Contribute
Register

Adding/Using HiDPI custom resolutions

dwa

Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
b450
CPU
Ryzen 3600x
Graphics
1050gti
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys, thanks to this thread I successfully set "sharp" resolution to my Lenovo P27q-10 monitor (2560x1440 native). I set 2304x1296 HiDPI using switchresX and RDM, and I like it, however I noticed that the monitor randomly goes off, like it is not connected to the macbook (13" 2020 i5/1TB/32GB). Can be this linked to the new resolution (before I set that resolution everything was ok with the monitor). When I reconnect the adapter (USB-A, HDMI and USB-C) the monitor is back (I'm using HDMI).
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370XP SLI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys, thanks to this thread I successfully set "sharp" resolution to my Lenovo P27q-10 monitor (2560x1440 native). I set 2304x1296 HiDPI using switchresX and RDM, and I like it, however I noticed that the monitor randomly goes off, like it is not connected to the macbook (13" 2020 i5/1TB/32GB). Can be this linked to the new resolution (before I set that resolution everything was ok with the monitor). When I reconnect the adapter (USB-A, HDMI and USB-C) the monitor is back (I'm using HDMI).
I have a similar Lenovo monitor (L24q-20 2560x1440 native) but only get 720p HiDPI. Could you please let us know how you enabled 2304x1296 HiDPI with your monitor?
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370XP SLI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm replacing my 2K native monitor with another just to be able to have 2K (or at least 1080p) HiDPI display. Will any 4K native monitor allow 2K or 1080p HiDPI? Please advise.
 
Last edited:

dwa

Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
b450
CPU
Ryzen 3600x
Graphics
1050gti
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a similar Lenovo monitor (L24q-20 2560x1440 native) but only get 720p HiDPI. Could you please let us know how you enabled 2304x1296 HiDPI with your monitor?
I'm using switchresX to add new resolutions, the math is very easy, you have to add resolution 2x of the HiDPI resolution that you want, for example if you want 1080p, add 3840x2160. After that I'm using RDM to select the desired resolution.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370XP SLI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm using switchresX to add new resolutions, the math is very easy, you have to add resolution 2x of the HiDPI resolution that you want, for example if you want 1080p, add 3840x2160. After that I'm using RDM to select the desired resolution.
Ok, thank you. I'll try to add a custom resolution similar to yours (2304x1296) and see how it works.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
From Apple macbook pro 2019
CPU
I9 Intel
Graphics
AMD Radeon 560X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi RehabMan,
let's start fresh on this issue.
I've managed to better understand the DisplayPreference file and now i can add all the HiDPI resolutions i want and select them using RDM (see attached pictures) BUT i'm facing a problem waking the monitor (when become black from inactivity). When i use some particular HiDPI resolutions like 1664x936 or 1536x864 when the laptop wake from sleep (or from black screen due to inactivity) the display scale is wrong. The image is on the top left corner of the monitor and the rest of the monitor space is black(see picture).
I think it's important to say that if i let the screen goes black (for inactivity) and then press a key to switch the monitor on the image is of the right size and everything seems ok but after login i've graphical glitches (for example moving the mouse leave a trail of the precedent mouse position).
If i use 1440x810 (still HiDPI) i don't have this problem. I thought it was because of the huge resolution (1536x864 hidpi means 3072x1728 if i correctly understand how HiDPI works) but then i tried 1920x1080 HiDPI and using this resolution cause no problem after sleep so i don't know what to think anymore.
Attached you will find the RP file as requested and also the DisplayPreference i'm currently using.

Thanks for your help
Mattia
Is it possible to have the LG 34WN95U-W using 5120x2160 using HiDIP with a macbook pro 15” mid 2019 with this technique that you showed there? Not Apple or LG can help...
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
asus vivobook x409 ja
CPU
i3 1005g1
Graphics
intel uhd g1
hi i am new to this community i just installed mac os big sur on my asus 14 inch laptop anyone who could help me as a beginner to get more content diplayed on screen as windows have 150percent scaled
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
126
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
I get HiDPI on external Full HD LCD with native resolution 1920x1200.
Use scaled resolutions app and SwitchrexX control .

So “macOS native HiDPI ” 960x600 (HiDPI) - Wonderfull quality
1280x800 (HiDPI) - very good
1440x900 (HiDPI) - good
1680x1050 (HiDPI) - decent quality
1920x1200 (HiDPI) - No effect at all

My conclusion. HiDPI is a very simple software “technology”.
Four (or three , two ) pixels is used to describe one pixel
finally we get better quality but a cost of resolution.

This same LCD works better on Windows or Linux with full native resolution.

Apple from the beginning use this same very old method of fonts render so our
screens looks not good . We must buy 4K or 5K LCD and
lower resolutions to get better quality. It does not make sense.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2021
Messages
1
Motherboard
2013 rmbp 15"
CPU
i7
Graphics
650GT
Hi all,

I've tried to do my reading but 96 pages is a lot so I was hoping someone could give me a once-over before I get started.
I'm running Big Sur. Do I have any chance of success?

I've got a 2560 * 1440 monitor. Just using RDM I can select 1280 * 800 (high-DPI) and everything is perfect. However, because this is a 16:10 resolution and I'm on a 16:9 monitor, I get 2 black bars on either side of the screen.

The solution should be 1280 * 720 - but while this is an option, selecting it doesn't actually do anything. Apparently the solution is the process in this thread.

Final question - when I'm creating my custom res, do I actually need to create one higher than the monitor's res, i.e. 3840 * 2160? And is this tool still the best way of doing things?


Cheers!
 
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
187
Motherboard
X1 Carbon 6th
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
UHD620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a short question: with Catalina 10.15.6 after putting HiDPI overide file, does the resolution with (HiDPI) show up in system preference panel( after option+click)?
 
Top