Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@JCMunsonII

I can't recommend r5109 at all, tbh xD.

I think they have to fix multiple bugs until upgrading becomes a viable option again.
Yeah, I might end up going OpenCore...after I do a bit of learning...

Yeah, I might end up going OpenCore...after I do a bit of learning...
Ouch! Don't be masochistic! :D It's not trival to learn, and, after each update, it's a new learning process. It's on Beta 0.5.7. I'd wait until 0.9 is released.

@JCMunsonII @Stork

I just started learning about OpenCore, it really is a huge topic you start taking among yourself... Been up all night, probably still going to investigate further for a few hours xD. Got booted successfully, graphics and audio seem to work fine, trackpad and battery don't (battery because of DSDT patches that I still need to find out how to appy on OpenCore...). And also, some boots just get stuck on AppleNVMe assert failed. But hey - progress! I won't give up.

Generally speaking, OpenCore seems much more lightweight and future proof - it may be worth the hassle.

Ouch! Don't be masochistic! :D It's not trival to learn, and, after each update, it's a new learning process. It's on Beta 0.5.7. I'd wait until 0.9 is released.

To be honest, the guide is so easy and well written that it wasn't that hard at all getting started with OpenCore. It even forced me to finally extract and edit all of the necessary ACPI tables. The only hassle is editing the config.plist after every monthly update, but now OC's tools can diff and even automatically add any missing lines. Clover is still an excellent bootloader, but is far more bloated and less reliable. E.g., without doing anything but correctly switching to OpenCore, sleeps finally works on my machine (it hadn't since Catalina's first release, maybe even back to Mojave's last update) and the boot time has been reduced to less than half it was under Clover. Plus, AptioMemoryFix is now built-in.