Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> After Bios Update Hackintosh is not starting

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
51
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
I have z390 master motherboard and after I run bios updates in my Windows, Aorus App center.

Now and before my Bios version is F10.

Hackintosh stopped loading, it stucks on the Apple logo.

Any idea from where I should start?
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20210512_210343464.jpg
    PXL_20210512_210343464.jpg
    11.2 KB · Views: 30

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
27,600
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have z390 master motherboard and after I run bios updates in my Windows, Aorus App center.

Now and before my Bios version is F10.

Hackintosh stopped loading, it stucks on the Apple logo.

Any idea from where I should start?
boot verbose to see the issue

also assumed you have re setup your bios after you flashed it?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
51
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Just updated to f11n same issue, I will try verbose via USB
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,933
Motherboard
MSI Z370-A Pro
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Assuming you are using OpenCore bootloader you need to make sure your bios is set correctly. You need to check that your bios has the following settings:

Disable
  • Fast Boot
  • Secure Boot
  • Serial/COM Port/Super IO port
  • Parallel Port
  • VT-d
  • CSM
  • Thunderbolt
  • Intel SGX
  • Intel Platform Trust
  • CFG Lock (MSR 0xE2 write protection)(This must be off, if you can't find the option then enable AppleXcpmCfgLock under Kernel -> Quirks. Your hack will not boot with CFG-Lock enabled)
Enable
  • VT-x
  • Above 4G decoding
  • Hyper-Threading
  • Execute Disable Bit
  • EHCI/XHCI Hand-off
Your system may not have all these settings, some may be hidden within other settings, CSM and UEFI booting being the ones to spring to mind.

You will also need to make sure your Graphics options are set correctly, i.e. Intel graphics enabled, and PEG or External set as default, so your RX580 is priority graphics option.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
51
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Thanks a lot guys, after I adjust the properties in my Bios the Hackintosh is working.

Only the sound is gone, I was using channel 1, now I tried 11, but I guess I'll have to make a couple tries later tonight.

I don't know why it is gone, it is working on my Windows.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
51
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
I recently updated OC 0.6.9 and all the Kext. I also updated Big Sur to 11.3.1

My audio was working fine before on channel 1.

I'm not sure the exact moment that it disappeared.

I've started checking the other channels for my ALC1220 https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Post-Install/universal/audio.html

And on the last channel 34 it was working using the alcid=34 boot argument.

I've tried to create a PCIRoot property as before, but the audio went away again.

I've tried both values for layout-id Data and Number but with zero success.

I removed the PCIRoot property and left back the alcid=34 and now is gone.

On channel 34 I cannot even see my Headphones in the sound menu.

Now I'm on channel 1 and I see them but still no audio.

I'm attaching screenshots, I'll really appreciate any help.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    27.4 KB · Views: 22
  • EFI.zip
    2.4 MB · Views: 25
  • Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 10.18.06.png
    Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 10.18.06.png
    62.1 KB · Views: 25
  • Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 10.19.46.png
    Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 10.19.46.png
    397.6 KB · Views: 28
  • Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 10.19.59.png
    Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 10.19.59.png
    94.5 KB · Views: 37
  • Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 10.37.22.png
    Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 10.37.22.png
    68.6 KB · Views: 28

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,933
Motherboard
MSI Z370-A Pro
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Your config.plist has this entry under the DeviceProperties > Add section: PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)

In my system this entry represents the SMBUS controller not the Audio controller.

Usually the Audio controller is represented by this entry - PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1b,0x0).

You should check on the Hackintool > PCIe tab to see what Device Path you should be using for the Intel Audio device.

Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 21.42.51.png

The config above also shows you are using the Layout-ID = 22 (22000000), not 1 or 34.

Where are you changing the layout-id each time you 'Test' a new layout-id?
In your config.plist or via the Hackintool > Sound tab?
It should be changed in your config.plist.

You might find it easier to remove the incorrect DeviceProperties entry and use the AppleALC.kext boot argument alcid=x, where x represents the id you want to use or test.

The AppleALC.kext boot argument would look like this in the NVRAM > Add section of your config.plist:

Screenshot 2021-05-15 at 21.36.52.png
This is a screenshot of the NVRAM > Add section in your config.plist from Corpnewt's ProperTree plist editor, with the AppleALC.kext boot argument included.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
51
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
I see two Multimedia controllers. I used path/to/gfxutil -f HDEF to find the Device Path.

I thought that I have to convert 34 via https://www.rapidtables.com/convert/number/decimal-to-hex.html

I change layout ID via alcid=XX each time, not in Hackintool.

I'll now go on the process again through all IDs, I also use ProperTree.

I'll write later with the results.

Do I need to clear NVRAM each time when changing the ID?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-05-16 at 10.09.19.png
    Screenshot 2021-05-16 at 10.09.19.png
    834.1 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
51
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Ok, I went through all channels, and each time I checked the output device, on none channel the audio was working.

I removed the PCIRoot device and only used alcid=xx

What should I do now, as far as I remember I updated O.C. to 0.6.9 and the Kext themselves I lost the sound and I updated the bios from F10 to F11n.

It was strange that after that I got sound on channel 34 but now I can't find sound anywhere.

Kext are being loaded, and I tried boot argument alctsel=1, cause I also have a Windows installed, nothing helps.

How should I proceed?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-05-16 at 11.16.33.png
    Screenshot 2021-05-16 at 11.16.33.png
    116.3 KB · Views: 23
Last edited:

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
8,014
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.8.0
CPU
i5-10600k
Graphics
Dell RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, I went through all channels, and each time I checked the output device, on none channel the audio was working.

I removed the PCIRoot device and only used alcid=xx

What should I do now, as far as I remember I updated O.C. to 0.6.9 and the Kext themselves I lost the sound and I updated the bios from F10 to F11n.

It was strange that after that I got sound on channel 34 but now I can't find sound anywhere.

How should I proceed?

Hi there.

Two things I can suggest:

1) The obvious one - check BIOS and make sure Audio is Enabled. It might have changed during the BIOS update (but this is unlikely).

2) As a test, disable the AppleALC.lext in config.plist and instead install the latest VoodooHDA.kext and enable it in config.plist. This might not give you better sound but it should work and at least tell us there is a settings problem with AppleALC.

:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top