the ""Window Server Service only ran for 0 seconds" with dual-GPU" guide and created a SSDT-DiscreteSpoof.aml which is now in EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched/

I am still getting the Window Server warning:

(com.apple.WindowServer.531) <Warning>: Service exited with adnormal code: 1
(com.apple.WindowServer) <Notice>: Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.

Unlike most laptops with dual GPUs, this one has the Intel GPU by-passed (no optimus) due to the G-Sync feature. It still shows up in the devices under Windows but is not switchable to.

When using RehabMan's config (config_HD615_620_630_640_650.plist), I get an error:

IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0
com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.webconftentfilter.dns) <Notice>: This service is defined to be constantly running and is inherently inefficient.

Thanks in advance,
Alek

Laptop: Alienware R4 17in (2560x1440) 120hz with G-Sync / i7-7820HK / GeForce GTX 1080 / 32GB RAM / 2 NVME Drives
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I read and followed multiple guides so far and put together an installation USB for Mac OS X 10.13.3 with RehabMan's latest Clover (Clover_v2.4k_r4359.RM-4506.7036cf0a) with ktexts from "Booting the OS X installer on LAPTOPS with Clover" guide.

I also edited config.plist to enable FixHeaders=True due to getting stuck on "BSD process name corresponding to current thread: Unknown"

Followed the ""Window Server Service only ran for 0 seconds" with dual-GPU" guide and created a SSDT-DiscreteSpoof.aml which is now in EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched/

I am still getting the Window Server warning:

(com.apple.WindowServer.531) <Warning>: Service exited with adnormal code: 1
(com.apple.WindowServer) <Notice>: Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.

Unlike most laptops with dual GPUs, this one has the Intel GPU by-passed (no optimus) due to the G-Sync feature. It still shows up in the devices under Windows but is not switchable to.

When using RehabMan's config (config_HD615_620_630_640_650.plist), I get an error:

IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0
com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.webconftentfilter.dns) <Notice>: This service is defined to be constantly running and is inherently inefficient.

Thanks in advance,
Alek

Laptop: Alienware R4 17in (2560x1440) 120hz with G-Sync / i7-7820HK / GeForce GTX 1080 / 32GB RAM / 2 NVME Drives
Your config.plist is not from my guide.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
MSI Z270A-Pro
CPU
7700K
Graphics
1080Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The first outcome is from your config.plist from your Clover build.

The second outcome is from your config from “https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config” version “config_HD615_620_630_640_650.plist”

I’m not sure what you mean by they’re not from your guide. I downloaded your Clover and the second config files both from your guide.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
The first outcome is from your config.plist from your Clover build.

The second outcome is from your config from “https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config” version “config_HD615_620_630_640_650.plist”

I’m not sure what you mean by they’re not from your guide. I downloaded your Clover and the second config files both from your guide.
The CLOVER.zip in your post #1 has a config.plist that is not from my guide, or is at least modified inappropriately.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
MSI Z270A-Pro
CPU
7700K
Graphics
1080Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I edited your config.plist to enable FixHeaders=True (as you mentioned in another thread) due to getting stuck on "BSD process name corresponding to current thread: Unknown" within first 5 seconds of trying to boot
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I edited your config.plist to enable FixHeaders=True
Nonsense.
All plists from my guide already have that option.

Maybe try following the guide as written...
If you have an issue...
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

Note that if your profile is accurate (Nvidia only, no Intel graphics), you will likely have changes to make, more work to do... But since you didn't provide complete "Problem Reporting" data (you forgot to press F2 and F4), I can't tell whether your profile is accurate or inaccurate.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
MSI Z270A-Pro
CPU
7700K
Graphics
1080Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
My apologies, I have no idea how that config got in there. I've been using your installer (Clover_v2.4k_r4359.RM-4506.7036cf0a) ever since I tried the UniBeast a couple of times.

I reinstalled Clover with a fresh install using your installer.

With your default config.plist I get this error

screen1.JPG

same happens with OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi and with OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi regardless of which one I use

With config_HD615_620_630_640_650.plist renamed as config_hd630.plist I get the following screen

screen2.JPG

and after about a minute it turns into this screen

screen3.JPG

The laptop has both integrated graphics and nvidia card but since G-Sync, there's no way to use the integrated card and only the nvidia is used.

I'm attaching the EFI folder from the EFI partition with everything including Clover. Pressed F2 and F4 on Clover boot screen as well.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
My apologies, I have no idea how that config got in there. I've been using your installer (Clover_v2.4k_r4359.RM-4506.7036cf0a) ever since I tried the UniBeast a couple of times.

I reinstalled Clover with a fresh install using your installer.

With your default config.plist I get this error

View attachment 308554

same happens with OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi and with OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi regardless of which one I use

With config_HD615_620_630_640_650.plist renamed as config_hd630.plist I get the following screen

View attachment 308555

and after about a minute it turns into this screen

View attachment 308557

The laptop has both integrated graphics and nvidia card but since G-Sync, there's no way to use the integrated card and only the nvidia is used.

I'm attaching the EFI folder from the EFI partition with everything including Clover. Pressed F2 and F4 on Clover boot screen as well.
"Problem Reporting" files are not as requested (EFI not requested/too large, attach only EFI/Clover).
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
MSI Z270A-Pro
CPU
7700K
Graphics
1080Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
"Problem Reporting" files are not as requested (EFI not requested/too large, attach only EFI/Clover).
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
I figured you might be interested in the Clover_Install_Log.txt. Other than that there is only one extra file that is less than 1MB.

I guess I’ll remove those two files and re-attach it once I get back home. I have provided everything else and have been at a standstill for the last day.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I figured you might be interested in the Clover_Install_Log.txt. Other than that there is only one extra file that is less than 1MB.

I guess I’ll remove those two files and re-attach it once I get back home. I have provided everything else and have been at a standstill for the last day.
Typical EFI/Clover without themes is usually less than 2MB.
 
Top