msi twin frozr 660
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've noticed that there is a lot of music engineers and enthusiasts on this site using hackintosh as part of there musical equipment, I am no expert on these matters in any way, but I have notice over the years that I've been buying tv/audio equipment that doesn't have the same audio quality as the era of the hi fi.
I realise they this is abit of topic but is this just my imagination that audio quality has gone down hill in the last ten years in today's tv and radio.

Or what do I need to get good quality audio, do I need to go back to turntables and vinyl with amp/receiver CD player big branded speakers. I'd also like to be able to access my iTunes library on my hack, can that be done with certain receivers with/without iPod dock

Some people claim that a good turntable and vinyl is the best for quality audio, I'm not prepared to shell out 300 euro for a turntable to find out.

Is digital mp3 as good as vinyl will iTunes sound great through a good receiver and speakers

Any thoughts would be appreciated

Probably the single-most important component to getting your music to sound the way you want it: SPEAKERS (followed closely behind by a nicely treated acoustical environment in which to listen). You can have all the great hi-fi gear with uber-killer specs, but if you have crap speakers, you're gonna get crap :thumbup: It's the speakers that turn the signal into what your ears eventually hear.

For me (IMHO), the basic formula is: 2/3 of my budget on speakers, 1/3 on the underlying gear.